We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well (Red)worth a trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Redworth Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Booked through Secret Escapes, Redworth Hall offered a chance to get a short break in a quiet location. The hotel looks fantastic on arrival up the long drive and while the room perhaps don't quite live up to the grandeur of the outside, ours was clean and comfortable for a one-night stay. It didn't have all the Sky channels as had been suggested, with an issue over tuning.

We made use of the gym facilities (standard for a hotel) and also had dinner and breakfast as part of our deal. The evening meal was nice, with a variable menu (be warned you will have to pay extra for some selections, meat lovers). Breakfast offered even more choices, not sure to be honest that I didn't try every option, either!

Pleasant stay at a discounted deal, which is why it gets four stars on this review. Perhaps not quite worth all the pennies if you're paying full price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and I am pleased you found your overall stay value for money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,844 - 1,850 of 3,398 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2014

We purchased a Secret Escapes deal of dinner, bed, breakfast and a bottle of house wine at Redworth Hall Hotel from Secret Escapes, after checking the photographs and reading the hotel description.

On checking into our room - 328 - we were very disappointed. The room was shabby, drab and dismal. Maintenance/housekeeping was lacking, ie, one double glazed panel was blown, the safety catch on another was broken, net curtains weren't hung properly, the valance was ill-fitted, floor hadn't been vacuumed, inside wardrobe was dusty, back of bathroom door was filthy, bath and surround didn't look clean, around taps was dirty. Corridor windows were dirty and drapes dusty. Many light shades were at haphazard angles, one was missing altogether with the bare bulb showing. There were glasses on various surfaces in the corridor. The whole hotel looks unloved.

I did discuss our concerns with a duty manager but wasted my time as he was adamant the room was acceptable, although he didn't trouble to come and look at the room.

Dinner was acceptable, however, breakfast was poor with guests queuing a long time for the hot buffet selection when first the eggs ran out, then the mushrooms, etc, etc.

The redeeming feature of the hotel was the waiting on/bar staff who were unfailingly friendly, smiling and efficient.

If you do plan on visiting Redworth Hall we suggest you check and check again as to exactly which room you are likely to be allocated as chances are you won't be allocated a refurbished room as shown on Secret Escapes web page.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank lindaraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

I am sorry you didn't enjoy your time here. All of our rooms are a little different, and some have been newly refurbished where as others are still more traditional. However, all of our bedrooms should be clean and I am sorry you didn't find yours as it should have been. I have spoken to our Houskeeping Manager regarding your comments, as I do take cleanliness very seriously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Booked hotel as local to meeting next day and although room rate high outlook good and free wifi offered which a must on a business trip. Overall disappointed, bar food average but pricey, and even though no phone signal in hotel bar area which can happen wifi limited and keeps dropping out. Had to re login 5 times with an hour. TV in room back to the eighties with signal, BBC, itv, C4 and C5 only channels working, all others no signal. Spa good and prob good for a mini break but not a business drop off, keep away.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank ands777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

I am sorry to read your thoughts on your stay. Unfortunately, the whole village of Redworth does struggle with mobile phone signal. As we understand the importance of wi-fi for all of our guests, we do have boosters through out the hotel to try and improve the signal strength. I can only apologise you did not find this adequate for yourself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here partly business partly leisure in the past few days having booked a great deal for bb & evening meal.
We were impressed with our superior room, large bed, power shower etc. We ate in the restaurant both nights of our stay and the food was very good indeed and add the complimentary bottle of house wine, perfect! The breakfasts were adequate and we had sandwiches at lunchtime which were delicious.

I witnessed people complaining about everything from check in to queues outside the restaurant. and it would have been easy to join in.
I think the Hotel would agree that things were creaking along a bit as they were running at capacity and we all saw some things weren't going to plan, I found myself having much sympathy for all the staff who remained professional and were courteous and helpful at all times.

Thank-you for looking after us, we really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: July 2014
4  Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience and kind words. We are currently in peak season, which does mean we are exceptionally busy, but it is great to read you still witnessed all our staff at their best in this period. We hope to see you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

I stayed one night which was enough, I was so tired and angry the next day I left before having breakfast
I arrived and checked in, waited 10 mins to check in as the lady was rushed off her feet whilst a man wandered around behind her looking busy doing nothing, I booked a table for dinner, the reception failed to book the table but they found a table in the very restaurant, I ordered my meal and was brought the wrong starter and was then asked are you sure you didn't order the soup, I ordered my drink and had to ask three times before it was eventually brought during my main course
I went to my room, at 9.30pm there was a very loud banging and screeching, sounded like water going through old pipes, I rang reception who told me that someone was on their way, at 8am I had given up on someone coming, this resulted in me being woken by the VERY loud noise at 11.30pm, 2am, 6am
When I checked out, it's the only hotel I've ever stayed at that didn't ask if I'd enjoyed my stay!!! Think I'll go to a Premier Inn next time

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank vad282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Please allow me to apologise for the poor service you received whilst you were here. It is very disheartening to read, and I can assure you I have spoken to the relevant team members in relation to your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 night family break. Room the first night 405 was awful. Filthy so much so I drove to sainsburys for slippers, no way I was putting my feet on that carpet. Definitely not 4 star I've had higher standards in a basic caravan. I couldn't relax at all in that room. My 9 year old was also stunned at the state ... he never usually notices anything ! Massive holes and stains in carpet. Spiders and webs everywhere too.

Staff were nice about my complaint moved us to a better room with a bottle of bubbly. 2nd room was cleaner but not near a 4 star either, furniture very tired. Still had webs etc.

Grounds of hotel are stunning. Food was good and so were the leisure facilities.

Was a little disappointed to be charged in full for the first night as I don't feel they should be putting people in that room in its current state, it wasted my first night for sure :-(

Some tlc including new carpets in the rooms would do this hotel wonders.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank LA-falkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments, please allow me to apologise you wern't able to start your stay as you would have hoped. We are currently in the process of having all of our family rooms fitted with new carpets, and I am sorry we didn't have this in place for the time of your stay. I do hope you would return once this work has been completed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

a 2 night stay gifted to us from a relative in kiama nsw aus was very special indeed superb location exceptional hotel and facilities very friendly staff all food was excellently prepared rooms very comfortable and clean

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us, I am very pleased you enjoyed your gift. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redworth
2.8 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
830 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Auckland
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
12.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
7.9 mi away
Hardwick Hall Hotel
Hardwick Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sedgefield
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redworth Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redworth Hall Hotel

Address: Redworth, Redworth DL5 6NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Redworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Price Range: $82 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Redworth Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1693, the four-star Redworth Hall Hotel is a Jacobean-style manor house hotel with many original features, 143 spacious bedrooms, beauty rooms and a hair salon. Set in 150 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds and woodland it’s easy to get away from it all yet also enjoy the historical and vibrant cities of Durham, Darlington and Newcastle, which are just a short drive away. Visit Hadrian’s Wall, the East Coast's unspoilt beaches and historical cathedrals then relax in the Health & Leisure Club’s pool or outdoor tennis courts before enjoying delicious local ingredients in 2 AA Rosette 1744 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Redworth Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Newton Aycliffe
Newton Aycliffe Barcelo
Durham Hall Hotel Redworth
Hall Redworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing