We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would Come Back” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Redworth Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Redworth Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Would Come Back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

This was the start of a two week holiday, we had booked two nights through Groupon. Parking was easy and we walked round to the reception area and the receptionist was pleasant. Our room which was on the 4th floor meant we had to use two lifts and make a long walk down a corridor, the room itself was spacious with a good size bed...which we thought to be a king bed but in fact is just two beds pushed together. The bed itself though turned out to be comfortable.
We head back to reception to ask if there is an easier way to access the room as the car park can be soon from our room...No was the answer. We then get our suitcase etc and make the same long journey. Dinner that night which was included in the price along with a bottle of wine which was very good...all three courses were well cooked (we both had the chicken) and tasted excellent, the table next to us had ordered the Lamb shank which was huge and the mans face was a picture, for dessert we had the White Chocolate Cheese Cake and Rhubarb Crumble Pie both were exceptionally excellent! After a comfortable nights sleep we tackled the shower which had a lot going on being 3 showers in one and although I loved it the wife was unconvinced. Breakfast had a good selection and apart from the toaster which was the usual put it through once...white! put it through a second time...blackened!!! - Location wise we found this perfect as we visited both Durham & Teeside in the same day. On to the negatives, we also had afternoon tea with the Groupon deal but this was a weird affair as we headed to the restaurant only to be sent to the bar area which was empty of people, the barman was pleasant and brought us the tower of cakes and sandwiches but the whole atmosphere was surreal with the news playing mute behind us and we found ourselves reading the subtitles! The second point is more annoying as we walked around the hotel we found a set of stairs not far from our room which takes you outside by the conference centre which also has a lift, checking out was a breeze having found this but why we could not have been informed is infuriating.

Room Tip: If you have a room in 500 range use the door and lift to the left of the conference centre, this wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya-Glen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John O, Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. It is great to read you enjoyed your stay and evening meal. I am very sorry you were not told of the entrance at the back of the hotel to our deluxe rooms, we do have some new team members on our front desk so I will address this with them. We hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,059
    945
    567
    249
    178
See reviews for
460
1,605
43
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (633)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Worth upgrading your room, we stayed in a spa room and it was worth the difference. The spa staff we're great and very pleasant. Check in was easy and smooth we booked through puma hotels directly and we would go back. Breakfasts were fab and the staff were very efficient and attentive. We stayed in the hotel for dinner the first night and Charlotte was brilliant and made the night.
One issue with one rude member of staff on the Saturday but to be honest management were very responsive to the only complaint we made. Also housekeeping were lovely just slightly too loud on a morning. Leisure facilities are fine but dated.
Tip - book your table early if you want to eat in the restaurant.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John O, Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for your positive review, I am pleased you enjoyed our Spa rooms and leisure facilities. It is especially lovely to read Charlotte's service made your night, and this will certainly be passed on to her. I am also pleased to read our management team dealt with your complaint to your satisfaction. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley Lancashire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Redworth Hall is situated in a beautiful part of Durham with easy access to attractions in the North East. The staff at the Hotel were excellent in all departments, the room was first class and food in the restaurant provided an excellent choice and was very good. We do use Puma Hotels on a regular basis for our breaks and this was our second visit to Redworth Hall. We will return there in the Autumn.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank callawaygolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John O, Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review of our hotel and staff. We look forward to seeing you again in the Autumn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

We had a few nights here and for a treat we ordered afternoon tea for two. When we got this we were really disappointed it had 2 large bowls at top one had cream other had strawberry jam underneath was 2 small cakes and 2 hot cross buns then finally a few finger sandwiches. I asked the waiter where the scones were so i could use the cream he replied there isnt any and.that is why we got hot cross buns. I told him u cant put cream and strawberry jam on them. Certainly wasnt worth all the money

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allison r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John O, Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
I am very disappointed to hear our afternoon tea did not reach you in our usual standard. This will certainly be looked in to. Thank you for bringing this to my attention, and I do hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

My partner and I went for the Sunday Night Spa Break, which included dinner, breakfast, spa access and a one hour treatment. The hotel was nice, but a little dated in parts, and didn't have the feel of a 4*. Staff were, on the whole, helpful and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable, no complaints. Breakfast and dinner were distinctly average. Spa facilities were OK, but there were children in the pool area, and swimming lessons taking place all afternoon. We enjoyed using the steam room and sauna, both were kept at a good temperature. Would have been nice to have more chairs/loungers around the pool, and a more accessible water cooler - we only noticed it the day after, when in the cafe area. We both had the aromatherapy massage, and were offered a double room, which was a nice touch. Massage was pleasant, but nothing special. Overall, good value, but probably wouldn't return, I've stayed in better hotels and had better treatments elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KT565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John O, Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay, although we did not wow you. We will continue to move forward with the assistance of customer feedback, and we would hope you would return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyne and wear
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

8th 9th april wish we could have stayed longer beautiful place staff lovely spar fab cant wait for a return visit breakfast was great plenty of choice room was great very quiet we stayed in the south part of the building lovely grounds to walk around in

Room Tip: room 233 was quiet very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wtrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John O, Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
It is truly lovely to read your positive review, and we do appreciate the time you have taken to post this. I am pleased you took full use of the facilities we have to offer, and we hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed as a couple for a birthday get away . We arrived Friday to Sunday inclusive with Tesco vouchers.(This seems to allow the hotel to treat you differently? And you should put up with it and don’t moan? In the experience we had at this hotel and the manger)(or could have been deputy manager. So angry with his response to my complaints that didn’t notice.
We had already upgraded when booking to a deluxe room as told by the staff worth it for the views? So after a walk and you will need a compass and map to find your way around. Got to our Deluxe room to get a view of the conference car park? Curtain track broken at the only end of the window (so nights are bright?). Evening Meal was rushed in fact as soon as they took your starter your main was straight there. Didn’t have enough water jugs as they had lots of people in ? (surely your a hotel and should expect that ) Not 4star service at all. Had lovely (not) disco/dance music blearing out until 1am and told by management that we should have expected this as the hotel always has functions. Also told me that i had booked the wrong hotel if i wanted peace and quite as it is a public building. Of course the fact that this hotel is a Spa Hotel and i had a Spa room was not advised when i booked for a quiet weekend that actually this is not what this hotel gives (as per the manager himself told me) He even told me when i checked out and complained (although already done this several times on the Friday night) that i should expect this and it adds to the hotels ambience ...I was told basically i should have expected it and im on Tesco Vouchers so nothing he could do? We was one of the lucky ones and did not have our windscreens smashed and cars scratched while staying there as some did? From the party ravers.
So in my experience of this Hotel (first time i used this chain before) WE WILL NEVER STAY HERE OR Recommend this hotel. Also would be interested to know if the good reviews are for midweek stays and not at weekends.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sjj75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John O, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
I am very disheartened to read your review. I hope you can see from the many positive reviews that we do usually get it right for our guests, and I can only apologise that we failed to do so whilst you were a resident here. I know you have contacted our management, and we will be in touch with you shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redworth
14.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
4.5 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
9.3 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
11.7 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
19.8 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redworth Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redworth Hall Hotel

Property: Redworth Hall Hotel
Address: Redworth, Redworth DL5 6NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Redworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Redworth Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1693, the four-star Redworth Hall Hotel is a Jacobean-style manor house hotel with many original features, 143 spacious bedrooms, beauty rooms and a hair salon. Set in 150 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds and woodland it’s easy to get away from it all yet also enjoy the historical and vibrant cities of Durham, Darlington and Newcastle, which are just a short drive away. Visit Hadrian’s Wall, the East Coast's unspoilt beaches and historical cathedrals then relax in the Health & Leisure Club’s pool or outdoor tennis courts before enjoying delicious local ingredients in 2 AA Rosette 1744 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Redworth Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Newton Aycliffe
Newton Aycliffe Barcelo
Durham Hall Hotel Redworth
Hall Redworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing