We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely traditional country house hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Redworth Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Redworth Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely traditional country house hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We were staying at the hotel for a wedding and reception and found the hotel to be a lovely traditional hotel in a very pleasant rural setting. The front of house staff were very pleasant and helpful on arrival. The room was very pleasant and much larger than expected and the setting for the wedding perfect. The whole package was excellent and also very good value !!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bandgNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,059
    945
    568
    249
    178
See reviews for
460
1,606
43
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (633)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

stopped a couple of days before attending a wedding at this hotel. the wedding was well planned by the hotel and i could not fault the hotel or it,s staff.
we stayed in room 303 this was near the lift, but you could not here it, as some people stated, however this may have been another lift, our room was spot on, and i would honestly book this room again, even though we did have to change the card key on a number of times.
food...to be honest the breakfast i got was on the cool side, but there was plenty of choice
drink...the draught beer was a decent pint, priced around 4.25 for the lager,
on a whole. as i said we went for a wedding and large number of our family stopped at the hotel, and no one could fault the hotel,
so all in all an enjoyable stay, a well presented wedding day, great staff. clean and comfotable, but food and drinks are expensive

Room Tip: room 303, near the lift, the view is not great as it is on the side of the hotel over looking tree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Having had an enjoyable stay at Redworth a year ago (see previous review) decide to revisit as I was in the area. As before the room was clean and spacious, comfy bed etc. With previous knowledge I ate out , so avoided the still vastly overpriced and over rated food !! However the spa facilities had similar "problems" as last year --this time the Pool was freezing ( a notice advised that a problem had occurred on Thursday--but still wasn't warm enough by Sunday ) --last time it was the Jacuzzi and steam room out of action! As a result this year as well as no swimming --the jacuzzi and sauna were so overcrowded--they should have had a ticket system !!! Which brings me to a point made last year-- too many health club members--means guests take second place. But also this time there were 2 large functions -- a wedding and birthday I believe. I ended up drinking in my room as there was no seating available and the noise everywhere was ridiculous. I appreciate it is good for a hotel to have a wedding party -- but someone must take "management" responsibility for all guests comfort. Being a single traveller and eating out I was able to avoid most of the problems created, but next time in the area will find a better .quieter hotel --and hopefully one with a fully working spa !! Staff as always were fine with me --slight hiccup on check out --but soon resolved, some areas could do with a bit of refurb ,but is generally clean and tidy and the Jacobean part is lovely as are grounds and exterior of building.

Room Tip: I had a room in the main hotel and accessed by the lovely Jacobean part( actually above the entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Willowfield8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maddisonpgd
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

just got back from a wonderful stay at this great place. our son and daughter in law gave us a card with a nights stay plus evening meal and breakfast for my husbands 60 birthday.the room was great big bed shower and bath. dressing gowns and slippers,toiletries, tea making facilities.we also used the pool and Jacuzzi the food was great menu had a wide range of meals.breakfast was buffet . the staff very helpful .will stay here again .

Room Tip: we stayed in room 507 quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maddisonpgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Just had a lovely 1 night stay at redworth hall our room was very clean and warm the bathroom had a fab spa bath. We used the health spa facilities they were very clean we had a nice couple of hours just relaxing in very pleasant surroudings. We didn't have an evening meal there but the breakfast was good. The staff were friendly and helpful. Overall we had a very enjoyable 1 night stay and would love a return visit in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bevDerbyshire b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham Market, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stayed at Redworth Hall for two nights on business. I've used the hotel before and had a pleasant stay at that time also. The rooms are a good size, although my bathroom was starting to need some attention and the bed was comfortable. The health suite has a good selection of equipment, both CV and weights.

The bar menu is varied and the restaurant produces very good food. One small criticism - the cheese board. First night, the portions were very small and the second night the cheddar was stale. I sent it back and the second plate arrived with stale crackers. Why have it twice? I like cheese - heyho! I then found out that there was a surcharge for the cheeseboard - wholly unnecessary!

Anyway, it's a very small point that lets down a good hotel and it won't stop me staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattTheScratch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

I would like to qualify the title in that providing you are here with an offer, it is good value. It is a four star hotel with 3 star services. Rooms are in need of decoration in line with the public areas. there is no fridge in the room and don't look behind the bath taps ugh!
However we found the staff pleasant and the food good so we got what we paid for. If you are looking for a refined 4 star break forget it. But for an offer break we would return. Hope this helps both guets and management alike

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthNottinghamFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redworth
14.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
4.5 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
9.3 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
11.7 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
19.8 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redworth Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redworth Hall Hotel

Property: Redworth Hall Hotel
Address: Redworth, Redworth DL5 6NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Redworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Redworth Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1693, the four-star Redworth Hall Hotel is a Jacobean-style manor house hotel with many original features, 143 spacious bedrooms, beauty rooms and a hair salon. Set in 150 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds and woodland it’s easy to get away from it all yet also enjoy the historical and vibrant cities of Durham, Darlington and Newcastle, which are just a short drive away. Visit Hadrian’s Wall, the East Coast's unspoilt beaches and historical cathedrals then relax in the Health & Leisure Club’s pool or outdoor tennis courts before enjoying delicious local ingredients in 2 AA Rosette 1744 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Redworth Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Newton Aycliffe
Newton Aycliffe Barcelo
Durham Hall Hotel Redworth
Hall Redworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing