We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Star rating needs to be redone”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Redworth Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Reviewed July 14, 2013

When you first arrive up the long drive and you see the splendour of the original Jacobean exterior, you believe that this is going to be a stunning place to stay.
WRONG!! We had room 335 which was clean and comfortable but sorely in need of some TLC and faced out on to the woods which made it very dark, even during the day. However, this did help to get a very restful sleep. And, unfortunately, this is where the positives end.....
Like so many other reviewers before me, there are many things wrong with this place, none of which have been dealt with.
We too were given a choice of 6pm or 9pm for dinner. We chose the earlier one but when we got the, there were only 2 other people dining ( even when we left at 8.30, it wasn't that busy). Seems strange. The dining room staff do their level best but are let down by colleagues at the bar. Our pre-dinner Prosecco arrived at the same time as our wine and our starter. The Prosecco and wine were warm and the starter wasn't. Not off to a great start but I have to say the food was lovely, even if the portion sizes were a bit on the small side.
The next evening was the same- warm wine and a waitress who, on her second night there, told us she was 'knackered' and that the knife she was about to give me was 'mingin' . Charming.
Now, I am not a wine snob or connoisseur but I really detest warm White wine. This is NOT what a four-star establishment would do and I am totally perplexed as to why this was the case. Same problems with lack of bar and clearing staff.
Can't say I found the staff particularly friendly but one young waitress called Sarah seemed to genuinely care about making our experience a good one. Despite her efforts, I will never be back and I would certainly never recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas T, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

I offer my sincerest apologies for the issues you had during your stay with us. Rest assured I will be looking into how we can improve our efforts to ensure a satisfactory standard of service is achieved.
I will be talking with our waiting staff to remind them of the high standard of etiquette we as a four star hotel set them. Thank you for your comments surrounding one particular waitress, I will pass them on.
We are indeed making changes to our operations and are making progressive steps, however this process will take some time due to the scale of the business.


Thank you again for your comments.

Warm Regards,

Nicholas Testa

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,305 - 2,311 of 3,348 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

We chose Redworth Hall (restaurant) as part of a local promotion. Although we had booked in advance for Saturday 13th July, when we arrived the booking was not recorded. However, a table was available. We were left with menus and ignored for 20 minutes; didn't even ask if we would like a drink. Eventually a waitress came to take our food order and we said we would like a drink first. The drinks order was taken with the food order. Bread arrived and for a table of four were were provided with one knob of butter - we asked for more three times before it all arrived at once.

A further 10 minutes passed with no drinks. We asked 3 different waiters where the drinks were before our starters arrived. Again we chased the drinks. There must have been @ 8 waiting staff on duty - the majority of which remained in a cluster around the till on and off for the duration of the time we were there. Eventually the drinks arrived. Two members of staff arrived to open one bottle of wine. A young waitress was coached at the table on how to cut the seal before opening the wine; this took quite some time and was embarrassing for the waitress and ourselves. The wine was served directly without being asked to taste - not a problem, but when you're paying this kind of money for a "dining experience" you expect class.

The sunblushed tomato tart was an absolute disgrace; simply hard pastry with a tomato in the middle and a slick of balsamic vinegar - completely tasteless. Main courses were miniscule, but in fairness quite tasty. Deserts were the best bit of a bad experience.

The final bill came to £160 for four. An absolutely horrendous experience. It was clear that the majority of waiting staff are juniors and have no idea what even basic customer service is. Looking around at other customers, it was obvious that quite a few of those weren't happy either, having to go to the staff at the till to ask about their meal/drinks.

All in all, a really bad place to eat - don't bother.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas T, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.

Please accept my apologies for the problems you had whilst dining in our restaurant. I will look into the issues you have raised and establish the root of the problems in order to formulate an effective solution.
We have recently hired a new head chef, who will be joining our team in the near future, and I look forward to working with him in ensuring our standards are raised.

Thank you again for your comments.

Warmest Regards,

Nicholas Testa

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We took advantage of a daily mail promotion and decided on a short break with the dog too. The hotel is set in lovely grounds, tables and chairs are out front so you can enjoy looking at the ground whilst enjoying a drink of too. We were told we could check in from 2pm so having planned to arrive then, i was a bit miffed that it would be another hour before the room was ready, still it gave us the chance to have a bite to eat and a drink. The ground floor room was nicely appointed and near to the exit to the courtyard which was handy for the dog, who was made very welcome. We ate in the dining room both evenings, there was a fixed price menu with a good choice. The staff were pleasant and attentive and the meal delicious. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty too. I had planned on booking a spa treatment but thought I would be able to sort this when I got there alas it wasn't to be there was no availability, possibly due to the spa closing about 5, I did think as it was a spa hotel there would be evening availability. There is a nice swimming pool too if you fancy a cooling dip. 2 coach parties revived whilst we were enjoying a drink outside, this did cause an obstruction when trying to get back into the hotel as the reception desk is just through the doors so guests were backed up outside, I think they could have planned check in of big groups a little better, away from the main reception/entrance

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Redworth Hall is a stunning old building set in immaculate grounds. We stayed here recently for two nights and overall had a nice time. However, where the hotel has many redeeming features such as clean, comfortable rooms and a restaurant serving excellent food, there are some areas of service that need 'tweaking' to make what is a good hotel into a great hotel.

Positives: As stated before, nice rooms, good food, beautiful setting, a lovely pool and spa area all contribute to making your stay an enjoyable experience.

Negatives: There appeared to be a staff shortage as in the restaurant, dirty plates were slow to be cleared in between courses and we had to ask 3 times for our bill.
The bar area only had 1 member of staff serving which resulted in queues forming most of the time.
Some staff uniforms looked shabby ( one poor girl had trousers on that were torn and frayed around the hems). This is not a good impression to the clientele in a 4* establishment!
A room service tray had been left outside a room on our first night at around tea time. It was still there when we went down to breakfast the next day.
The pool area is nice but empty drinks and snacks containers were left on the poolside tables for hours. There didn't seem to be any urgency to clear them up even though 3 staff were on duty who didn't seem to be overly busy.

Some of these comments may seem trivial but little things like this shouldn't arise in a hotel of this standard. You pay for quality at Redworth and in some areas you get it. It is a shame they are letting themselves down in others.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1sue22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel is great. We have stayed three times now and have sussed out the better family rooms. They could do with a bit of updating and whilst room 415 was great and had obviously received a spruce up in the 6 months since our last visit, the bathroom had obviously not been redecorated.
The helpfulness of the staff is great - nothing is too much trouble. Good facilities for kids but snacks and drinks in the leisure club are a little too pricey.

Room Tip: Family rooms 401 & 405 seem to be the largest - 415 is good too. All family rooms are like suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed for two nights and thought the evening meals and breakfasts were very good, there was a good choice for both of them. My room was huge, although a bit dark due to overlooking trees but the lovely room compensated for that. The staff were very pleasant and efficient.
Would definitely stay here again and for longer than two days.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Beautiful hotel and grounds and well worth it for the photographic points, the walk around the gr ounds was well worth it. room couldn't fault it was given one in the new section 500+ had modern spa bath and shower room was decent sized with kingsize bed, shame it was to joined as mattress was split and was uncomfortable to sleep on but hey i lived with it, as all mod cons were though off right down to the iron and board.

now bad points, staff not helpful at all infact the cleaner who i might add was lovely and helful talked more to us than the other staff they tended to just walk past you and ignore didnt make you feel welcome at ie. evening bar upstairs at wedding in conference centre, asked for a cider and was told i would have to go down stairs for it which at £4 i feel was a bit of a cheek as it was not like it was a 5 min walk it is so far away it was 30 minutes before i found my way back through the maze of corridors , the bar was quite spars with its choices and you think a hotel of its size would stock more choices. food was not of a 4* standard, breakfast was cold although will say in there defense there was a good choice, coffe and tea out of a pump flask )-; i dont even get that on holiday thats a bit cheap and so bead and breakfast style. the wedding meal was not exactly glowing either a couple slices melon with a roll on the side, most people if there given a roll expect soup not melon, the main the vegtables were raw and unedible but the torte was to die for certainly not 4* again. as for the evening buffet well never have i seen one like it, sandwiches potato wedges, mini burgers and yorkshire puds mini stuffed with roast beef and gravy very weird combination and shicked by the fact the burgers were raw in the middle and the rest was cold. you werent even allowed to self serve and the young staff behind the table were very rude indeed when told burgers were raw and continued serving until a few of us went up and complained. would i stay here again hmmm maybe one off if the prices was right but wouldnt make a habit of it, shame to as it was my first experience of a posh hotel and it certainly made travel lodge and holiday inn look more 4* than themselves. so in a nutshelll beutiful on the outside, letdown in the middle.

Room Tip: look for the 500 - 512 rooms excellent spa rooms with modern uptodate mod cons
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pab2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas T, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. Please accept my apologies for the issues you had during your stay with us.

I have never known our staff to ignore guests, however I shall nonetheless enquire into their general attitude and remind them of the standard we as a company set.

Please accept my further apologies for the lack of directional advice given to you by our staff. The wedding's function bar you referred to is only a single corridor's length from the downstairs cocktail bar so to spend half an hour returning to the wedding must have meant that you were not provided with adequate directions. This is unacceptable and rest assured I will be reminding the staff of their duties in providing guests with clear directions if needed. Due to the layout of our hotel, navigation can be quite tricky so please accept my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience caused.

With regards to the wedding meal; the courses are served according to the wishes of the bride and groom, who, during the weeks leading to the wedding, spend time with our organisers and chefs in choosing their desired dishes.

I will also look into the issues you have raised regarding the late night buffet with great importance.

Thank you again for your comments.

Warmest Regards,

Nicholas Testa

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redworth
2.8 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
814 reviews
14.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Auckland
1,055 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hardwick Hall Hotel
Hardwick Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sedgefield
912 reviews
12.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redworth Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redworth Hall Hotel

Address: Redworth, Redworth DL5 6NL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Redworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Price Range: $79 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Redworth Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1693, the four-star Redworth Hall Hotel is a Jacobean-style manor house hotel with many original features, 143 spacious bedrooms, beauty rooms and a hair salon. Set in 150 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds and woodland it’s easy to get away from it all yet also enjoy the historical and vibrant cities of Durham, Darlington and Newcastle, which are just a short drive away. Visit Hadrian’s Wall, the East Coast's unspoilt beaches and historical cathedrals then relax in the Health & Leisure Club’s pool or outdoor tennis courts before enjoying delicious local ingredients in 2 AA Rosette 1744 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Redworth Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Newton Aycliffe
Newton Aycliffe Barcelo
Durham Hall Hotel Redworth
Hall Redworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing