We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Teeside Treasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Redworth Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Reviewed May 9, 2008

A Bank Holiday weekend in the UK, early May, the usual trip for us would be three nights around norhern France. Hang on though...weather forecast is okay, the exchange rate with the Euro is diabolical and my wife and child have never been to the north east of England - now's the time then.
This hotel certainly looked the part, the reviews were good so away we went and to be fair it really was excellent. A grand entrance, a lovely room and welcoming staff. Spa facilities are great and breakfast good. Its not the cheapest hotel you'll ever stay in but nor does it pretend to be. Good external play area for kids as well.
Glitches, and they are minor - a portable size TV in a big room isn't great ( I know, I know, what do you go away for to watch TV anyway? We don't, but try relating this to a seven year old).
On our last morning a lot of items were missing at breakfast, it had been a busy weekend though and we'll leave it at that.
Thoroughly recommend!
The north east is one of Englands more diverse areas, don't avoid some of the traditional working class towns because of reputation, they really are making an effort and worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveMortimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,268 - 3,274 of 3,364 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2008

I have just had a one night stay here and had a really good time, the pool/leisure facilities were excellent, however for those who want to swim lengths it is more of a fun pool.
Service was great, for instance we ran out of milk so i rang reception and within minutes a tray with jug of milk, tea and coffee were in abundance.
Had a lovely meal and at a price of £25 for three course meal i would defo recommend it.
The bar was crowded however and me and my girlfriend had to sit in reception and felt a little out of it but it was a busy Saturday night.
I would recommend this hotel for young couples.

Ian K Tomlinson.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Tomojunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2008

Enjoyed a saturday night with my wife staying in a superior room. Check in very efficient and we were allocated a new spa room in the new block. Roomswas excellent, the bathroom probably the best I have seen in a hotel!

Leisure club good but be aware they have strict limits on the number of people in the pool area and will make you wait if needs be.

Food was excellent in the evening in the main restaurant although the service was a bit keen and we did feel slightly rushed.

All in all a very pleasant weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mgreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2008

We stayed here for our anniversary and we had a fantastic time. The hotel is set in its own woodlands and gardens and the building is very impressive.
We stayed in one of the 'spa' bedrooms, which are very contemporary with expensive looking decor, super king size bed, a jacuzzi bath and spa shower. They are also slightly away from the main hotel area, so if there are wedding parties etc, there would be no disturbances. There was a large hotel party staying when we were there, but we had a very peaceful nights sleep!
Leisure facilites are very clean and very welcoming. The pool is in a headed conservatory, making it very light and airy.
The food at both breakfast and dinner was very tasty, and of a very high quality.
All members of staff were friendly, professional and helpful at all times.
I could carry on, but basically I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone, and it is somewhere we will be definitely going back to!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katwilbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2008

Stayed at The Barcelo Redworth Hall last weekend. This is my 5th stay at this hotel and as always the standards were very good. Check in was very quick and the staff are always polite.
The hotel provides an excellent cooked breakfast and a little recommendation if you find the menu a little pricey is to visit the Bay Horse pub in the nearby village of Heighington. This pub is a gem serving excellent food and good beer.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Ajb1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2008

We stayed on a thursday night. We could not check in until 2pm but went early to use the lesiure facilities. They were superb, well heated for sitting and relaxing in. We were allocated a spa bedroom. It was very modern with a jacuzzi bath and a spa shower. It had a massive bed. We ate in the restaurant which was quite busy that said the service was good and the menu was varied and we found the food excellent. I had salmon which was piping hot. The bar is tiny for a hotel of this size, so we didn't have a drink there, it was rather impersonal. Outside the hotel is a lovely parkland, more than adequate parking and a great childrens play area with zip lines. If you are looking for seclusion this is not the hotel for you with 143 bedrooms. Whilst we were there i saw 4 large conferences taking place. They did not disturb us just generally made the hotel busier. Would I go back, yes. Would i recommend it, yes.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happiness098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2008

I booked this hotel seeing the wonderful deal in the Sunday Express where the price was too good to be true. We booked into the hotel okay with a minimum of fuss but were slightly miffed that we couldn't park nearby due to non-residents visiting/carousing. Hauling a wheelie suitcase over rough stones and soil is very awkward. We were allocated a room up on the first floor which was spacious and clean. After unpacking we chilled with a coffee before getting ready to dine in at the hotel.
We ate in the bar and my wife had a lasagne which wasn't that bad, but could have been better presented. My sandwich was okay but just as stated on the tin - a sandwich! The drinks were fairly expensive and as in other reports seating was at a premium. The night was fairly quiet with no outside or corridor noises.
On the first full day we went for breakfast and found it to be nothing special. Food was plentiful and well cooked but typically predictable. After a trip into Durham we returned to the hotel mid afternoon to chill in the spa and pool. That was great and revived us a little. However we could see and hear the commotion from the wedding party. It was like a Peter Kay sketch, girls being nasty to one another and little boys sliding along on their knees.
We dined in the restaurant that evening and had the meal booked in with the deal and what a mistake. The starters were not very appetising and hastily prepared while my wife's sea bass resembled a sardine - it was that small. During the meal I asked for the complimentary bottle of wine as it formed part of the deal and spent a couple of minutes haggling over the validity of this before the manager of the restaurant agreed.
After the meal we found it very hard to find a seat due to the wedding party taking over every available seat and placing sleeping kids on two seats! We stayed for one drink and that was it.
The night was intermittently interrupted by noisy drunken guests shouting along corridors, having long conversations outside doors and generally being a right pain in the butt. Only visits to the door where they were told to go away or be quiet stopped this, but after 4 incidents of this, my night was spoiled.
After the typical English breakfast marred by said wedding guests suffering from hangovers but talking loudly about the wedding and how much they had drunk etc we packed up and left.
The deal including B&B both days and an evening meal on the Saturday. We paid in advance for all this but had to suffer a quite intense study and argument with receptionists to get them to realise this as they initially tried to charge us the full cost AGAIN, then tried to charge me with a lunch 3 hours before we had even arrived at the hotel, then eventually the bill reduced greatly to the cost of the lasagne and sandwich and a couple of newspaper (£25).
The venue itself is a lovely old house; the surrounding countryside is breathtaking on a cold frosty morning but the standard of service, the disregard for guests booking arrangements and the total ambivalence of the staff spoiled the weekend.
Just to add credence to this review, a friend of mine visited the weekend later and met the same noise, ambivalence and again were charged twice for their visit. So, is it a genuine mistake or is it an attempt to make extra money from guests who would avoid conflict and dispute??? The answer seems to be wide open....

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank swintonblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redworth
2.8 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
817 reviews
14 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Auckland
1,061 reviews
12.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
12.2 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redworth Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redworth Hall Hotel

Address: Redworth, Redworth DL5 6NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Redworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Price Range: $79 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Redworth Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1693, the four-star Redworth Hall Hotel is a Jacobean-style manor house hotel with many original features, 143 spacious bedrooms, beauty rooms and a hair salon. Set in 150 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds and woodland it’s easy to get away from it all yet also enjoy the historical and vibrant cities of Durham, Darlington and Newcastle, which are just a short drive away. Visit Hadrian’s Wall, the East Coast's unspoilt beaches and historical cathedrals then relax in the Health & Leisure Club’s pool or outdoor tennis courts before enjoying delicious local ingredients in 2 AA Rosette 1744 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Redworth Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Newton Aycliffe
Newton Aycliffe Barcelo
Durham Hall Hotel Redworth
Hall Redworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing