We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“February weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Redworth Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“February weekend”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Very busy weekend in the hotel but we enjoyed our stay and never felt rushed at any time. Room was lovely and staff helpful. Gym was busy with local members. Didn't use the spa.
Within easy reach of Durham which is always worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susietsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas T, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Redworth Hall Hotel, part of the Puma Hotels Collection. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Nick Testa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,086
    960
    584
    255
    179
See reviews for
470
1,647
45
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (643)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

By that I mean you have a Beautiful early Georgian House to stay in with Stylish Bedrooms or a Modern type accommodation with bedrooms to suit every one's taste. All the Hotel Staff were friendly and efficient, I had a perfect weekend break. I learnt that a couple had been staying at the Hotel for 14 consecutive years for peaceful weekends which to me sums up all that is good about the Hotel. I used the excellent Park and Ride which is close to the Hotel to get to Durham and its many attractions.Bus passes accepted.
Summary - Location excellent to visit Durham, Accommodation - Good size comfortable bedrooms and well fitted bathrooms. Restaurant - Food quantity and quality very good. Car Park - Good size & easy access. Leisure Facilities - Large Pool with seating area, also well equipped Gymnasium.

Room Tip: For something special book the Main House Rooms. or the Deluxe rooms in the new accommodation at a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maurice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas T, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you for your valued comments. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stat at the Redworth Hall Hotel, part of the Puma Hotels Collection. I have only recently taken over as General Manager and it is a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Nick Testa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

This review is about the restaurant NOT the hotel.

Last night my wife and I dined in the restaurant - we were made to wait 10 mins by the maitre d' before being taken to our table then sat for 20 mins before got a menu... Still no drinks. Then got given a wine menu. Ordered food and drink at same time, got starters 30 mins later, bread and wine when we finished the starter!

Starters were decent except my crab cakes were over cooked. For the mains my wife had the biggest belly pork I've ever seen complete with un-crackled fat and very over cooked meat. I had a Thai green curry with sea bream which was actually sea bream with noodles, British vegetables and a creamy sauce - nothing Thai about it.

With everything we ate the waitress offered black pepper like we were in an Italian and offered sauces. I felt like she had learnt the trade in a brewers fayre!

The waitress also regularly touched the mouth of the wine bottle with her hands.

Finally dessert; passion fruit cheesecake which tasted of nothing whatsoever served with Creme Anglais which was actually melted whipped cream from a can.

I'm just thankful the meal was 'part of the package' as there's no way I'd pay the £29 per head bill!

The hotel and spa I've no complaints with and breakfast was lovely!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas T, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Please accept my apologies that you did not find the dining experience to your expectation. I can assure you that I will be discussing the contents of your review with the restaurant team in order to ensure that quality of the food and service is kept to our usual high standard. I was pleased that you were happy with your accommodation. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Nick Testa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Our son and daughter bought us a weekend deal at the hotel on a bed, breakfast and evening meal basis and we were very pleased they did. We upgrade to a room in the main building which has a super king bed and seating area and views to die for! The Reception staff were very good, especially Danielle who accommodated our requests for a special room.

Drinks and food a little bit on the pricey side but on a special occasion in a special place this is acceptable. Evening meal very well presented but the service was a little on the slow side.

Used the spa and pool facilities and this was an added bonus at no extra cost.

Would recommend this hotel for a special evening away - the hotel has a lot of history which is worth researching - I discovered that there are two ghosts who frequent the main building.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room in the main building which have more character. Rooms in the newer section of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greekislandchaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas T, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your very positive review, I was delighted to read that the team looked after you well, and glad you did not encounter our ghost! I will personally pass on your thanks to Danielle. Having only recently taken on the post of General Manager I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Nick Testa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, South Yorks
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This weekend I was privileged to stay at this hotel. from my entry into the hotel, you could feel the friendliness inside. On booking in you are greeted with a smile and a nice welcome, your booking is sorted with quick and organised precision. Our room was nice and roomy, very clean and full of all facilities you can expect from a four star hotel. After unpacking we made our way down to the spa area, again greeted with friendly staff who let you know where everything was with out having to ask. Everything worked from the steam room, sauna and Gucci, and although the pool was lively with children and parents it was easy to use all facilities. In the evening we had a very nice meal with a nice choice to say it was a coach party, and it was served with a nice smiling waitress and presentation was second to none. Although they was a wedding reception on also we never knew they was so many people in the hotel for in every part it was organised and people was able to enjoy and relax after their meal. Upstairs on level 2 was a very nice lounge where we settled into and had a very relaxing night with a few friends. In the morning you went in for breakfast and what a selection, they was everything, and when a friend asked for some porridge she was presented with a succulent large bowl of fresh made real porridge made from real oats. I would recommend this hotel for any honour it could get for it would be well deserved, from the place its self, the very afficant and friendly staff, and the food and service was second to none. Well done Redworth Hall cannot wait for my next visit.

Room Tip: every room is worth settling in too
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phillip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas T, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest, I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Redworth Hall Hotel, part of the Puma Hotels Collection. Thank you very much for your kind comments, these mean a lot as I have only recently taken over as General Manager here. I was pleased that all the team looked after you well and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Nick Testa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband I were looking to get away in February to mark a special event, we couldn't decide whether to go abroad for a cheap week or stay in the UK. We stumbled across the 2 night relax and revitalise deal at this hotel and had a glorious time. As part of the deal, you are greeted with chocolates and champagne, I had warned my husband not to get his hopes up because no doubt the champagne will be a tiny bottle and we would invariably end up drinking it out of plastic bathroom cups! That assessment couldn't have been further from the truth, there was a full sized chilled bottle waiting for us with champagne glasses along with locally sourced handmade chocolates. Again, I suggested to my husband that the dinner would probably only be one course and we would have to pay extra for additional courses. Again, I was wrong, what awaited us was a three course dinner (with a number of menu choices), a lot of which was a creative sensation. Absolutely beautiful puddings too. As part of the deal, we got 2 treatments each, lunch on the second day and full use of the facilities. Excellent choice of buffet style breakfast, almost everything is on the menu! The staff were really helpful and went out of their way to make us comfortable. In the morning of day 2, we went for a walk in the grounds in the snow and stumbled on all sorts of treasures! Don't just think about the Relax and Revitalise deal at Redworth, just do it. It really is excellent value for money and you get a lot more than you bargained for. Thanks to Michelle in Reservations for sorting us out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJP35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas T, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Redworth Hall Hotel, part of the Puma Hotels Collection. Thank you so much for your very kind comments, it is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback, especially as I have only recently taken on the role of General Manager here. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Nick Testa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

If you like being able to hop into the swimming pool, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi every now and then, this place is for you. We were in one of the new rooms (501) with jacuzzi bath and 8 jet showers which was fun too and very close to the health club.
We had meals in the restaurant for 3 nights and the food and service there were excellent. The cocktail bar lacks atmosphere but is OK for a quick meal - prompt arrival of our food although slightly pricy when compared with a local pub type place.
We were there for 5 nights and really enjoyed the whole stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas T, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest, I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Redworth Hall Hotel, part of the Puma Hotels Collection. Having only recently taken over as General Manager, it is a pleaure to receive such a positive review. I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Nick Testa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redworth
14.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
4.5 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
9.3 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redworth Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redworth Hall Hotel

Property: Redworth Hall Hotel
Address: Redworth, Redworth DL5 6NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Redworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Redworth Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1693, the four-star Redworth Hall Hotel is a Jacobean-style manor house hotel with many original features, 143 spacious bedrooms, beauty rooms and a hair salon. Set in 150 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds and woodland it’s easy to get away from it all yet also enjoy the historical and vibrant cities of Durham, Darlington and Newcastle, which are just a short drive away. Visit Hadrian’s Wall, the East Coast's unspoilt beaches and historical cathedrals then relax in the Health & Leisure Club’s pool or outdoor tennis courts before enjoying delicious local ingredients in 2 AA Rosette 1744 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Redworth Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Newton Aycliffe
Newton Aycliffe Barcelo
Durham Hall Hotel Redworth
Hall Redworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing