We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Years Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Redworth Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“New Years Break”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We travelled to Redworth for about our 18th visit over the years on the 31st December 2012 and stayed for 3 nights, we loved the New Years party with the Band called "The Edge" who were absolutely fantastic, however the DJ who was on before and after the band could clear a dance floor quicker than a fire alarm going off, he was shocking.

Throughout our stay all of the staff, as always at Redworth, were brilliant with nothing too much bother for anybody, the leisure club staff, reception, bar and restaurant staff were excellent.

Redworth has changed through the years with different owners but the enjoymnet that we as a family all get from our trips to Redworth has never changed, we have never had a bad experience at this hotel and would recomend it to any and all.

Our one and only gripe this visit was that the air conditioning in the breakfast and restaurant area was on what appeared to be "artic cold" mode and it was a bit chilly to say the least, even cupping a nice cup of coffee didnt help however the staff rectified this issue when asked.

Room Tip: Book a family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas T, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Redworth Hall Hotel, part of the Puma Hotels Collection. I have only recently taken over as General Manager here, but have noted the comments regarding the DJ on New Year's Eve and will address the issue this year. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future. With Kind regards, Nick Testa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,089
    964
    585
    255
    179
See reviews for
472
1,651
45
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (643)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedale, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2013

on arrival 3 of our 4 rooms were ready but the other wasnt. and were werent early either. the woman on the desk was doin so many jobs at once she wasnt able to give each person proper attention, so it came across not too good.
we stayed for 2 nights, in a deluxe spa room on level -2 so the view from the window was a brick wall. the room itself was clean and champagne and chocolates were provided. nice tv, comfy bed and the bathroom was very posh! the lighting in the room was very dull and the walls were very thin, so noise was a problem. to get to our room you had to go up 4 levels then walk 5 corridors, get back in a lift to go back down to our level. not very easy to get to and a long way from food or the bar.
The sauna, steam room and jaccuzi were clean and very relaxing. the pool was a bit small and by the time 5 kids were in it there was no room for anyone else. the tiled floor around the pool edge where we sat at a table actually exploded! there was a big bang and all the tiles raised up. a man put some red and white tape round some poles but nothing was said to us. we wernt asked to move and it was left very unsafe, especially when all the kids floats and inflatables were right next to it. was a bit dangerous in my opinion.
We recieved 2 treatments of our choice in with our price, i had a back, neck and shoulder massage which was lovely and also a facial. they couldnt be faulted.
We had dinner, 2 breakfasts and 2 evening meals on our stay, all of them were lovely. plenty of choice for breakfast as it was buffet stlye but for the other meals it was very limited and there was £3 supplements added on, so if you think its all included in the price just be careful. the bar was very small for the size of the hotel but the coctails were lovely! just be careful of the door that leads outside, as everyone we sat an watch go outside would trip on a step as its not very easy to see. no 'mind the step' sign! was there. the whole hotel was lacking signs, the toilets did not have signs on them and every one you met would also be lost!
overall was a good stay, the evening meal staff were very friendly and helpful, my treatments were wonderful. it could just do with some finishing touches and a more welcoming arrival.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c0untrybumpkin89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas T, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. I have only just taken over as General Manager here, so over the next few weeks I will be checking all the departments to see what changes we can make the enhance the stay of our guests. I was pleased to read that all the team looked after you well, and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Nick Testa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The hotel looks fantastic and is set in lovely grounds which were covered in snow when we visited. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Our rooms were very nice - certainly no complaints there. The breakfast was self service and very nice but we were a little disappointed with the evening meal which was good but not special. The prices of drinks in the bar or restaurant were a bit steep but we did get a very good BB+D deal through the January offer. Would be very happy to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas T, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Redworth Hotel Hotel, part of the Puma Hotels collection. I was pleased to read that the team looked after you well and hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Nick Testa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This was to be the venue to meet with our cousins. This is always an anticipated and splendid occasion.
The room was ok however there was mould in the shower, no ventilation and the towel rail was permenantly in full blast.
I was one of the lucky ones, i had eaton on the way ti the hotel. The bar meals were made with cheap ingredients and little thought given to presentation. Later tgat evening, one of the party requested a coffee, we were tild the coffee machine was turned off. I ask you, what kind of hotel does this. 4 star, my bottom.
There was a general lack of care and customer focus. If you are thinking of going, a tent in the grounds would garentee a better service.
Wont be returning.
I would appreciate the general Managers comments.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank capetown1232901446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas T, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I only took over as General Manager here on 4 February, but please be assured that your comments have been noted. Over the coming weeks, I will be meeting with the teams to see what changes for the better can be made to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay with us. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to see the changes. Kind regards, Nick Testa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights 26/27th January 2013. A birthday from my boyfriend, complete with upgrade to a deluxe spa room. The hotel itself is magnificent to look at. A very beautiful building with an interior to match. However, upon arrival in our room we were rather dismayed to discover that our king-bed was two beds pushed together. Not only was there a clear gap between the two mattresses, but when pushed together it became apparent that they were of different thickness.lj Suffice to say, you could not lie anywhere near the middle of the bed. Other than that the bedroom was quite compact but very nicely done out. Modern decor. Flatscreen TV complete with Sky Sports, and lovely furniture. The bathroom was also amazing to look at. Separate shower cubicle with jets, large shower head and adjustable handset shower, plus separate jacuzzi bath (which is quite possibly the noisiest i've ever heard but it could have been the acoustics of the bathroom). The only real problem in the bathroom was the shower door did not shut from the inside. Had to get someone from outside the shower to wedge it shut otherwise the bathroom floor would be utterly soaked! The facilities in the hotel - pool, hot tub, steam room and sauna are excellent. I didn't use the gym but it looked well kitted out. There is only one bar in the hotel, and its disproportionately small when compared to the size of the hotel. Expect to take your drinks elsewhere if you wish to sit down. The food in the bar is quite expensive and is no better than normal bar food. Plus, the menu is very limited. We ate lunch there the first day and dinner the second evening. We only had breakfast once in the restaurant. Buffet style, average standard really. Can't complain about the food at all. Had better, but definitely had worse. The real problem with breakfast was the 35 minute wait for a cup of tea. They take your tea/coffee order upon seating you, but then despite repeated enquiries (from me and neighbouring tables) the teas/coffees did not materialise until breakfast was a distant memory. We didn't eat our evening meals in the restaurant as nothing really appealed and we had heard good things about the nearby Bay Horse Inn. I would stay at this hotel again if there was an offer on (I don't think its worth the full price), but only if I knew for sure that the bed was all one mattress.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas T, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I have only just taken over here as General Manager, so am still finding my feet. I have noted all the issues you have raised, and will be meeting with the teams in the coming weeks to see what changes we can make to ensure our guests have a pleasant stay with us. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future. Kind regards, Nick Testa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Booked this online last moment and from the photos we saw, thought for the facilities it had and the look of the outside and spa, looked great for the price. However we then stayed there, the driveway up to the hotel, location and the gardens were beautiful, but that was it! Upon arrival at the time we were supposed to check in, the room wasn't ready for nearly 40mins, no big deal we sat and they got us a tea, but after a 3hour, then the wait was really annoying as we were not early by a long shot. The outside of the hotel looked like an old country hotel which we have stayed in many a time, but bolted on the back where we stayed was a dated standard hotel block, which soon took the countyness out the hotel. The room had an old tv, which some channels didn't work, no freeview which is pretty standard these days, however it did have card on top of he tv with pictures to order a film or porno (nice family touch for hotel) the toilet had a big chip out of the side whatever happened there, the radiator was on full and no way to turn down unless you open the window, which was nice in the rain and with a wedding party on the other side if the courtyard. First night was ok, second night kids were running the hall ways till 2am and us and a few others complained about, which result in a marginal discount, which didn't really help as I would rather pay the money and have a good time. In the breakfast room, food was very average and not worth looking forward to and the carpet going into the kitchen was black from dirt! On the plus the hotel had a free 30mins login which I used and was good! We ate at the hotel on the first night, which was over priced and poor quality food, with no atmosphere, so by luck we ate at the bay horse pub the next two nights, which was great and highly recommend! I did say the complaints to the hotel and they did apologise, but it's not the staff fault in the big picture, more the hotel owners, which I did relay back to the in an email feedback form, so hopefully they read. Overall it's really disappointing as it looked great from the outside, but left feeling the best part was the checking out! I have stayed in many hotels both budget and luxury, which have been great, this however was not!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gareth24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas T, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your constructive review. I have only just taken over as General Manager here, so am still in the process of finding my way around the Hotel and checking the various areas. Please be assured that I will be meeting with the teams in the coming weeks to see where improvements can be made. I do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future to hopefully see the changes being made. Kind regards, Nick Testa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Spent 1 night here in January in spa room purchased as a xmas gift. We arrived early our room was not available but we were able to use the hotel facilities. Spa was nice changing rooms are dated but pool area etc were very clean. Room was loverly very modern & we loved the shower & jacuzi bath. Did not eat evening meal here but breakfast was very good no wait & everything very hot. All staff were very helpful & all areas of hotel very clean.
Negative points wifi not very good in room & no mobile signal. There needs to be more signs/directions to find rooms etc.
Overall all a nice value for money stay & we would return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laudan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas T, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Redworth Hall Hotel, part of the Puma Hotels collection. Thank you for your positive review, the team quite obviously looked after you well. I have only just taken over here as General Manager and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Nick Testa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redworth
14.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
4.5 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
9.3 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redworth Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redworth Hall Hotel

Property: Redworth Hall Hotel
Address: Redworth, Redworth DL5 6NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Redworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Redworth Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1693, the four-star Redworth Hall Hotel is a Jacobean-style manor house hotel with many original features, 143 spacious bedrooms, beauty rooms and a hair salon. Set in 150 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds and woodland it’s easy to get away from it all yet also enjoy the historical and vibrant cities of Durham, Darlington and Newcastle, which are just a short drive away. Visit Hadrian’s Wall, the East Coast's unspoilt beaches and historical cathedrals then relax in the Health & Leisure Club’s pool or outdoor tennis courts before enjoying delicious local ingredients in 2 AA Rosette 1744 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Redworth Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Newton Aycliffe
Newton Aycliffe Barcelo
Durham Hall Hotel Redworth
Hall Redworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing