We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Redworth Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Mixed customer service”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We arrived for an overnight treat with dinner bed and breakfast. Our greeting at reception was pleasant and problem free. The receptionist was polite and very efficient. We booked a deluxe room. The room was clean and there were no problems however it is rather small for a deluxe room. We had a late lunch in the lounge bar, there was a deal on saying you buy one get one free, the bar man had no idea this was on but politely asked us to sit and wait while they sorted it out. Communication or training seems to be an issue. If a hotel runs deals then the staff must know about them surely?
We had a lovely lunch then later we went for dinner in the restaurant. We were sat at a lovely table and looked after very well. The service did seem a little rushed but possibly that was simply efficiency and we were in a very laid back sort of feeling. It didn't spoil our meal. The food was ok. Starter was nice, the rest ok but not that special. In our room there was a puma hotel promotional card to fill in as a promotion for glenfidich whiskey. We filled it in and took it to the bar after our dinner to be told that they don't do glenfidich whiskey there and funily enough a few other guests had asked about that too so we were told, erm, if your housekeeping staff are putting promotional stuff in the rooms the communication and stock really has to be there. If not all that happens is your paying guests get irritated and annoyed. What really is the point of that?
Breakfast was pleasant, very busy and the staff were very charming once again.
Overall the bad points were a massive lack of foresight in putting in promotional offers and not backing it up either with passing on knowledge or actually putting in the stock! The rooms are economical in size.
The good points were the place seems clean and tidy, the grounds are beautiful and the waiting staff in the restaurant and the receptionist were excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susy155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedworthGM, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Susy155
It would appear there are some promotional offers that should have been removed as they are no longer valid. The Glenfiddich offer is still valid, and popularity far exceeded our expectations. I am sorry the stock was not available. Some great feedback about our team, and balanced feedback for all elements of your food experiences.
Thank you for sharing.
Kind regards
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,131
    1,015
    605
    262
    183
See reviews for
485
1,737
46
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights just before christmas with our 2 young boys (3 and 5). The alternative would have been a local chain, which have always been excellent, but not 'special' in any way. Opted for Redworth as the price worked out the same and whilst I have been before for my sisters wedding, I've not stayed overnight.

We were pleased from the off. All staff without exception were friendly and helpful. Children given 'goody bags' on arrival including toothbrushes, flannels and colouring items. I asked prior to our stay via email if we could have a family room (suite) as I'd read these were available via trip advisor. When we arrived we were allocated 401 which is indeed a suite - the childrens beds were set up in the main room. Its quite grand but a bit tired. The table is wobbly and the wallpaper peeling a bit, but cannot dispute the cleanliness and the comfort as even the camp beds were comfy.

The bedroom is under the eaves and has a sloping roof which wasnt really an issue - just needed to remember this in the middle of the night so I didn't bang my head on the ceiling.
Bathroom clean and hot water available at all times. Shower nice and powerful.
No fridge available in the room. TV in both the main room and the bedroom. 401 is next to the lift so be prepared for a bit of noise throughout the evening although most guests very considerate. Also its worth noting that there was a lot of entertainment (parties etc) going on during our stay but we couldnt hear any of this from our room.

What made it perfect for us was the leisure club - there is a small soft play area for the children which is open at the same time as the leisure club opens - this is perfect for early rising children. They loved the swimming pool too although it was slightly chilly. We never got to use the outdoor play area due to the weather, however it looked good - decent size.

Breakfast was marvellous. The kids eyes were popping out at the spread.
All in all a really lovely stay well worth the seventy quid we paid per night.

I can't say I had any issues with Redworth at all. Its often quite difficult to find somewhere genuinely child friendly but I felt that it was. I wish I'd had time to sample a spa treatment but we were visiting relatives otherwise I'd have gone for it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedworthGM, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Lynnie P
Very comprehensive feedback, thank you for sharing with the wider TA audience. Redworth Hall does indeed have some great facilities for families if you are visiting the North East for a short break either to visit family and friends or indeed the many wonderful family attractions that are on offer in teh North East. We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

I booked this as a suprise for my husbands birthday. We stayed 22nd to 23rd December. On arrival we were greeted by a very pleasant young lady who was very helpful. Our room was ready which I had upgraded to a luxury spa room which was beautiful. We went to the spa for our treatments however our bookings hadn't been reserved for some reason but the girls in there were more than helpful and managed to fit us in...thanks. After the spa we went for a sandwich where again the staff were more than helpful. After a lovely day we arrived in the dining room on time for our evening meal. We waited a while for our starters but the staff did explain they would be a few minutes late. The starters were beautiful as was our main course. The waitress cleared our plates and asked if we would like the sweet menu. Of course as it was a special birthday we would. After 40 minutes we were still waiting for the menu!!!! I must say this was a perfect day spoilt. We left the table and told the waitress. She did apologise, but to me that wasn't good enough. It shouldn't have happened. The restaurant wasn't particularly busy. Breakfast the following morning was very nice. To sum up our stay.... Very enjoyable but let down in one area.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedworthGM, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Karen1701
I am sorry we didnt quite get the end of an enajoyable meal quite right. Great constructive feedback and we can work with this to improve, Thank you for posting this feedback
Kind regards
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We had our Club Christmas dinner/party here.
Overall it was a very enjoyable evening and the meal was reasonable for this type of function.
The room we stayed in was nicely furnished and warm, the beds were very comfortable

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aiketgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedworthGM, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear aikegate
Great to hear you had an enjoyable night celebrating Chrsitmas with friends and collegaues. We hope to see you all again soon.
Kind regards
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

had a fantastic stay loved the medieval banquet and staff excellent. Hair dresser was very nice and my hair stayed in for two days. grounds were lovely perfect place for a wedding.
great location for holiday we stayed in old part of hotel and it was very quaint, clean and peaceful

Room Tip: main hotel was quaint and rustic stayed in room 14 vert big and comfortabl
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie19860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedworthGM, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Marie19860
Thank you for sharing your feedback with the wider TA audience, the team here certainly appreciate it. We have a great hairdressers here and with its close proximity to Darlington and free parking it is a very popular salon.
As for the Medieval Banquet, its a great experience and certainly something very different from the norm for Christmas Entertainment.
We all hope its not long before you return
Merry Christmas.
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for my birthday with my wife and 2 children. Hotel very busy due to functions been on so car park full not a problem. Went and used the pool and found the changing room a complete mess , towels thrown every where and rubbish left about. Clearly following other reviews on here there should be a clear change of management that is running that area as this looks like it is the biggest problem with this hotel now.
Main hotel good, family room nice and cleaning standard needs addressing as found black hairs all over the bathroom and a towel which was badly stained and should not have been placed back in circulation.
Resturant food and drinks excellent and Reception staff happy to help.
Would not avoid this hotel as it is a great little gem but as any company should standards should be monitored and addressed and the areas that are been mentioned on this site in ever other post should be actioned. I am going back for Xmas eve as I do enjoy this hotel for a relaxing break and I hope the changing rooms are much improved. Well done to all the main staffed areas but key improvements needed in cleaning areas which is letting all your main staff down.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco7242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedworthGM, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Marco7242
Thank you for your feedback and it is disappointing the cleanliness of the health club and bedroom did not meet your or indeed my expectations. I have discussed this with the club manager and the housekeeper, and hopefully on your return next week you will find it improved.
Kind regards
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Came back despite trouble with hot water last year,not dissappointed.Glorious,gorgeous and just enough "old world charm".It is a beautiful place in a stunning location!Food was great,both at breakfast and dinner in the restaurant.We loved that we were upgraded to a gorgeous room in the "old hotel",with mullioned windows but a great spa bathroom,we love old!Front of house,restaurant andhousekeeping were superb as usual,well done,thanks,xx

Room Tip: get an upgrade,the original part of the hotel is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedworthGM, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Rachel G
Thank you for posting great feedback, especially knowing that an earlier stay did not quite meet with expectations.
I hope its not long before we see you again.
Kind regards
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redworth
3.5 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
783 reviews
14.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
2.8 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,078 reviews
4.4 mi away
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
7.2 mi away
Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redworth Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redworth Hall Hotel

Property: Redworth Hall Hotel
Address: Redworth, Redworth DL5 6NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Redworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Redworth Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1693, the four-star Redworth Hall Hotel is a Jacobean-style manor house hotel with many original features, 143 spacious bedrooms, beauty rooms and a hair salon. Set in 150 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds and woodland it’s easy to get away from it all yet also enjoy the historical and vibrant cities of Durham, Darlington and Newcastle, which are just a short drive away. Visit Hadrian’s Wall, the East Coast's unspoilt beaches and historical cathedrals then relax in the Health & Leisure Club’s pool or outdoor tennis courts before enjoying delicious local ingredients in 2 AA Rosette 1744 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Redworth Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Newton Aycliffe
Newton Aycliffe Barcelo
Durham Hall Hotel Redworth
Hall Redworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing