We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Redworth Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Cumbria
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Enjoyable night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

We had our Club Christmas dinner/party here.
Overall it was a very enjoyable evening and the meal was reasonable for this type of function.
The room we stayed in was nicely furnished and warm, the beds were very comfortable

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aiketgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedworthGM, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear aikegate
Great to hear you had an enjoyable night celebrating Chrsitmas with friends and collegaues. We hope to see you all again soon.
Kind regards
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,071
    953
    579
    252
    179
See reviews for
467
1,629
44
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

had a fantastic stay loved the medieval banquet and staff excellent. Hair dresser was very nice and my hair stayed in for two days. grounds were lovely perfect place for a wedding.
great location for holiday we stayed in old part of hotel and it was very quaint, clean and peaceful

Room Tip: main hotel was quaint and rustic stayed in room 14 vert big and comfortabl
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie19860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedworthGM, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Marie19860
Thank you for sharing your feedback with the wider TA audience, the team here certainly appreciate it. We have a great hairdressers here and with its close proximity to Darlington and free parking it is a very popular salon.
As for the Medieval Banquet, its a great experience and certainly something very different from the norm for Christmas Entertainment.
We all hope its not long before you return
Merry Christmas.
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for my birthday with my wife and 2 children. Hotel very busy due to functions been on so car park full not a problem. Went and used the pool and found the changing room a complete mess , towels thrown every where and rubbish left about. Clearly following other reviews on here there should be a clear change of management that is running that area as this looks like it is the biggest problem with this hotel now.
Main hotel good, family room nice and cleaning standard needs addressing as found black hairs all over the bathroom and a towel which was badly stained and should not have been placed back in circulation.
Resturant food and drinks excellent and Reception staff happy to help.
Would not avoid this hotel as it is a great little gem but as any company should standards should be monitored and addressed and the areas that are been mentioned on this site in ever other post should be actioned. I am going back for Xmas eve as I do enjoy this hotel for a relaxing break and I hope the changing rooms are much improved. Well done to all the main staffed areas but key improvements needed in cleaning areas which is letting all your main staff down.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco7242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedworthGM, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Marco7242
Thank you for your feedback and it is disappointing the cleanliness of the health club and bedroom did not meet your or indeed my expectations. I have discussed this with the club manager and the housekeeper, and hopefully on your return next week you will find it improved.
Kind regards
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Came back despite trouble with hot water last year,not dissappointed.Glorious,gorgeous and just enough "old world charm".It is a beautiful place in a stunning location!Food was great,both at breakfast and dinner in the restaurant.We loved that we were upgraded to a gorgeous room in the "old hotel",with mullioned windows but a great spa bathroom,we love old!Front of house,restaurant andhousekeeping were superb as usual,well done,thanks,xx

Room Tip: get an upgrade,the original part of the hotel is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedworthGM, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Rachel G
Thank you for posting great feedback, especially knowing that an earlier stay did not quite meet with expectations.
I hope its not long before we see you again.
Kind regards
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Had a lovely evening-staff very helpful-nothing seemed to phase them.A very busy night for them as it was a big party with guests of all ages.Hall itself was a bit cold but warmed up once everyone started to dance.I have had bad meals in this hotel before-but buffet was fine.
Lovely atmosphere certainly assisted by helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnold2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedworthGM, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Arnold 2312
Thank you for sharing your experiences of and evening in the Great Hall, a fantastic venie, and whilst it takes a little while to warm the room up with the roaring fires, dancing will always help just a little bit more.
Kind regards
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouthshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Cannot fault hotel for its location and views. Beautiful 17th century Manor hotel, and it snowed whilst I was there, so you can imagine how beautiful it was.
However for a 4* country manor hotel I was expecting a lot more. The room itself was nice, but the little things you notice when your travelling a lot.
The shower curtain for instance was stained, in a hotel like this I would have expected a glass door, or even a brand new clean curtain, but stains is not what I expected.
The telephone (which I know is not something important, but looks can mean everything) was an old fashioned cream/old phone that just looked cheap and nasty against the room decor.
I arrived late on the Sunday and this hotel is a little bit to the nearest restaurants etc so was thinking I would order room service. I expected the room service to be over the odds but then they charge an additional £5 per tray service which I thought was a little excessive. (when your paying £12-£15 for example per meal) to pay an additional £5 I thought was rather much.
I picked this hotel due to beautiful location but also it had swimming pool and gym facilities. When I arrived I went to the pool for a swim, and couldnt spend much time in it all, it was really dirty, things floating in the water which I would have not wanted to know what they were. So got out and didnt use it for the rest of my trip. This is not specifically the hotels fault it is the fitness centre, but worth knowing if you pick this hotel for these facilities.
I stayed for business so did not have to pay myself for hotel, I think if I had of paid myself I would have been disappointed. Purely on comfort, location then this is a nice hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lolah304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedworthGM, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Louise h
Thank you for your cosntructive feedback. As a well travelled business guest, I appreciate you taking the time to bring these points to our attention.
Kind regards
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Have just attended a family do at the hotel and stayed overnight! Very disappointed in the hotel, really don't understand why it has 4*'s as we feel it doesn't deserve them, more 3*! Check in was terrible and extremely slow! Got to our room which was interconnecting and they were obviously smoking in the next room and was coming through the connecting door!! Was awful! The room is nice but bit dated, had the worst and cheapest toilet roll ever experienced! I know that sounds extremely pathetic but it is things like this that impress myself and my hubby!
The silver wedding was held in the great hall which is a lovely room however the bar you have to use for this room was freezing cold and with 1 barman on all night service extremely slow! The ladies toilets were the coldest place I have ever been, seriously I could have cried when went to the loo, in fact after that first visit we then went and used our room!! Was a buffet on and that ran out and wasn't replenished! So none left by time we got there!
By the time we got to our room we were going to order room service but there was a £5 charge for the privilege!! Forget that!
Breakfast this morning was ok, but not great! But the plates for breakfast were a joke!! Far to small!
Check out was a nightmare again, took ages, god knows why!
I know you may think these petty complaints but we have stayed in approx 16 hotels this year and sadly this one is our worst experience, and we would certainly not return in a hurry!! Also wasn't cheap either so felt its overpriced!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sammyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedworthGM, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Sammyan
I am sorry we seemed to get it so wrong. Your constructive feedback will enable the team and I to focus very quickly on some simple areas of recovery.
Kind regards
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redworth
14.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
4.5 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
9.3 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Walworth Castle Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
Hall Garth Golf And Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redworth Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redworth Hall Hotel

Property: Redworth Hall Hotel
Address: Redworth, Redworth DL5 6NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Redworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Redworth Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1693, the four-star Redworth Hall Hotel is a Jacobean-style manor house hotel with many original features, 143 spacious bedrooms, beauty rooms and a hair salon. Set in 150 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds and woodland it’s easy to get away from it all yet also enjoy the historical and vibrant cities of Durham, Darlington and Newcastle, which are just a short drive away. Visit Hadrian’s Wall, the East Coast's unspoilt beaches and historical cathedrals then relax in the Health & Leisure Club’s pool or outdoor tennis courts before enjoying delicious local ingredients in 2 AA Rosette 1744 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Redworth Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Newton Aycliffe
Newton Aycliffe Barcelo
Durham Hall Hotel Redworth
Hall Redworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing