We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel Will Definately Be Back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Redworth Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We arrived at this hotel on Friday 6th April. Check in was a breeze and the member of staff that served us was very helpful even when we went back the next day to find out about late check out on the Sunday which was worth every penny £10 an hour extra up until 2pm. We had a Spa room in the newer section of the hotel. It was quite far from reception but once we worked out the easiest way to the room the walk was fine. Our room was spotless, extremly comfortable and very cosy. We loved the spa shower and jacuzzi bath and i would definately recommend anyone to take the upgrade to these rooms. I am having problems with my stomach just know and they cater for all food allergy sufferers in this hotel. They made me feel at ease about it and even got the head chef to phone me prior to the trip so that i knew exactly what i could eat when we visited. fab service! The service in the restaurant on the saturday night was very slow but the food was nice. We never got round to using the pool and gym facilites but i definately wil be back to do so as they looked lovely. Overall we had a lovely time and we just wished we could have had a little longer in this fab hotel.

Room Tip: we were in a room right beside a lift so if you can avoid that then it would be a good idea as you c...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalez69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedworthGM, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

Dear kalez69
Thank you for posting your feedback and I am pleased to read you had a great time. As you didnt find this stay to be long enough, dont leave it too long before you visit again.
Kind regards
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,269)
There are newer reviews for Redworth Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,658 - 2,664 of 3,269 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2012

Stayed at Redwood Hall Hotel for 2 nights on a 50% off deal. The building is lovely with huge grounds to wander around. We were upgraded to a larger room (we are Barcelo leisure members) which turned out to be huge with a dining suite and reclining chairs as well as a king size bed.
The room was in need of decoration though, the walls were marked, there was some holes in the curtains on the seam edges and the bathroom tiling could have done with a deep clean.
On a positive note, the staff were lovely, really friendly and helpful. The breakfast was fabulous and plenty of choice and the pool looked good, although we didn't use it as it was quite busy with families with it being Easter and the weather not being kind.
For the money we paid we were quite happy with the decoration issues, but had we paid full price things may have been different.
Would recommend the hotel for its location, staff, food etc, just maybe need to watch which room you are allocated.

Room Tip: We were on floor 4 which was quite, but some guests were complaining about noise on floor 2
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillyR50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedworthGM, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

Dear gillian_richardson,
Thank you for the balanced review, and we will of course look at how we can enhance our product through our continued maintenance programme.
Kind regards
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Fantastic hotel in beautiful surroundings. We picked the hotel as it had a health club. The staff in the health club were extremely friendly and their customer service was excellent despite it being obvious they were overstretched due to the number of people on 'spa days'. Disappointed with numerous pieces of gym equipment being out of order.
Great meal, lovely room. Enjoyed our stay, further investment in this hotel would be beneficial.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedworthGM, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

Dear Caroline W
Thank you for the balanced feedback. The gym eauipment has now been repaired, unfortunately we were in the hand of the manufacturer and replacement parts from Italy. Hopefully however the good points outweighed the bad and we'll see you again soon.
Kind regards
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Stayed for one night while attending a function. Check-in was simple and quick, finding my room was a little more complicated! The room was to a very high standard modern and well appointed, jacuzzi bath and fantastic multi-head shower, all spotlessly clean.
The food in the evening was the norm for a function of this type. Buffet breakfast was ok.
Staff were pleasant and helpful.
There was a free bar in place on the night which was great,until they started to run out of bottled beers etc.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulOnHol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedworthGM, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

Dear GotBurnt
Great review, thank you. Hopefully your company will decide to use us again in the near future.
Kind regards
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

This hotel is stunning in appearance and you feel right in there with Jane Austin. We had a family room which was fine - large enough, clean, quiet, comfortable. The facilities are not promoted enough for families. There is a fab adventure playground hidden amid the trees that includes a zip wire, two slides, a fort, climbing things..we fully indulged all four of us: mum, dad, two boys, 11 and 7 years - brilliant. Tennis is also there and equipment is available at leisure - we did this as well - great. There is also a pool which is adequate and was fine. The food we had was not as impressive (ate in the bar area) and the prices are amazing - 2 coffees (masked Nescafe taste - people know now - sort this out) 2 desserts - £18 - hmm..and the tomato soup - well..not great - extra squillion pounds.. some staff are more friendly than others; some look happy, some look quite glum..but fine overall. Breakfast was nice and ladies were lovely there - usual buffet style but extra touches like homemade fresh bread and fresh fruit. Would we stay again? Yes. It was fine..

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAINTERA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedworthGM, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

Dear PAINTERA
Thank you for sharing your bealanced review of Redworth Hall, and its great to read that you would stay again. Hopefully we'll see you again soon.
Kind regards
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights for a wedding
while the wedding day itself was lovely the room we were given was very poor
the bathroom was dated and dirty and there wasn't enough towels
the room was also very tired, poorly cleaned and both windows were broken
there was no fridge and a very poor selection on the tea tray
the breakfast was just ok
but the bar prices were crazy!
I have stayed in far cheaper hotels that have been so much better than this!
I really wanted to complain but didn't incase one of the wedding party caught me at it, imagine that

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunnymae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedworthGM, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

Dear sunnymae
I am sorry we didnt quite get your stay right. I am pleased that the wedding breakfast was good and you enjoyed this part of your stay. We'll of course look at improving the areas where we didnt quite meet with your expectation.
Kind regards
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Recently returned from staying at Redworth Hall. This is the third time that we have stayed there in the last 2 years. The previous times have only been for one night.This time we stayed Sat-Mon. On arrival at 14:00, the hotel was obviously very busy with a wedding party having photo's taken outside. On check in we found that our room was unavailable, but we were offered the chance of using the leisure facilities. This we declined and walked into the near by village of Heighington. On return, we were quickly checking in, and started the process of finding the room! As others have stated, it's a little confusing at first, as the new and old buildings have different floor levels, but we soon found the room and were pleased with the facilities of the spa rooms especially at the price we had paid.
That evening we ate at the Bay Horse in Heighington. The food was of good quality, although perhaps a little on the expensive side. That said, I would recommend eating there. Its probably best to book a table in advance as they were quite busy (01325 312312). It was suggested that he hotel would ring through and book for you. It only takes about 15-20 minutes to walk to the pub.
When we checked in, we were advised that breakfast could be quite busy, so we went down early. The food was plentiful and catered for most tastes, with both a hot and cold buffet. They had laid on tea and coffee outside the Restaurant in case people had to wait.
After a day touring around the countryside, we returned to the hotel, but as the Bay Horse only serves food until 17:00 on a Sunday, we used the trusty Sat Nav to find find some where else to eat. This time it was a "Square Deal" restaurant adjacent to the Premier Inn at Newton Aycliffe. It took about 5 minutes in the car. The food was not as good as the Bay Horse, but was good value as for most options you could have two meals for the price of one.
Redworth Hall, consistantly offers very good value for money, especially when Barcelo have a Special offer. We paid ~£60/night B+B in a Spa Room. We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maple75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedworthGM, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

Dear Maple75
Three visits in two years, each one enjoyable, thank you indeed for sharing the experiences of your visits with other readers. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redworth
3.5 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
804 reviews
14.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
2.8 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,122 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Auckland
1,045 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hardwick Hall Hotel
Hardwick Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sedgefield
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redworth Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redworth Hall Hotel

Address: Redworth, Redworth DL5 6NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Redworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Price Range: $85 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Redworth Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1693, the four-star Redworth Hall Hotel is a Jacobean-style manor house hotel with many original features, 143 spacious bedrooms, beauty rooms and a hair salon. Set in 150 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds and woodland it’s easy to get away from it all yet also enjoy the historical and vibrant cities of Durham, Darlington and Newcastle, which are just a short drive away. Visit Hadrian’s Wall, the East Coast's unspoilt beaches and historical cathedrals then relax in the Health & Leisure Club’s pool or outdoor tennis courts before enjoying delicious local ingredients in 2 AA Rosette 1744 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Redworth Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Newton Aycliffe
Newton Aycliffe Barcelo
Durham Hall Hotel Redworth
Hall Redworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing