We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good affordable food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bay Horse

The Bay Horse
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good affordable food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Usually visit here with my boyfriend. Staff are a bit inconsistent and could sometimes do with smiling a bit more. Usually order the same dish (boring I know) which is the lasagne. Usually is excellent and affordable, can't complain. The chips that come with it are spot on and the portion sizes do make it excellent value. They do a good Sunday lunch also.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    65
    38
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, England
Level Contributor
147 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were directed to this pub from Redworth Hall Hotel as we couldn't book into their restaurant as it was fully booked. We enjoyed a lovely homely meal found the waiting staff to be extremely friendly and polite and there was a good choice of food on the menu as well as a specials board only wish we had come back the following night as it was better than the food at Redworth Hall.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank caplac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“average but freindly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

referring to the bay tree at aycliffe as there are two in the area:
fast ,efficient, freindly service and good value for money but basic 'chain, type pub grub - plenty of it though so ok if that's what you want

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank allen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Always have a problem in paying.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Me and a colleague from work ate here today and had the carvery which was and always is
very good quality and reasonably priced. The thing that let's this place down though is paying by a debit card as the line is down or they have a problem with the front till. Today I could not pay for the meals and drinks by card because a member of staff said "Steve" was upstairs on the phone and could be a while so I would either have to wait or pay by cash. I thought how rediculous. I had the cash so paid. It is a shame that they cannot get this right.

Kris

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Woz1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettlebridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great quality food and huge portions.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were staying in the area for 4 nights. We went here the first night and two other places the next two nights. We came back here on the last night as it was our favourite. The choice of food is fantastic (make sure and check out all the blackboards). The atmosphere is good as it is always busy but there is plenty room between tables so not too noisy. All the food appears homemade and the potions are huge. The homemade chips are superb. Word of warning if you see something on the dessert board think very carefully about ordering a starter - you will have to have a serious appetite to manage three courses.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bay Horse also viewed

Newton Aycliffe, County Durham
Newton Aycliffe, County Durham
 
Newton Aycliffe, County Durham
 
Spennymoor, County Durham
Darlington, County Durham
 

Been to The Bay Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing