We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ordinary Nights are fine but not New Year” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elachi Indian Restaurant

Elachi Indian Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Co Durham, England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Ordinary Nights are fine but not New Year”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Great food, but they can't cope when they are full. Mistakes made with when Serving Main Courses, and we are never in a hurry, but the wait between courses was rather long

Helpful?
Thank gallrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    37
    9
    2
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss out. A*”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

I have been here loads of times and love it everytime. Me and my hubby love Indian food with a passion and think the food here is gorgeous. Food great, service great (even with their bling) Just ignore the town centre!!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and top class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Friendly staff with an excellent menu offered. The best Indian in Richmond

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Nice modern restaurant and tasty food, staff friendly

Helpful?
Thank Jan-Bob208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bit of a let down...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

Ive been here 3 times now. 1st & 2nd times we were waited on hand and food by an older memeber of staff and the food was great and if we wanted anything on the menu explaining he did that. I went on the 13th May 2012 for my 19th birthday and after having the table booked for 2 weeks the table wasnt ready and we had to wait 20 mins for them to do this! even when it was ready we wernt shown to the table. after that we were told we had to go to the bar for our drinks, which ive never had to do before. My friend bought me a drink for my birthday and for a vodka and coke, taboo and lemonade and archers and lemonade this cost £21!!!!!!!!!!! i couldnt belive it! we had to ask them 3 times to take our order and even then he wasnt really bothered and couldnt really explain the menu to us, this ment what i got (meatball curry) wasnt very nice, to my taste anyway. the 4 courses for £10 was a good deal though, i kind of wish i liked some of the starters on that menu. Anyway after he took our order it started to get better, they brought the free poppadoms and sauces out (& plenty for 9 people) soon after that the starters came, i ordered the keema on puri, (mince on a fried puri) yet it had prawns in it? might have got mixed up, oh well it was lovley. soon after the meals came, all hot and plenty of rice and nan bread...the nan bread was to die for! everyone seemed happy with there choice and i ended up taking 7 "doggie" bags home of everyones curry. i had brought my own cake and they brought this out with happy birthday playing ove the speakers. they didnt bring a knife or plates and when we asked the just handed us some napkins, not enough though and they wernt to be seen when we wanted some more. to be honest they were never there. apparently the older memebers of staff had gone out for the night leaving the 2 younger ones in charge! charming because they were RUBBISH. the whole meal for 9 people starters & mains was £116 which i thought was quite good. they did annoy me though by throwing the box for my cake out, its common sense to keep it. oh well it kinda has put me off going back because of the lack of service. but every other time was good. Also there was veryy drunk man shouting and swearing and boasting about drug use. charming!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hannahw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elachi Indian Restaurant also viewed

Newton Aycliffe, County Durham
Newton Aycliffe, County Durham
 
Newton Aycliffe, County Durham
Newton Aycliffe, County Durham
 

Been to Elachi Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing