We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You're made welcome”
Review of The County

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newton Aycliffe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The County
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You're made welcome”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

A nice place to stay on a village green in quiet surroundings.
Room was spotless, food lived up to its name.
The people who work there are friendly northerners, always will have a chat and a laugh with you.
Certainly recommend it!

Room Tip: Try the king size room, very spacious, huge bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 902Islander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    29
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
32
53
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Silsden, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Went to this restaurant after having seen it had won Northumbria Dining Pub of the Year. We were quite full after a very big breakfast and only had a starter each with chips, but both meals were very nicely presented and good value. Service was excellent from the young female staff.

However, if you are expecting a "pub" you will be disappointed. This is not the fault of the County and probably more the fault of the Good Pub Guide.

As a modern restaurant with quality furnishings (not to our taste but well done for the quirky mixed style) it is good and was busy even at 4.00pm on a Sunday afternoon.

But it is not a pub in any sense.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We had an evening meal at the county a week ago, myself ,husband and. 91 years old mother.We all had different starters and main courses everyone of which were excellent. The service and friendliness of the staff and owner were also to be praised. As well as a varied menu there was a specials board . The variety of beers and wines was also very good. We found the final bill to be very acceptable considering what we had. It had also been recently refurbed to a high standard . Can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Very nice sunday lunch will definatly be ordering again roast potatoes are scrumptious the only down side i would say is the portions of mash and veg are very much on the small side :( but that is the only critizism

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank willis9899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Had a couple of meals out here over December and enjoyed both visits very much. Sunday lunch was perfect. A nice friendly welcome and a warm cosy restaurant when it was bitter cold outside. The Sunday lunch choice was good and the food was fabulous. We all had different but all enjoyed what we had. The toffee and pecan tart was to die for.
Our second visit was a very rare evening meal for the two of us which again we very much enjoyed. Good food, nice ambiance and excellent service. Quite a limited choice menu but something for everyone. We would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We decided to visit the County for a post Christmas relaxing night away, and to be looked after by someone! We were welcomed very nicely by a friendly member of staff, although she was difficult to hear over the noise in the pub. She showed us to our room, on the top floor of the house next door, which contains the accommodation for the County. We had to battle with the gale force winds and torrential rain, no easy feat with luggage in tow!

The room felt cold as we entered, in particular the bathroom, which made it uncomfortable to use. although the staff member said she would go and put the heating on. The room was small with no view, only the single velux in the roof. The room was very clean and tidy. The toiletries and coffee and tea making facilities were very minimal, and the bath towels were small, barely larger than hand towels.

The acoustics within the building were poor, with noise from other guests, either in their rooms or on the stairs very noticeable. We had to turn our television up to compensate.

We dined at the County that evening, the mixture of regular pub users and the restaurant made the building seem cramped with very little ambience. We would have expected more from an establishment offering a fine dining experience, with the pricing structure giving us the impression that was what we were going to get.

The menu was very restrictive for vegetarians (one dish), however when asked the chef was very accommodating and offered an alternative dish, although the dish itself did not reflect the quality expected for the price. I had the pheasant which was reasonable, however the accompanying rosti was dry with a dull salty taste and did not balance well with the pheasant. The seasonal vegetables were good. The house salad which accompanied the vegetarian dish seemed to be a pre packed salad simply emptied into the bowl, bland with no dressing. The dessert, toffee and pecan pie, was good.

Our nights sleep was interrupted by noise from other guests, and the bathroom was so cold we had to shut the door to prevent draughts.

In the morning we had breakfast which was very good, although the continental buffet was sparse, the English breakfast was good, with locally sourced meat. Upon asking the chef offered eggs florentine as an alternative to eggs benedict, which was very welcome.

Overall, we think the County needs to decide more on what it wants to be, a pub, bistro, or restaurant/hotel, with more attention paid to the suitability of the accommodation and to prioritising paying guests. Our room would not have been bearable for more than the one night we stayed. The dining experience can be improved with greater care taken in preparation of the dishes and better seating arrangements. We had taken a round trip of 250 miles to come to the County, and at present would not return.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lol9631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had an anniversary night away without children, the experience was out of this world. We dont often have parent time alone and we appreciated the personal attention we were given. The food and room were fantastic and the log fire was the icing on the cake. Definitely go again, if anyone fancies babysitting.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kezzababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Aycliffe
2.8 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,135 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
1.2 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Bay Eden Arms Hotel
Bay Eden Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rushyford
454 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Durham (Newton Aycliffe) Hotel
1.4 mi away
No photo provided
Bury Guest House
#2 of 2 in Newton Aycliffe
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County

Property: The County
Address: 13 The Green, Newton Aycliffe DL5 6LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Newton Aycliffe
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Newton Aycliffe
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The County Newton Aycliffe, County Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing