We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“liked th hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Aycliffe
Reviewed December 18, 2006

lovely staff, clean rooms, lovely meal, buffet breakfast lots to choose, good value hotel

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank scottishGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (652)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

634 - 640 of 652 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2006

I take back everything I said before - this place has deteriorated since the last stay.
Front desk staff don't seem to know the system and offer no real help at all.
Once again I had been allocated the wrong room and was told 'it couldn't be changed' - I had specifically booked a non-smoking executive room and was given a standard smoking room.
The air con was permanently on hot.
The tv remote control didn't work at all.
Service in the bistro has deteriorated - table was not laid up properly - service was slow and I was given the wrong dish twice!!
General fabric of the hotel is getting shabby.

Give this place a miss - I will!!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BusTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2006

Booked over the internet with their own site but arrived to find they had no record of it despite me having the booking reference. Luckily they had a family room and the receptionist was very efficient and pleasant.

Room was very nicely decorated and very clean, with plenty of room. Good shower and lighting, although there was no "welcome pack" in the room or any other guest information and I'll never understand why some hotels don't put a menu in the room to tempt you!

We had dinner and the food was very bad value. Would probably have been ok in a cafe but at 4* prices you expect 4* food. Chips were described as homemade but were clearly frozen, although steak was cooked as requested. Chicken curry was sent back as the chicken was terrible quality. Staff were all very pleasant and helpful although some more training is required as our waiter didn't know the wine list, or what was available, and had to ask what the specials were and then what the soup was.

Also, the hotel takes coach parties so make sure you book dinner even if the hotel appears to be deserted.

Great night's sleep followed by an excellent breakfast. Good choice, all nice and fresh and the service was absolutely spot on.

Very good value, especially if you are staying with kids, they just need to sort their booking system out and have another look at their dinner offerings.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Moonchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2006

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyRoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2006

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hawaiiangirl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2006

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bizness Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2006

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanAndSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Aycliffe
3.0 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,260 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
801 reviews
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
6.7 mi away
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Darlington Hotel
Travelodge Darlington Hotel
#4 of 21 in Darlington
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m

Address: Newton Park, Coatham Mundeville | Newton Aycliffe, Newton Aycliffe DL1 3NL, England (Formerly Aston Hotel Darlington)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Newton Aycliffe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Aycliffe
Price Range: $60 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m Newton Aycliffe, County Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing