We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient motoring hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Aycliffe
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights B&B which were bought for us by our children. Had dinner on 1st night and a bar snack on 2nd night. Food was always good although it took 1.5 hours for the dinner - mainly due, we think, as a bus trip party was being served. Our room was quiet and facing the fields. The downside was the had basin was in the bedroom, not the shower room (to my knowledge no baths at the hotel)and one of the bedside lights didn't work despite the staff saying it would be fixed. Still didn't work when we left. Plenty of places to travel to. Only 1/2 hour to Durham on A167/A177 and use park & ride at the University Botanical Gardens (Howland No 2 park & ride) Care - it closes at 7pm. Also Barnard Castle, High Force, Beamish, Darlington,etc.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the car park or fields. Also best on 2nd floor so nobody above you.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank threetuns48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traceycam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Thank you for writing your review after staying with us, it is good to read that you found our food to always be good.
Our rooms are quiet but also benefit from triple glazing to eliminate any external noise. Our handwash basin is in a separately designed area of the bedroom, good news we are currently undergoing a refurbishment and the hand wash basin will be incorporated into the bathroom. In our executive rooms there will also be a bath.
Could I apologise that the bedside light was not working during your stay I will certainly look into this. The service in Brasserie being slow, I am sorry about this we are giving extra training to stop this happening.

I do hope you will have the opportunity to return and see our improvements, we look forward to welcoming you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

397 - 403 of 653 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 day break at the Aston Darlington booked through Travel Zoo. It has been a wonderful experience and an absolute bargain at £118 for 2 - the deal included a 3 course evening meal plus bottle wine on our first night, 2 night bed and breakfast and our tickets for The Beamish Museum. We cannot praise this hotel and it's extremely competent staff enough. Our twin room was spacious and comfortable and very quiet overlooking open fields. Our meals were taken in the Brasserie 59 restaurant which had an excellent choice of home cooked food on the menu and all presented to a high standard. This extremely good value hotel is one not to be missed and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 745roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traceycam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Thank you taking the time to write your review after staying with us. To read that you found your break to have been a wonderful experience.
We could not have asked to have achieved better! your comments have been passed on and we are thrilled.
We do hope to see you again and really soon, why not follow us on our social media

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I have just spent a fabulous weekend for my birthday at the Aston Hotel, Newton Aycliffe, Darlington.

Everything was excellent from the smiley staff to the delicious food. The rooms were spacious and well set out and the power shower was a delight (which is something coming from someone who normally prefers a soak in a bath).

We went on a deal this time, but would happily go back again and certainly recommend it to friends and family. In fact my parents in law came yesterday and took the details so maybe your next customers are on their way. Well done.

Room Tip: Just accept the room you are given - I think they are all well set out and comfortable.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillywildwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traceycam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Thank you for your review, great to read that you found your weekend break fabulous. Our rooms are certainly spacious, the power showers are just what they say they are! I do hope you have been converted to power showers.
Thank you for recommending us, we really appreciate this and for your parents in law to also join you then take our details we could not ask for better.
We look forward to you returning and soon, look out on our social media for more great breaks. We do hope you have the opportunity to return for your next celebration or just a break away.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Just returned from a break at the Aston Hotel Darlington and had a great time .The room was spacious with loads of storage , free wi-fi and a great shower, The food was excellent with lots of homemade stuff on the menu and a good price of 19.90 for a three course evening meal, though I will warn that the portions are quite large so very filling. The staff were very helpful even printing out directions for us. There is plenty to see around Durham , Beamish , Raby Castle, High Force waterfall , Hartlepool and Newcastle all within 22-30 minutes but you do need a car as it is a bit of a trek to the station at Newton Aycliffe (or take the bus from the main road) . This was a really good deal via travel zoo as 2 night bed and breakfast, evening meal for 2 with wine and tickets to Beamish were included .
Would not hesitate to use again

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traceycam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review after staying with us I am really pleased to read that you had a great time.
Our hotel benefits from being spacious, we believe that you should have free WIFI when away from home.
The food we serve is mainly homemade on our menu and the chefs take great pride in producing the food served. I do hope you had the opportunity to try one of our sundaes, they are my weakness!
I am so pleased that you explored the area as there is a wealth of areas to visit. Wonderful that you will not hesitate to use again, we would not hesitate to welcome you back and hopefully soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hotel is in good location off A1 for an overnight stay, the room was good size, however we where concerned that the washbasin was in the bedroom not in the bathroom very unusual and not convenient for two.

The food in the restaurant was ok but the service was not great with the staff slow taking orders and clearing tables.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the centre part of the hotel for quiet location
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkie186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traceycam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Thank you for your review after staying with us. Good to read that you found your bedroom to be of a good size, all our bedroom s are a good size to give you room to move around and ensure you are comfortable.
The washbasin is in a separate designed area, we have currently started a re furbishment and our wash basins will be enclosed within the bathroom.
Sorry that service was not as fast as it should be, we are in the process of giving training to speed up service.
I do hope you will return to visit us again and in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Just returned from a stay on a Travel Zoo deal - 2 nights bed and breakfast with 3 course dinner on the first night + bottle of wine and 2 tickets for the Beamish Museum - £118 for 2 -- absolute bargain!!!! This is a good standard hotel rooms are large with shower and toilet and strangely wash basin in main bedroom area never come across this before but it was fine. The king size bed was firm but comfortable, nice large tv, iron and ironing board in room - bonus, tea/coffee making facilities and free wifi what else could you need? Only complaint about the room was that it was very warm the shower room was hot it had a heated towel rail that stayed on all the time so it was really hot in there as there was no window so only way to let heat escape was to leave the door open which made the bedroom even hotter. The only other thing was that the room smelt really badly of smoke someone had obviously been smoking quite a lot in there even though it was meant to be a non smoking room. The food was excellent and plentiful. Good choice on the evening menu - very well presented, hot and tasty didn't have our first choice of desert but enjoyed our alternative. There was plenty on offer at breakfast, buffet style, fruit, yoghurts, cereals and full cooked breakfast, fruit juice. Tea/coffee, toast was by request and brought to your table. The hotel is just off the A1 we had a room facing the car park and it was quiet. Not much around the hotel to do there's a McDonalds on the same site as the hotel and a petrol station. We made use of the Beamish tickets on the Friday and it took us about 20 minutes by car to get there. This is well worth a visit old villages and town set out and you get around by old trams or buses. It would have been nice if there had been more authentically dressed characters around the place telling us about everything don't know if it was because it was a Friday and out of season. We will certainly look out for Aston Hotels in the future :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank p0rtlandsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traceycam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we very much appreciate your feedback. It is good to read that you took the benefit of one of our value breaks which you found to be excellent.

We do take a pride in the hotel and the service which we offer and I am really pleased you enjoyed your break.
I do apologise that your room had a smell of smoke, all areas in the hotel are non smoking and we do try to ensure this happens.
I will certainly ask the team to bring to my attention should another incident arise so I can stop the person responsible.

We do hope you return and soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Excellent two night stay with bed, breakfast, evening meal and Beamish Museum tickets. Hotel ideally situated for touring the Durham area.
Rooms are spacious and clean and despite being close to the motorway, extremely peacefull.
Excellent food served, with a good a range of choices.
All staff were helpful and friendly during our stay.
Wouldn't hesitate to visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cynergyX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traceycam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for placing your review after staying with us. We do try to give you the best value with a comfortable stay and good food.
We could not ask for better than being a braw hotel! Looking forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Aycliffe
3.0 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
804 reviews
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Darlington Hotel
Travelodge Darlington Hotel
#4 of 21 in Darlington
398 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
13.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m

Address: Newton Park, Coatham Mundeville | Newton Aycliffe, Newton Aycliffe DL1 3NL, England (Formerly Aston Hotel Darlington)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Newton Aycliffe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Aycliffe
Price Range: $61 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m Newton Aycliffe, County Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing