We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Aycliffe
Reviewed June 12, 2008

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night in order to attend a funeral. I had to check out before the funeral but the staff allowed me to use an unoccupied room to change my formal clothes both before and after. This was very generous of them and what sticks in my mind most.

The property is on the outskirst of Darlington but very convenient by road. The travel lodge type style is typical. Breakfast (incl) is buffet and hearty. Rooms are generous and the executive at £10 more is very large.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank oilman108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (671)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

649 - 655 of 671 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2008

This is a typical motorway stop over characterless place.
From the drab outside you enter a miserable reception area and when you get to the corridors and rooms if you weren't feeling sick before you entered the place you might feel it then.The top of the walls are painted mushy pea green and the bottom half bright blue this wonderful colour scheme is also in the bedrooms and although I had an executive room which was large it had about as much character as a prison cell.The cheap fake wood furniture, the cigarette burn in the net curtain and the small holes in the bedcover and the grey towels did nothing to cheer me up.The room although non-smoking smelt of smoke.There were several things wrong in the room a reading light needing a new light bulb and a tv remote that worked spasmodically and a sink plug that refused to budge until Kevin the maintenance man came to help and he was the most cheerful thing about this place.I had real trouble with my room key needing 3 goes at re-programming it, it took about 12 attempts each time to get the key to work! The receptionist said it was probably because I had put it near a mobile phone, well maybe I did on one occasion but not the other times, a warning on the folder that the key was put in about anything that might affect the use of the key would have been useful.
Breakfast table was not laid up properly, teaspoons and butter missing and as we were in the first wave of people breakfasting this was not good.Breakfast was OK if you like a school canteen style help yourself job of luke warm fare along with the luke warm attitude of the staff.
There were not many good things to say about this place except the shower was fantastic and the bed comfortable.The staff while not rude were not welcoming or particularly helpful when there were problems (except Kevin) What a poor show for a hotel when the maintenance man is the best thing about a place!
At £90 per night I would have expected better than this and if I hadn't needed a room in a rush as I was going to a funeral would have gone elsewhere.This place was probably worth only half that.

I would highly recommend The County on the village green in Aycliffe for a meal.Superb food, service with a smile and the hightlight of a depressing experience in Darlington.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Groupy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2007

This is the second time we've stayed at this hotel and would have no reservation in recommending the hotel for a stopover. Both times we've stayed while attending the Superbike racing at Croft.

Booked online through the hotel website but didn't receive an e-mail confirmation so had to call the hotel to confirm they had my booking. Not sure why I was then phoned 3 times in the week before our stay to check I was still coming - even after I left a message confirming. This happened last year as well. Maybe they have a problem with people not turning up!

First time round we ate at the hotel on one night. Food was ok but not particularly inspiring and limited choice - especially for vegetarians. After that we ate in Durham which has a good variety of restaurants. Had great meals at both Saddlers and Hide.

Breakfast buffet is average but fine for what it does. Room was clean and reception staff efficient enough. Shower is the selling point for me though - absolutely fabby - full power shower with little seated bit. Great for warming you up after a damp day at the racing.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wildcat2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2007

This hotel is great, large rooms, all the amenities that you would expect including a good dining room with great breakfast. Had dinner there one night and although not an extensive menu it was good and saved going out in the cold! None of the locals I met had heard of this place but apparently it has been renamed lately. Read somewhere that somebody thought it was noisy but we didn't hear any noise, the staff were all helpful and the room rates were reasonable.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDarlington, Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2007

Dear Guest
Thank you for such positive feedback regarding your recent stay here at the Aston Hotel Darlington
Your comments will be passed onto the team.
Thank you once more

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2006

lovely staff, clean rooms, lovely meal, buffet breakfast lots to choose, good value hotel

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank scottishGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2006

I take back everything I said before - this place has deteriorated since the last stay.
Front desk staff don't seem to know the system and offer no real help at all.
Once again I had been allocated the wrong room and was told 'it couldn't be changed' - I had specifically booked a non-smoking executive room and was given a standard smoking room.
The air con was permanently on hot.
The tv remote control didn't work at all.
Service in the bistro has deteriorated - table was not laid up properly - service was slow and I was given the wrong dish twice!!
General fabric of the hotel is getting shabby.

Give this place a miss - I will!!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BusTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2006

Booked over the internet with their own site but arrived to find they had no record of it despite me having the booking reference. Luckily they had a family room and the receptionist was very efficient and pleasant.

Room was very nicely decorated and very clean, with plenty of room. Good shower and lighting, although there was no "welcome pack" in the room or any other guest information and I'll never understand why some hotels don't put a menu in the room to tempt you!

We had dinner and the food was very bad value. Would probably have been ok in a cafe but at 4* prices you expect 4* food. Chips were described as homemade but were clearly frozen, although steak was cooked as requested. Chicken curry was sent back as the chicken was terrible quality. Staff were all very pleasant and helpful although some more training is required as our waiter didn't know the wine list, or what was available, and had to ask what the specials were and then what the soup was.

Also, the hotel takes coach parties so make sure you book dinner even if the hotel appears to be deserted.

Great night's sleep followed by an excellent breakfast. Good choice, all nice and fresh and the service was absolutely spot on.

Very good value, especially if you are staying with kids, they just need to sort their booking system out and have another look at their dinner offerings.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Moonchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Aycliffe
0.5 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
817 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
3 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Darlington Hotel
Travelodge Darlington Hotel
#4 of 21 in Darlington
417 reviews
4 mi away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Croft Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m

Address: Newton Park, Coatham Mundeville | Newton Aycliffe, Newton Aycliffe DL1 3NL, England (Formerly Aston Hotel Darlington)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Newton Aycliffe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Aycliffe
Price Range: $52 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m Newton Aycliffe, County Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing