We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel , wonderfully cooked food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Aycliffe
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel , wonderfully cooked food”
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Came here on a National Holidays mystery weekend. Best part of the weekend was this hotel . Very clean , very helpfull staff , very good food. Nice selection of home cooked food served by helpfull staff . Will use this hotel again and highly recommend it.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank driffield1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traceycam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your review after staying with us recently. It is great to read that your stay with us was indeed the best part of your weekend.
We do try our best to give the best possible standards and service, it looks like thats what we achieved for you.

I am pleased that you will be returning to stay again, we look forward to greeting you. Thank you for recommending us.

Why not follow us on our social media sites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    229
    77
    22
    10
See reviews for
67
307
26
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Rooms were nice with a massive king size bed and a really powerful shower and Wi-Fi worked very well
Food in the restaurant is really good and the service excellent - nothing was too much trouble
Breakfasts were really good, self service and fresh coffee not like some of the hotels
A really nice touch is a pot of coffee by the door so that you can take one "to go"

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side away from the busy road, it makes a big difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank curzonparkboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traceycam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review after staying with us. We do pride ourselves on the facilities of the hotel.
We believe that you should have a bedroom of good standard and size to relax while staying with us. With a power shower that will wake you up on a morning before the breakfast which will set you up for the day. Reading your feedback it seems that happened
When staying away from home we recognise that WIFI is essential and that is why our WI FI is complimentary.
The restaurant has alot of homemade dishes on the menu, i do find that the desserts are my weakness! i do hope you had the opportunity to try one.
Your review has been passed onto the team and we are very pleased. We look forward to your return to stay with us, your coffee to go will be waiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

bargain break,food was very good,staff great,this is a modern commercial hotel but dont let this put you off its a great little place with excellent friendly staff and lots to see and do in this area.we will certainly use it again.top marks!!!

Room Tip: try museum in hartlepool,hms trincomalle
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxine18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traceycam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for writing this great review. We do try to give you the best value when staying with us, while receiving the best possible standards of service and it seems we have achieved that!
There certainly is plenty to do in this area, you must return and visit Durham City Cathedral or Beamish museum they are highly recommended.
Your comments have been passed on to the team and they were very well received. We look forward to your return and soon

Why not follow us on our social media sites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Receptionist was very welcoming & helpful - asking if we wanted to book a table for dinner & if we wanted a wake up call & newspaper in the morning. At the evening meal the young lady who took our order gave excellent service & recommended a meal to me- which was excellent. All staff we saw were very polite & helpful. Our 2 night break included 2 tickets to Beamish Open air Museum which we really enjoyed. The food, service, room & staff were very good & we would definately stay there again. Our room was very comfortable & the facilities in it were very good. Top marks to everyone who works there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traceycam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to place your review after your recent stay with us. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We pride ourselves on the hotel and the service we give. Our Brasserie has a lot of homemade dishes on the menu, we have just placed some new dishes on too, you must return to try some.
The Beamish break is very popular and a great day out. I can also highly recommend Durham City, Raby Castle and surrounding areas to visit.
Having passed your comments on i can say that our team are thrilled.
We do hope to see you again and soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth,Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Mum, special needs daughter and i stayed here unfortunately just overnight as we were attending a concert in newcastle on the 15th december our arrival part of a coach party from north east scotland arrived and were quickly allocated our rooms no delays, we had a lovely twin and double room which were very spacious,clean and very comfortable we had a light meal before we got ready and the waiting and bar staff were excellant and the food was good. breakfast was a filling full english excellant again. Waiting staff were very quick at seeing to your needs. our departure to wasnt pushy like some places the whole experience was very good just a shame it was just one night

Room Tip: room 205 has a nice quite outlook onto the carpark with fields beyond i was in it 219 is specially a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cuddles1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traceycam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review after staying with us recently. Your comments have been very well received, we pride ourselves on the hotel and the service which we give.

All our bedrooms are a good size with room to move around when staying. In Brasserie 59 the lite bite menu has a lot of homemade dishes on and it sounds like breakfast set you up for the day.
There has been very good feedback for the Andre Rieu concert, we have the benefit of being in a good location for the surrounding area and events.
We do hope to see you again and soon to explore the rest of what this area has to offer. Why not follow us on our social media sites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

From walking across the entrance booking in to booking out my experience was excellent. The Rooms spacious, well appointed, the huge King sized bed very comfortable. The shower was the best I have ever come across with a heated shower room floor. The food was well presented, the breakfast although busy was a delight. There were all the usual amenity’s TV, hospitality tray, even free Wifi, I can highly recommend this hotel, and found nothing negative at all.
The Hotel is situated in a quiet location just off the A1 only a short hop from Darlington and Durham, ideally situated for visits to either location or indeed a stop off for a longer journey further afield.

Room Tip: My room on 2nd floor was very quiet, no noise from adjoining rooms or indeed the road. The lift was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison190813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traceycam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to place your review after your recent stay with us. It is great to read that you found your stay to be excellent. When staying with us your comfort and a good nights sleep is at the forefront.
We do have the benefit of having a hotel which has space so you can move around. The power showers are very well received and they will wake you up on a morning!
The menu in Brasserie 59 boasts alot of homemade dishes which change on a regular basis. I am so pleased to read that you found our breakfast to be a delight.
When you are away from home you should be able to keep in touch without a hefty bill, thats why our WIFI is complimentary.
Our location means that there are lots of places to visit within a short radius. You really must return and explore the area. Hope to see you again and soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level 6 Contributor
575 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Based on some positive Tripadvisor reports I took the option of saving some money and using the Aston Hotel to subsidise a special evening at Rockcliffe Hall. The room was spacious and clean with a decent shower room. The bed was comfortable and the hotel suprisingly quiet; not in a deserted way-just not noisy. Coffee making facilities were good and the staff were prepared to provide top ups. We did spend a fair bit at Rockcliffe so the fact that we could pop down the McD's next door for breakfast was also a bonus feature.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traceycam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your review after your recent stay with us. It is great to read that you were indeed pleasantly surprised. Our Hotel does have spacious rooms, king size beds and great showers. When the hotel was built your comfort, sleep and good value were at the forefront.
The hotel keeps noise to a minimum as it benefits from triple glazing to again aid a comfortable sleep.
I think that you missed out on one of our great breakfasts the following morning, this would have set you up for the day ahead.
We do hope you will return and soon, but remember to book breakfast!
Follow us on our social media sites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Aycliffe
0.5 mi away
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
Hall Garth Hotel & Country Club
#1 of 1 in Coatham Mundeville
770 reviews
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner
3.0 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Blackwell Grange Hotel
Blackwell Grange Hotel
#8 of 21 in Darlington
813 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
4.0 mi away
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m

Property: Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
Address: Newton Park, Coatham Mundeville | Newton Aycliffe, Newton Aycliffe DL1 3NL, England (Formerly Aston Hotel Darlington)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Newton Aycliffe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Aycliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m Newton Aycliffe, County Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing