We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Manse
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Washington A1 M Northbound(Washington)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Washington A1M Southbound(Washington)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$40
$38
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel(Washington)(Great Value!)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ravensworth Arms(Gateshead)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angel View Inn(Gateshead)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street(Chester-le-Street)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveler rating
3
4
4
1
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
4
4
1
4
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 16 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Thank you for a most pleasany and comfortable stay, the room we had (room2) very clean, had everything we needed, the Old Manse is highley recommended, see you next year. Denise & John from Fish Hoek, South Africa

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilary f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I was here for over a week in May .With the eXception of the Lady at breakfast time , this place was one of the worst places i have ever stayed , SHAME realy because it would be very good with alot of UPDATING , BEDS,MINNUTE TVs,GRUBBY DECOR , GRUBBY BEDDING,OUTDATED FURNITURE i could go on and on . Abit of investment and it could be sound but as it stands i would never go back again , P.S anotha B&B CLAIMING TO HAVE WIFI IN ROOMS NOT !!!!!!!!!!!! So annoying come on folks its 2012 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Take ear plugs with you because all the cars have CRAZY NOISY exhausts buzzing around all nite !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barto440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

The staff are friendly and accommodating. There is a lounge you can use and you're also able to use the dining room (we brought a takeaway back having arrived late). The room had a dvd player as well as a TV.

The guest house is easy to find - well, at least it was with our SatNav! The car park is behind the property.

Breakfast is a selection of cereals, orange juice, yoghurt, and toast and jam. Cooked breakfasts are available at additional cost.

Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Larklight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Had to make my excuses and could not sleep due to filthy bedding that clearly had not been changed with hairs and stains on sheets and pillows and the room was really grubby. The lady who welcomed me was very pleasant though

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveStocking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

have just returned from a 2nt stay, bedding and towels were clean but paintwork, curtains, furniture all need a good overhall. Wires and extension cables all over the room,sockets overloaded although they were hidden under the bed and behind the furniture. Shower was clean but carpet in the bathroom and general lack of upkeep made it very unpleasant. Had we not of been visiting family and only using this to sleep would not have stayed. Such a shame because the lady who provided breakfast was so lovely and had the room been of some sort of standard would have returned, as it is avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kate c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews