We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The OLD EVERYTHING”
Review of The Old Manse

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Manse
Ranked #1 of 1 Birtley B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The OLD EVERYTHING”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I was here for over a week in May .With the eXception of the Lady at breakfast time , this place was one of the worst places i have ever stayed , SHAME realy because it would be very good with alot of UPDATING , BEDS,MINNUTE TVs,GRUBBY DECOR , GRUBBY BEDDING,OUTDATED FURNITURE i could go on and on . Abit of investment and it could be sound but as it stands i would never go back again , P.S anotha B&B CLAIMING TO HAVE WIFI IN ROOMS NOT !!!!!!!!!!!! So annoying come on folks its 2012 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Take ear plugs with you because all the cars have CRAZY NOISY exhausts buzzing around all nite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barto440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
4
5
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

The staff are friendly and accommodating. There is a lounge you can use and you're also able to use the dining room (we brought a takeaway back having arrived late). The room had a dvd player as well as a TV.

The guest house is easy to find - well, at least it was with our SatNav! The car park is behind the property.

Breakfast is a selection of cereals, orange juice, yoghurt, and toast and jam. Cooked breakfasts are available at additional cost.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Larklight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Had to make my excuses and could not sleep due to filthy bedding that clearly had not been changed with hairs and stains on sheets and pillows and the room was really grubby. The lady who welcomed me was very pleasant though

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveStocking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Birtley hotels

merseyside
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

have just returned from a 2nt stay, bedding and towels were clean but paintwork, curtains, furniture all need a good overhall. Wires and extension cables all over the room,sockets overloaded although they were hidden under the bed and behind the furniture. Shower was clean but carpet in the bathroom and general lack of upkeep made it very unpleasant. Had we not of been visiting family and only using this to sleep would not have stayed. Such a shame because the lady who provided breakfast was so lovely and had the room been of some sort of standard would have returned, as it is avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
102 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We stayed a couple of nights in the annexe to the main building and were made to feel very much at home. We had an excellent double room with large, comfortable bed and spacious shower room. Everything was provided, including face flannels and dressing gowns, hair dryer, shampoos, skin car products etc. Just a few changes would have brought the accommodation close to perfection, like re-siting the light switch in the en-suite nearer the door, providing an electric shaver point (in our case, useful for an electric toothbrush) and sorting out the TV reception problems - but these were minor issues. We did appreciate the free wi-fi. The cold breakfast was good and overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We would definitely return. Birtley isn't much of a place and the options for eating out seem limited, as they are at nearby Chester-le-Street, though here there is a nice Italian restaurant called Da Vinci. However, the location of The Old Manse is conveneniently near the A1 and the Angel of the North and Newcastle itself is minutes away by car.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OscarVII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birtley
1.1 mi away
Campanile Hotel Washington
Campanile Hotel Washington
#6 of 6 in Washington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington
Holiday Inn Washington
#4 of 6 in Washington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
William IV Hotel
William IV Hotel
#6 of 8 in Chester-le-Street
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Lambton Worm
The Lambton Worm
#1 of 8 in Chester-le-Street
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
2.5 mi away
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#1 of 3 in Washington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Manse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Manse

Property: The Old Manse
Address: The Manse Station Lane | nr Chester-Le-Street, Birtley DH3 1DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Birtley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Birtley
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Old Manse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing