We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary treat”
Review of Staffield Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Staffield Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirkoswald
Certificate of Excellence
Tyne and Wear
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Anniversary treat”
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Stayed for 3 nights in the butler loft apartment. All we wanted was a quiet relaxing stay and that's exaclty what we got.
The quality of the apartment was outstanding from the jaccuzzi bath to the fluffly bath robes and towels.
Would definately reccommend this accommodation to anyone wanting a get away from it all short break.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HWesto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    31
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
84
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2010

Beautiful area, but very busy, we had a lot of difficulty finding parking places.

It is a half hour run to the nearest lake Ullswater. and an hour to Windermere, which was further away than we thought.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank boniface555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donaghadee Co Down
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

My wife and I spent a week here - everything about Staffield Hall was great - we stayed in Lady Tower - very comfortable. We had our car and spent every day exploring the beautiful area - would thoroughly reccomend Kyloes restaurants/bar/grill a father and son venture - excellent food and reasonable prices - We certainly intend to return - owners Michael & Marie even arranged great weather during our stay - Now Thats Service !!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIKRIK60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2010

We came for a relaxing break & that it definitely was!
The accommodation was very clean upon arrival.
Quality at a reasonable price, would definitely stay again & recommend!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank getaway71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2010

We visited Staffield Hall for a long weekend in April 2010. Prior to our visit, the service we received from the owners Michael and Maria was fantastic. Easy booking and payment procedure and clear and easy to follow instructions for our stay.

The purpose of our visit to Cumbria was predominently to visit the Lake District. That was probably our only mistake, although it doesn't look too far on the map, it's actually quite a long way and with the windy roads in the Lakes, it took us quite a time to travel anywhere.

Staffield Hall itself is simply stunning. The Hall is accessed by a long drive and just at the entrance to the hall, as others have said, there is a battered old caravan at the side of the road. It didn't bother us as we weren't staying there !

On gaining access to the hall, there is a grand hall with a fabulous staircase - simply stunning, and the rest of the hall didn't fail to please either.

We stayed in the Butlers Loft, at the very top of the hall. The apartment itself was nicely decorated, well laid out and very well equipped with everything you would expect and more. The whole apartment was spotless and we couldn't fault a single thing. The jacuzzi bath was great after a day of walking in the rain ! The kitchen was well laid out and again equipped we everything we needed and more.

All in all a fabulous long weekend. We wouldn't hesitate to stay at Staffield Hall again, although not if we were heading for the Lakes as it was just a little too far out for us.

Alison and Mark

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lil_alice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2010

We have just returned from a wonderful three night break at Staffield Hall after celebrating our daughter's 40th birthday. We were a party of 17 including young children and the venue was just perfect. The caterers that the owners of the Hall recommended
for dinner on Saturday evening were very good .We found the lounge and dining room which had log fires , to be a very welcoming and comfortable place to spend the evening amongst family and friends. The apartments were all tastefully furnished with beautiful curtains to each room. We would have no hesitation about returning in the future and found the owners to be very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youngatheart60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2010

I have just read the last review with horror and felt I should give our comments on the apartments at Staffield Hall having just returned from our second visit in the last 12 months. Our first visit was New Year 09 when we visited with friends and had two apartments one of which was Heaven Field which we thought was well fitted out and furnished, spacious and a joy to stay in. The second apartment (name escapes me) ditto.

This year we had King Oswald and Butler's Loft and were again thrilled with both apartments. We have very high standards and could not find a fault in either although we had a problem in Kind Oswald when the bathroom towell rail stopped working. One quick call to Michael and Marie the owners and it was fixed the same day while we were out walking with no mess, no fuss and no interference to us. We have also had a peek in all the other apartments and I can guarantee the same high standard throughout.

Yes there is an old caravan placed just before you enter the grounds which must belong to the property next door but this did not bother us as we couldn't see it from Staffield Hall anyway. The staircase hall is absolutely stunning and takes your breath away with its beautifully polished woodwork, huge stained glass window and spotless cream carpeting.

We love the idea that there is no management around to bother us but if you listen carefully you will find the housekeeper there most days and she is a brilliant cheerful lady who loves the place and will do anything she can to help you if you ask. In any old property you will always find little bits of things that don't quite fit or bits that need attention but that is the charm of old properties and if you don't like this then I suggest you stay in new properties.

I don't really want everyone to find out about the gem that Staffield Hall is as I want to be able to go again and not find it all booked up, but to be fair to the owners I had had to write this review.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EastYorkshireFlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkoswald
8.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
7.2 mi away
Roundthorn Country House
19.2 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
469 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Whitbarrow Hotel
The Whitbarrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrier
350 reviews
22.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staffield Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staffield Hall

Property: Staffield Hall
Address: Staffield Hall Penrith, Kirkoswald CA10 1EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Kirkoswald
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirkoswald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Staffield Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staffield Hall is located in the Eden Valley in Cumbria just outside the boundary of the Lake District National Park. We have easy access to the M6 motorway and to the north Lakes of the LAke district.Staffield hall was completely refurbished in 2006 to provide eight 5 beautiful apartments which are graded 5 stars by Visit Britain.The apartments are designed to mix the traditional features of a yester year with contempory and modern comfort and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Staffield Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staffield Hall Kirkoswald, Cumbria
Staffield Hall Hotel Kirkoswald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing