We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic break”
Review of Staffield Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Staffield Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirkoswald
Certificate of Excellence
Ormskirk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic break”
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a long weekend in the Lady Tower as we had our Border Collie with us. It was a fabulous apartment, and the little extras like bath robes made it even better. The location is lovely and we'd definitely recommend it.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolfenmill, Owner at Staffield Hall, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. For us having some properties that can accept a pet is important. A pet needs a holiday sometimes too !! Thanks for your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    31
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
80
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed for a week in the Lady Tower apartment and were delighted with the exceptionally high standard of the accommodation. Well fitted kitchen, smart bathroom and spacious rooms. The bed was particularly comfortable. As dog owners we appreciated such a smart and well equipped apartment it's very unusual to have the best with dog in tow. Jackie the housekeeper has extremely high standards and all ink all our stay was most enjoyable and very relaxing. We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: I imagine all are of the same high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Topcat2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolfenmill, Owner at Staffield Hall, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Great you all enjoyed your break - dog need holidays too! Staffield is very tranquil and a super place to recharge - When you need another break you know how to find us. Thanks for staying!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire uk
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I was so looking forward to this based on previous reviews.What a shame the hot water was either absent or inadequate,and the heating was also poor.The old fashioned fire in the lounge with its living flame made such a noise that we had to turn up the TV,I would love to recommend it but unfortunately I can't.We did contact the owners regarding the water but they did not get back to us until late in the day and as we were out the problem wasn't rectified.
A lovely spot but let down by the above.On the positive the house is amazing and the rest of the furnishing is of good quality.We met the housekeeper on our last morning and she was very apologetic and delightful.

Room Tip: Probably wouldn't book the Lady tower until heating and water sorted
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jane13CheshireUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolfenmill, Owner at Staffield Hall, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your review on Staffield Hall, Yes the venue is rather special. Regarding the hot water the time clock had lost its setting, we think because of a power cut the day before your arrival. You emailed us on your return home and said ' We sent you a message regarding this in the morning,thank you for your telephone call which we received whilst out in the afternoon.I would have phoned back but we were out until late'.
We did talk about how to switch the clock to manual and as you didn't call we understood you'd worked this out. We did call the property the following day but couldn't reach you.
Extra heaters are always available at the hall, so just phone if you need one, no problem and no need to feel cool.
Lady Tower had just been decorated before your stay - we think it looks great, hope you did too.
Thanks for staying with us. Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

We visited Staffield Hall using a discount offer. Overall we had a lovely stay. The apartment was very spacious, clean and very well equipped.

A few little grips....
1) We stayed two nights and in that time I must have had to spray kill at least 12 flies. By the end of the short stay there were dead flies all over the floor. Probably just a factor of it being a new season and the mild weather the week before.

2) I paid £60 supplement for my 3 year old, but as you check yourself in ands out, if I hadn't mentioned anything no one would have been the wiser.

3) Hot water is limited. One jacuzzi bath and the hot water is finished.

But overall a lovely stay, especially at the discounted rate.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SB78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolfenmill, Owner at Staffield Hall, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Hi, great to hear you had a good stay at Staffield Hall and thanks for your feed back too.
Sorry about the flies, I think you are right it would have been a seasonal thing and with the weather having come warm.
The offer we had was exceptional, pleased you could take advantage of that. The extra charge was because you choose to stay in the larger property which was not a part of the promotion deal so we made this available to you for the modest supplement which give access to a property with an additional bedroom for your child - the other properties have just the single bedroom! ( a note to others...please don't try to sneak in any extra guests as 'removal' might offend ;-) We are always aware of the numbers staying in each property).
The hot water supply to each of our properties is a usual domestic size system and is set to recharge 3 times a day but if this becomes depleted the meanwhile simply use the boost button, instructions are in the guide folder in the property.
I'll pass your comments on how clean and well equipped the property was to our housekeeper, she'll be pleased too to hear you enjoyed yourselves.
Best regards - Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I sent this to the property owner a week ago, thinking that my constructive comments might have evoked a reply. Alas he doesn't appear to like criticism.
It's a well appointed holiday let, bar the problems I highlight below, but it's not a five star hotel or anything near a three star. Everything is clean and as you would expect, bathroom immaculate apart from the Jacuzzi stinking. Heating was poor, and for the faint hearted sometimes of the year I suspect you are all alone in the hall. Locals told me he has been trying to sell some of the apartments but they have been to view them and consider them overpriced.

Nevertheless we enjoyed our stay. Would I go back. Definately a NO here. It's just not quite as we would have liked and the lack of response from the owners did the trick for me. Tell them it's great and they love you say it as you find it and they ignore you and think you are another ill informed tourist Believe me I have stayed length and breadth of the world and this place is a good let, but could do better. Read the letter I sent to the owner, below.


Thank you for the past three days we found the accommodation to be very comfortable. It is without doubt the best self catering we have ever stopped at over the past 40 years and you are to be proud of that. It is certainly a 5 star holiday self catering let.

My wife and I both enjoyed our stay in the well equipped apartment. Thank you for the prompt attention to the electrical fault. Apparently all the locals were informed that the power would be off from around 9.30 and back on by mid afternoon. We met a couple of locals walking in the grounds who informed us of this fact.

On the down side:

We found the apartment to be rather cold at night, in fact my wife was cold every night. The night storage heaters were largely cold after 6.00 pm.

The Jacuzzi gave of a most disgusting smell of foul drain water when we used it once, so much so that we turned it off and took a much cleansing shower to remove the awful smell.........it looks as though foul water is remaining in the pumps, also the water coming up was grey black, not very nice!!

The fire alarm beeped almost all night perhaps indicative of a battery change.

The luxury gowns did not fit either myself or my wife. She is standard size 12 and I am only medium sized chest!!

When I emptied the bins, using the plastic bags you provided I noted that somebody had not done this and the dustbins had loose foul smelling rubbish in there. It could not have been foxes as the bin lid was on tight. I hope you don't think this was me, as we are most particular of wrapping all waste for the bins and recycling bottles etc.

We left the accommodation as we found it, which was in a most acceptable state. Thank you for the tea tray and milk you left us it was a most welcome gesture.

I hope you find the above comments useful and as you say in the brochure if we find anything not quite to our liking we should tell you.

Room Tip: The one we had the Garden of Eden was very small in the bedroom with no heating. Everything else OK...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geoffkayk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolfenmill, Owner at Staffield Hall, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest -
We did reply to your first Email which you sent when you returned home after your visit and your subsequent emails too, in this first Email you said;-

'Thank you for the past three days we found the accommodation to be very comfortable. It is without doubt the best self catering we have ever stopped at over the past 40 years and you are to be proud of that. It is certainly a 5 star holiday self catering let'.

We spoke with you' twice' on the phone during your stay due to a regional power cut and we had been assured by you at that time that everything was in order regarding your stay, you reported no issues to us.

But then further down in your email you list some problems about your stay ??
why did you not mention these whilst you were with us and when we had our conversations with you ? - all of the points your later raised could have been put right and we would have been in your good books 100%

As things turn out although you started off by praising us you now go on to say in your review
'it's not a five star hotel or anything near a three star' - well you are correct there because we are NOT a hotel, we are a collection of 5 star graded self catering apartments. The grading between a hotel and self catering provide for different areas of criteria and we never seek to advertise ourselves in any way as a hotel.

Your later emails and review have left us confused to say the least.

Now, of particular note to us, is that we had ourselves stayed in the apartment ' The Garden of Eden' checking out on the day of your arrival. We do this from time to time to keep ourselves on top of things, rotating around all the apartments one at a time. For us;

The bath robes fitted (and l'm tadge over six foot).

The Jacuzzi was spotless and...

We were comfortably warm in the evening.

I didn't check the outside bin - but we have now.

Since your comments we have checked the Jacuzzi again and all is still appears to be perfect. We will once again revisit your points though to by absolutely sure.
Any how, thanks for your stay and a message to any others thinking of staying at Staffield (or anywhere for that matter)
If you have a cause for concern - mention it whilst your there and if possible we will do what we can to help resolve matters. If we don't know there is a problem then we cannot fix it , can we?
Best regards - Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We have just returned after spending 3 nights at Staffield Hall, in the Lady Tower apartment. From the moment you enter through the main doors you say 'yes' this is perfect. The main staircase is a little piece of the past history, leading to our apartment. All very well maintained and decorated in good taste. Everything is very clean with everything you need. Full marks to Jackie, the housekeeper, she keeps everything top spec. nothing too much trouble for her and very friendly. Would definately recommend a stay here especially if you like peace and quiet.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda13whitlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We have stayed here a few times now over the last few years. Over the time we have stayed in different rooms and they are all as fantastic as each other. The rooms are kept in perfect condition, the bathrooms and kitchens are all a high spec.

We will most definitely be staying here again and again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessb2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkoswald
8.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
7.2 mi away
Roundthorn Country House
19.2 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
6.4 mi away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
16.6 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
#1 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staffield Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staffield Hall

Property: Staffield Hall
Address: Staffield Hall Penrith, Kirkoswald CA10 1EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Kirkoswald
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirkoswald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Staffield Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staffield Hall is located in the Eden Valley in Cumbria just outside the boundary of the Lake District National Park. We have easy access to the M6 motorway and to the north Lakes of the LAke district.Staffield hall was completely refurbished in 2006 to provide eight 5 beautiful apartments which are graded 5 stars by Visit Britain.The apartments are designed to mix the traditional features of a yester year with contempory and modern comfort and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Staffield Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staffield Hall Kirkoswald, Cumbria
Staffield Hall Hotel Kirkoswald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing