We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hidden Holiday Escape”
Review of Staffield Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Staffield Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirkoswald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2008

Staffield Hall has to be seen to be believed. Inside this old gothic
looking building is the most enormous grand hallway with giant
staircase. The setting is quiet and peaceful and the views across the
terraced gardens and down the Eden Valley are spectacular. Our room on the first floor was clean and modern in style (various landmark hotels I have stayed in London only just seem to be catching up and doing the same styling now). The surrounding hills and countryside are just plain beautiful.The kids had great days out on the steam trains and lakes The owners showed us the very stately luxury ground floor accommodation which is palacial and something very special indeed. We hope to return soon and stay in the Palace downstairs!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank FamilyGuyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 146 of 146 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2007

We didn't enjoy our stay at Staffield Hall. We found the apartment to be quite out dated and not particularly clean. The wireless internet advertised consisted of a wireless hub three floors below our flat meaning we did not get any reception at all. The television was tiny for the room and the grounds are really very limited to a non functioning fountain. Wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank GordonP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2007

We found the service at Staffield Hall to be absolutely appauling. Despite giving our booking over the phone and then confirming it by email, they got our booking wrong. We were forced to leave the residence a day before we were meant to (which was my birthday so we didn't get the booking wrong on the phone as the manager accused us of!). They then charged us for a night that we weren't even there! We were very reasonable and left the residence as soon as we found out about their mistake and still they were very rude and refused to refund us for the extra evening. Truly awful service, Avoid!

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank CharlieW016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffield, Owner at Staffield Hall, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2008

We regret your concerns but you did recieve our confirmation of your booking on several occassions and did not question this with us at all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2007

My partner and I just spent one night in the 'Garden of Eden' apartment at Staffield Hall. Our only complaint was that we were only staying for one night! We are lucky enough to have travelled extensively and stayed in some of the most fantastic hotels around the world - Staffield Hall is up there with my favourites. It combines self-catering with luxury hotel so you get the best of both worlds - great facilities and luxury with the freedom to come and go as you please. The setting is terrific - the views across the gardens and hills (complete with gambolling lambs!) are stunning. The walk across the fields into the village of Kirkoswald is a pleasant one. Like the previous reviewer, I was torn between adding a review here or keeping it to myself but Michael and Marie richly deserve to make a huge success of Staffield Hall. Highly recommended - we can't wait to go back...

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sadey70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2006

Staffield Hall is has been rescued and given a new lease of life. Abandoned and unloved, the current owners have restored the building and converted it into a small number of wonderful holiday apartments. It's location is sublime - views over open fields and rolling hills, the terraced hall gardens with the fells forming a dramatic back drop. All apartments are finished and equipped to a very high standard. The owners have married traditional with contemporary to provide an exceptionally high standard of mod cons and design whilst maintaining the ‘historic’ feel of a Victorian Hall. My partner and I are keen (if amateur) cooks, so a well equipped kitchen is a must - Staffield Hall met the challenge admirably. A plasma screen TV with DVD provided the entertainment for evenings snuggled on the leather sofas. A real treat was the whirlpool bath - just the thing after challenging explorations of the fells and local countryside. The power-shower provided a great morning wake-up after enjoying the fares of the local hostelry too! It's probably important to note that there are 2 pubs within walking distance - both reached by a stroll through a couple of fields. The hall kindly provides a torch, so navigating the fields past dark is possible. The owners of the hall are wonderful - warm, friendly and genuinely dedicated to providing everything you need for the perfect Cumbrian holiday. I have to admit that I had to consider whether or not to include this review on Trip Advisor. The selfish part of me thought it best to keep this gem as secret as possible but altruism won through – the owners deserve the very best of success. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CarolineCCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkoswald
8.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
7.2 mi away
Roundthorn Country House
16.5 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
#1 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
553 reviews
24.1 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
502 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Whitbarrow Hotel
The Whitbarrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrier
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staffield Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staffield Hall

Address: Staffield Hall Penrith, Kirkoswald CA10 1EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Kirkoswald
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirkoswald
Price Range: $74 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Staffield Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staffield Hall is located in the Eden Valley in Cumbria just outside the boundary of the Lake District National Park. We have easy access to the M6 motorway and to the north Lakes of the LAke district.Staffield hall was completely refurbished in 2006 to provide eight 5 beautiful apartments which are graded 5 stars by Visit Britain.The apartments are designed to mix the traditional features of a yester year with contempory and modern comfort and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Staffield Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staffield Hall Kirkoswald, Cumbria
Staffield Hall Hotel Kirkoswald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing