We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay, very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mains Farm Caravan Site
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay, very friendly”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here during our c2c in June. We stayed in their bunkhouse facilities which were basic but did the job very well. A very warm welcome awaits you from Robert and Julie and they will help you with whatever you need. This is the perfect place to stop on the c2c and this farm/site also operates a 'hassle free' c2c package which we did, and would recommend. Lovely location, lovely people, nice accommodation. What more could you want. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
58
33
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Upholland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

After spending a wonderful 4 days here in our caravan May 2011 we have returned to Mains Farm many times since. It's perfect! The the setting, alongside the river Eden, is beautiful. Vans are well spaced in fields next to the farm with views of the countryside. During our stay at Easter we saw 2 lambs born while sitting in our van! Julie and Robert take great pride in their business and work really hard to make your stay enjoyable. The facilities are always spotlessly clean and, as mentioned in another review, have been recently improved. The information room, in one of the barns, has sheets of local walks, all of which we have followed. The 6 mile walk that passes Lacey's caves and the stone circle, Meg and her daughters, is our favourite. Julie's homemade chutneys and marmalades are also a must as is the local pub, The Fetherston Arms. Real ales and great home cooked food. We cannot say a bad word about the site or the area and will be returning for many years to come.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank NicE2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

A group of us camped here while doing the coast to coast. The owners were very friendly and extremely helpful, with booking us a table at the local pub, offering a lift to the pub and advice on the c2c cycling route . The campsite was in a beautiful area and there was plenty of great facilities to use on site. Would definitely recommend staying at this site.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beccy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Well my wife two dogs and I have recently returned from another great time at Mains Farm. Sporting brand new and recently completed washing and showering facilities situated within the main farm buildings and situated adjacent to the orchard camping enclosure. This brings the total number to eleven showers and ten toilets. Also there are 13A socket outlets within the new ladies showering area. Kitchen facilities, microwave and even the use of a washer and dryer are available if needed. A great venue and the nicest of hosts ( Robert and Julie). Whether you are a walker, C2C cyclist, camper or caravanner you really should spend some of you leisure time at The Mains oh and you can even possibly catch a lift the short journey to the village to take in some ale and great food at the pubs. Many Many thanks to the team whom run this site. Top marks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Having been visitors to the Lakes for over 15 years, we are now starting to get tired of the over commercialised towns and well trodden footpaths. That's when we decided to look further afield...
From the perfect location of this caravan site, not only can you access in hardly any time at all the much quieter north east lakes, but you also have superb access to the peaceful Eden valley, and the wild expanse of the Pennines and all the undiscovered, untouched mountains there (definitely worth the hike to high cup nick!). We loved Penrith as a town, and made a trip to Keswick also- a town which has somehow managed to retain its character amid the sprawling developments elsewhere in the national park.
The caravan site itself is set in the fields of the farm, with undisrupted views across the countryside. In this part of the world, rarely do you wake up in such tranquillity (apart from a few bleats from the lambs!)
Nothing seemed too much for Robert and Julie (the friendly owners), and they work hard to keep the toilets and showers immaculately clean. We didn’t have to wait at all for these facilities (unlike many Lake District sites), and it looked as though they were converting another of the farm buildings into even more showers and toilets.
We didn’t stay in the bunk houses, but they looked very comfortable also.
I would recommend this site to anyone: couples, families (a children’s’ play area was evident) and groups. We never want to stay in the national park itself again!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank 12693scruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkoswald
7.3 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Staffield Hall
Staffield Hall
#1 of 1 in Kirkoswald
143 reviews
4.6 mi away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
991 reviews
20.0 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
536 reviews
16.7 mi away
Wild Rose Park
Wild Rose Park
#1 of 4 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mains Farm Caravan Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mains Farm Caravan Site

Property: Mains Farm Caravan Site
Address: Kirkoswald CA10 1DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Kirkoswald
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Kirkoswald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Mains Farm Caravan Site reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mains Farm Caravan Site Kirkoswald, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing