We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fetherston Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkoswald
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Fetherston Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Kirkoswald B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Macclesfield, Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
131 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

After a long "ish" journey to our accommodation in Kirkoswald followed by a lovely walk, we were ready for a hearty meal early evening - we hadn't booked a table and discovered that Friday night they were packed to the rafters, however they went out of their way to find us a table - the locals were very chatty and offered their recommendations on the menu which gave plenty of choices.

The portion sizes were huge - so the down side was that there was no room for any of the delicious looking puddings!.

The staff were very attentive, nothing was too much trouble - the owners and the team deserve a huge pat on the back - many top class restaurants could learn a lesson from the service and quality of food.

Sadly we were too late to reserve a table for Saturday night, booking ahead is highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Mellors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    21
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
55
54
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Now then. Let me compose myself before I start dribbling at the thought of the food that is served here.
I have been here on quite a few occasions now, I often struggle to choose something when I eat out, being veggie n y'all. However I don't feel this is an issue here and the goats cheese and sweet potato pie really is spectacular!
The staff are always friendly and helpful. Average sort of prices.
Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teacup_tiarras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

We visited the Fetherstone Arms a couple of times this weekend and were really impressed with the staff, the beer and the food. We would highly recommend it .... Friendly staff who remember you, excellent food and a great atmosphere.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We were hungry and went straight for one steak and mushroom pie and one venison. Absolutely delicious with plentiful filling which was substantial and delicious. Hubbies tyrell's was just right and my Pinot delicious. Very friendly and keen young staff. Must visit again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Topcat2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

went last Saturday to meet with friends. It was our first visit (although we have tried twice to book ahead recently and it was full). We were impressed from the start with friendly service, a variety of good ales and a warm comfy seating area. Two of us had the steak pie which arrived with freshly baked pastry loaded with tender lean steak chunks, extra gravy on the side, three types of veg and large chunky handcut homemade chips - delicious. the ladies both had the fish pie and gave good reports. Everyone agreed it was way above your average pub meal in quality and reasonably priced. The three lasses serving tables were enthustiastic and friendly too. We will be back very soon. Thanks to all the staff for a memorable evening.

Room Tip: only ate this time
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Englishlakedistrict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

This is our favourite pub in Cumbria, Alan the landlord keeps a great pint and it very easy to chat too, Mike the chef creates some amazing tasting food. Atmosphere is outstanding and the locals will always chat to you.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaAN82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Did not feel welcomed people looking down there noises at us.the staff asking if we where finished when when partner and daughter still eating.the table was not even set for us the cutlery it just got thrown on a plate at us

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kevin6924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kirkoswald hotels
1.1 mi away
Staffield Hall
Staffield Hall
#1 of 1 in Kirkoswald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mains Farm Caravan Site
Mains Farm Caravan Site
#1 of 1 in Kirkoswald
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fetherston Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fetherston Arms

Property: The Fetherston Arms
Address: The Square, Kirkoswald CA10 1DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Kirkoswald
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkoswald
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Fetherston Arms Hotel Kirkoswald
The Fetherston Arms Kirkoswald, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing