We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy inn in lovely village”
Review of The Kings Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Kings Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Good choice of ales, varied choice of food. Not cheap but still pretty reasonable.

Room was small, as inns often are, but the bed was comfy, the room was clean and the shower worked well.

Nice outdoor seating area as well.

Dog-friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
There are newer reviews for The Kings Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 263 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great food, great hosts, great location and really friendly and so reasonable. You won't be disappointed .. We weren't and will definitely be coming back again. Not eaten food like we have here in a long time. Really 5 star.

Room Tip: We had the family room which was great
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaandCliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here for two nights for a wedding nearby. Our room had a very comfortable 4-poster bed and everything we needed, including an en suite. The proprietor was very welcoming and friendly and the whole place has a real warmth about it. The breakfasts were fantastic (you could order almost any hot breakfast combination you can think of, plus self service juices, yoghurts, cereals etc). Burton-in-Kendal is a beautiful little village, the pub sits at its centre on the main road. There's plenty of parking around the back and a good selection behind the bar. Lovely attention to detail from the couple who own the pub - would love to return one day!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

had sunday lunch 23/6 with inlaws and 2 children . nice pub with warm surroundings. several draught hand pull beers on. food was very good. from the large to the small childrens sunday lunch. to the sandwiches for the less hungry but still quite a size. home cooked so there was a wait . average prices for sunday lunch but for the food it was excellent. would return again .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank grantisimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Pleasant village pub. my room was very clean and comfortable, however thre are four flight of stairs to the room and though this did not bother me, though I am past the first flush of youth, guests should be aware. The bar and public rooms are pleasant with a good range of draught beers on sale. The restaurant is cosy and the menu offers an excellent range of mainly locally sourced food. Breakfast was excellent, just the thing to set you up for the day

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAYKAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

A journey from the South Coast to the Highlands required a half way resting place. We used this pub/B&B 2 years ago and was impressed then, hence the return visit. We had a double towards the back of the pub at the top of the stairs and was perfect for our needs. The stairs are a bit steep so might be tricky for some but the landlord offered to help with the suitcases. The room was nice & clean and had a compact ensuite shower room, a wardrobe to hang clothes and bedside drawers with plenty of room. Tea & coffee etc making facilities in the window nook and a folding table as the room was small but not cramped. TV on the wall as well. We both slept well in the comfy bed.The pub itself has a lovely warm welcoming bar and very friendly staff. We stayed for 2 nights and the breakfast was cooked to order with the usual cereals, fruit juice and yoghurt to start. Tea and coffee was available and toast was offered with the breakfast along with jams etc. It was very tasty indeed and the bacon & sausages were not like the stuff you buy in the supermarket at all - all local produce - we saw the butcher turn up which had a local address on the van! The evening meals were again of excellent quality and just the right quantity with the rib steak and pepper & stilton sauce being particularly memorable! The puddings were equally delicious! There was a selection of real ales (Thwaites) on sale along with the usual pub beverages, the ales were kept well. We liked the fact that food was locally sourced (some from the bottom of the garden apparently! The wi-fi wasn't available in all parts of the pub but we came to get away from it all so not really a problem. would stay here again, excellent for visiting the nearby RSPB reserve Leighton Moss - just 4 miles away!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dweendled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My partner was attending a photographic workshop with Aspire so this was the perfect stop over as it is a couple of minutes drive away.
We had Room 5 which is at the top and back of the property so lovely and quiet. Small but perfectly formed. The room is decorated in lovely rich colours which work well with the large four poster bed. Good selection of teas and coffee and hot chocolate in the room. There is a TV but reception on the day we stayed was limited - but it was very cloudy and wet! We also couldn't get wifi to work in the room but these were just minor "issues". The bathroom was snug but it was perfectly clean and had everything you need - nice hot, powerful shower!!
The food in the restaurant in the evening was delicious. All cooked freshly to order with local produce. Good selection of wines - I had a fabulous Pinotage!
Breakfast equally impressive - eggs from the hens in the garden.
Neil and Ann provided a warm welcome and a great knowledge of the area to point you were to go. The rest of the staff were equally lovely and cheerful.
If you are looking for real value for money, a comfy bed and access to a great on-site eaterie and pub that puts you at the gateway to The Lakes then here is your place!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyCat11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burton in Kendal
4.5 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
536 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Burton M6 Northbound
12.4 mi away
Lancaster House
Lancaster House
#1 of 6 in Lancaster
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Redwell Inn
Redwell Inn
#1 of 1 in Arkholme
114 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
2.9 mi away
Pine Lake Resort
Pine Lake Resort
#1 of 9 in Carnforth
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Address: Main Street, Burton in Kendal LA6 1LR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Burton in Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Burton in Kendal
Price Range: $89 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms is situated in the quaint Cumbrian village of Burton-in-Kendal, situated near to the outstanding natural beauty of the Lake District National Park, Yorkshire Dales and the historic city of Lancaster with easy access to the M6 motorway. Previously an old coaching inn as early as 1763, the Kings Arms is a small family run traditional tavern, offering a warm and friendly service with excellent cuisine served in our recently extended restaurant. Dinner in our candle lit dining room is an integral part of the Kings Arms experience; we believe that you, the guest, deserve food of the highest standard, prepared with the finest local ingredients and expertise. We boast 6 well-appointed, en-suite rooms, family room and doubles all furnished in a traditional style with natural warmth and welcoming charm. Here at The Kings Arms, we offer a unique opportunity to enjoy hospitality and service of the highest standard, whilst experiencing the wonders of picturesque Cumbria - the perfect setting for any break. Burton in Kendal is a short distance from The Lake District, The Yorkshire Dales and The Trough of Bowland. The hotel is a perfect base for walkers and cyclists as it is on the Lancashire Cycle way and is surrounded by bay coastal, fell and woodland walks in areas of outstanding natural beauty. Locally their are plenty of activities, such as a number of local fisheries for the angler, the Capernwray Dive Centre, Equestrian and outdoor pursuit centres for those wanting an active break and for those wanting the more leisurely break we are perfectly sited to explore the area and then come back to relax in a traditional coaching inn based in a pretty Cumbrian Village. For those passing through and needing a short stopover the Kings Arms is 5 minutes off the the M6 at Junction 35 or 36 and is an ideal stop over venue for those wishing to break long journeys up to Scotland or down South. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Burton In Kendal, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing