We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Kings Arms
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Redwell Inn(Arkholme)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heversham Hotel(Heversham)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orange Tree Hotel(Kirkby Lonsdale)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Snooty Fox(Kirkby Lonsdale)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveler rating
183
77
10
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
183
77
10
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe barnthe pubspecials boardstayed here for nightshear everythingcask alesonion ringsregular menumain buildingsized bedselection of beersfull englishsunday roastlake districtfish and chipssouthern lakessmall village
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
254 - 259 of 281 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Had a fantastic nights stay at the kings arms. All the way from the efficient check in to the fare well when leaving was top notch. The food served in the bar was great with an excellent choice on the menu as well as the extensive specials board. I had the pork chops. The room we had was spacious and comfy very clean and well presented. The full cooked breakfast was excellently cooked. The two hosts could not do more for you. Do not hesitate to try this fantastic place

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackpoolmanLytham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Imagine a well run friendly country pub. Well, the Kings ticks all the boxes, good quality pub fare, good selection of beers, friendly staff and locals alike. A real pleasure to eat and have a drink in. Will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BYH26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

It's tough to find real English pubs like this these days - lovely old building smothered in flower-baskets, and situated in the centre of a picturesque Lakeland village. We stayed overnight on our journey south from Scotland and received a warm welcome. The room was comfortable and cosy and the food in the restaurant was proper pub food - fresh, local and unpretentious, accompanied by a bottle of wine chosen from a reasonably priced selection. Atmosphere warm and relaxed. Thoroughly recommended!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the second floor and there was no detectable noise from the bustling bar below at all.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suefirstnature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann F, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you so much for lovely comments we are glad you enjoyed your stay. It is a challenge to get things right in an old listed building, it is always work in progress, but we love every creak and groan of it ! We are proud to serve the freshest local food we can, sustainability and provenance matter to us, thank you for recognising this. Kind regards Ann France

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Had a nice evening in this pub, good food, beer and company. Is a bit on the pricey side tho, we were staying at the Burton in Kendal travelodge and it is walkable on a nice, light evening from there, we drove as it was raining. Would recommend this pub.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valueformoney124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann F, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thank you so much for your comments, we often have guests visiting us from Burton Services Travel lodge and we are always appreciative of their comments. We are also happy to drive you back to the lodge if you have walked here. Regards, Ann.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Popped in for a lunch time bar meal and was impressed with the warm welcome and quality pint of Thwaites Wainwright. I had a homemade burger and chips and my wife had fish and chips, both meals were spot on!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SidSticks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann F, Owner at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thanks so much for your review we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit. We work hard to make sure we are a village pub that has a warm welcome, good food and beer within a comfortable atmosphere, Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews