We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Area”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kings Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Kings Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Durham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic Area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

A one night stop at a great local that is an old staging inn.
Room very comfy with all the facilities you would expect, meal ordered was lamb shank, have mentioned this because it was scrummy yummy.
What a great find, and very good value for money, will be back.

Room Tip: They are all good, have a great time
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikondslr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    67
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
35
121
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Having to stay in the travel lodge on the M6 north we just couldn't face the thought of eating the overpriced garbage in the service station. So we asked the receptionist if there was a pub near by. Yes was the reply about 20 mins walk. I must point out that 20 mins became 35 mins and we were beginning to wonder if the walk would be worth it. Alleluia what a quaint and friendly pub it was. As soon as we walked in we were made welcome immediately. The olde worlde charm of the place was an added comfort. There was a good choice on the menu with additional specials on the board. I ordered fish and chips and you could certainly tell it was fresh fish. So juicy and what a great portion. My husband ordered pork which we were told his name but never the less you knew it was fresh local produce. We didnt mind waiting a while as you know its cooked to order. After our meal and a good few wines later the landlord very kindly ran us back to the travel lodge without any charge. What a lovely man. We would recommend this place to anybody and regret that we didnt find it to stay in. I am sure we would have had a lot more comfortable sleep but must say if ever you are traveling up the M6 to call off it is well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathleen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed here in order to attend a wedding at a local hotel further down the road. From the moment we arrived we were acknowledged and looked after like old friends. The room we had (5) was clean and functional with a really comfy bed. The food in the restaurant was wonderful with a wide range of set menu and specials. When Neil and Ann knew we were heading off down the road, they offered to pick us up later so that we could both enjoy a drink. Fabulous, freshly cooked breakfast, bright, colourful non-smoking(!) courtyard and friendly staff. We will be back and we'll be recommending to friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RegularHotelUser70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Me and my wife went in this place for the first time having been past it many times. To gain access you drive through to the back carpark and then you can enter through the back door. Inside it is olde worlde but with not too much copper pans and such like hanging around. It is quaint and feels very homely. There are a couple of quaint rooms where one can feel snug and relaxed and then there is a main restaurant. The menu is what you would expect from a country pub/restaurant: enough choices for everyone and then you can also select from the specials board. The lady behind the bar, Natalie" made us feel welcome and explained some of the items on the menu and was very proficient. Our meals came quickly and was freshly made using quality ingreadients. If we where to be ultra picky the only 2 things that let it down where, my wifes cheese sauce for her steak was a little tasteless and my English mustard was not "Colemans" but as I say thats being really picky. This restaurant has the makings of a cracking business and could take the Longlands restaurant, down the road to the cleaners.
Give this place a try because it has bloody great home cooked food and if I lived on the doorstep, I would be in there every day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank millie2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

We went ot the Kings Arms on a birthday celebration. The main bar is cosy and welcoming with its own fire and easy chairs. The restaurant is in a separate room again warm and welcoming and well set out. The daily specials board is varied and with a good choice as is the al la carte menu. The food when it arrived, it is cooked to order and can involve a wait, was excellent and the good portions.

We will certain ly go back again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed together with family, renting three rooms. We received a friendly welcome from Neil and Anne. The rooms were clean, fresh towels were left every day and the beds were very comfortable. Excellent location for the South Lakes area. We would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoSquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

The proprietor and staff were very welcoming. The hotel was quite charming and the beer/bar and dining room very good. Comfortable room and bed. A pleasant village to walk around and stretch your legs prior dinner. If you are travelling to or from Scotland and want to break your journey this is an ideal resting place just off the M6.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burton in Kendal
4.5 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
10.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 15 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Redwell Inn
Redwell Inn
#1 of 1 in Arkholme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hutton House Bed & Breakfast
Hutton House Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 3 in Burton in Kendal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#3 of 12 in Kirkby Lonsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Property: The Kings Arms
Address: Main Street, Burton in Kendal LA6 1LR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Burton in Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Burton in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms is situated in the quaint Cumbrian village of Burton-in-Kendal, situated near to the outstanding natural beauty of the Lake District National Park, Yorkshire Dales and the historic city of Lancaster with easy access to the M6 motorway. Previously an old coaching inn as early as 1763, the Kings Arms is a small family run traditional tavern, offering a warm and friendly service with excellent cuisine served in our recently extended restaurant. Dinner in our candle lit dining room is an integral part of the Kings Arms experience; we believe that you, the guest, deserve food of the highest standard, prepared with the finest local ingredients and expertise. We boast 6 well-appointed, en-suite rooms, family room and doubles all furnished in a traditional style with natural warmth and welcoming charm. Here at The Kings Arms, we offer a unique opportunity to enjoy hospitality and service of the highest standard, whilst experiencing the wonders of picturesque Cumbria - the perfect setting for any break. Burton in Kendal is a short distance from The Lake District, The Yorkshire Dales and The Trough of Bowland. The hotel is a perfect base for walkers and cyclists as it is on the Lancashire Cycle way and is surrounded by bay coastal, fell and woodland walks in areas of outstanding natural beauty. Locally their are plenty of activities, such as a number of local fisheries for the angler, the Capernwray Dive Centre, Equestrian and outdoor pursuit centres for those wanting an active break and for those wanting the more leisurely break we are perfectly sited to explore the area and then come back to relax in a traditional coaching inn based in a pretty Cumbrian Village. For those passing through and needing a short stopover the Kings Arms is 5 minutes off the the M6 at Junction 35 or 36 and is an ideal stop over venue for those wishing to break long journeys up to Scotland or down South. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Burton In Kendal, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing