We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Improved” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pizza Express

Pizza Express
Ranked #29 of 49 Restaurants in Biggleswade
Price range: $41 - $41
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bright and modern, Pizza Express offers an exciting reinvention of Italian classics. A vibrant menu includes wholesome Romana-style pizzas with adventurous topping combinations, as well as fresh salads, an impressive range behind the bar and aromatic coffee blends. Family-friendly Pizza Express gives kids the chance to design their own pizzas.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Improved”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Popped back for dinner with friends. The place was very quiet, our waitress recognised my friend as she is a regular and we got the best service I have ever received here. I hope to return and receive such good service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tabby1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    64
    47
    39
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stotfold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Have visited twice now & really enjoyed both times. First visit was on a Saturday evening, second on a Monday evening. Service & food have been great both times & we definitely would recommend. We will eat here again as it's local.

Helpful?
Thank JayAndZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamlingay, United Kingdom
1 review
“family dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Service was appalling they forgot we were there and lost our order. In the hurry to rectify the lateness burnt our dinner and still gave it to us! They did give us free wine but I won`t use them again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank dajhns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melchbourne, Bedfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great service - some fraying at the edges”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

This Pizza Express restaurant has received a range of reviews, which inhibited us from going there. But we found in Zoe an excellent waitress - efficient, friendly and calm to an extent we could not have asked for more. She was ably backed up by Jordan. Admittedly the restaurant was very quiet (at least after a group of young children had left - and they had not bothered us). The food was just what you would expect. But a couple of cautionary remarks: one does expect to find salt and pepper in their cellars - there was none in either; and ladies like to find paper and soap in their loos. Management needs to be more closely focussed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pipewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Quite possible the worst meal i have ever had”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

I went to Pizza Express with a party of 16 for a Christmas meal and ordered from their Christmas menu. We were squeezed into a tiny little room outside of the ( empty) main restaurant that they had the cheek to call a party room.
To start with i had Garlic Bread , well that's what it said on the menu. What i got a piece of cheap microwaved peice of bread that had the consistency of a sweaty sock . We then had an hour wait until the main course turned up.They shouldn't have bothered,
The menu described this pizza as Pork Belly pizza with crackling and cider apple sauce. What i got was some under cooked pizza bread with three small pieces of pork on , a smattering of cheap apple sauce and wait for this... Pork Scratching on the top. ( even the waitress admitted they were from a packet ) It was disgusting. I have to congratulate pizza express for even attempting to dish this muck up .
If you thought a restaurant couldn't possible serve three appalling dishes then you couldn't be more wrong because then came the pudding.
What was supposed to be an apple and fruit crumble came in a nuclear hot pot , that had no crumble and the consistency of soup. I cold have eaten it with a straw but needless to say i didn't bother eating it.
It doesn't end there. We received the bill and was overcharged by £48 and later two of us had severe stomach cramps later that night.
The set menu was £20 ( £19 too much ) and a bottle of beer was an extortionate £6.50 !!!
i will never visit a Pizza Express again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Valleyjohn147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Express also viewed

Biggleswade, Bedfordshire
Biggleswade, Bedfordshire
 
Biggleswade, Bedfordshire
Biggleswade, Bedfordshire
 
Biggleswade, Bedfordshire
Biggleswade, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Pizza Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing