We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of raj bengal

raj bengal
Ranked #6 of 49 Restaurants in Biggleswade
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“yummy”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

simple delicious and the staff always kind and friendly if ordering a take out or dining in
Great value if you can make it mid week

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank AnnD998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    19
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!!”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Had a takeaway couple of week's ago was very impressed food had lot of flavour and there was a lot of it,tonight we thought we'll dine in and try out the Gourmet it's a four course meal (£9.95 only) you can choose from the menu amazing value for such quality food.
The starters were really nice the main meal was even better then when we had it as a takeaway.When we visited it was really busy and the restaurant was buzzing,service was very good Hammad the manager had a smile on his face all the time.Our new favourite Indian

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma222666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good value, good food”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The Raj Bengal is a very unassuming Indian restaurant that, from the outside, looks like it is in somebody's house. Inside it is fairly small but not cramped. The décor and atmosphere are pretty standard Indian restaurant stuff.

The restaurant runs what it calls "gourmet nights" which allows diners to choose a starter, main, side dish and rice or nan for a total of £8.95, which represents extremely good value (there are some restrictions on the main meals, for instance dishes including king prawn are charged a subsidy). Now you might expect to get only average food for this, but in fact the food is very good and we were puzzled as to how they could possibly make any money on this deal.

The menu comprises standard Indian fare plus house specialities and we had no problem choosing a selection to satisfy all tastes from the mild to the spicy. We all sampled each others selections and all the dishes were tasty, the meat especially was very tender and well cooked. Portion sizes were good and we pretty much polished off everything feeling satisfied but not bloated.

Service was good and the staff very pleasant.

There were four of us in the party and for what we ate the bill was much less than I would expect to have paid elsewhere.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this restaurant and will be going back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I tried the banquet meal here with friends the meal was of good quality and there was plenty of it. I will be visiting here again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beds
Level Contributor
130 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Uninspiring”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Went to the restaurant midweek for the Gourmet Special. Many other reviewers rave about this being good value. Maybe it is but please remember that many restaurants now operate this system including at least one other in Biggleswade.
This is a small restaurant based in what for years was probably the only French restaurant in Bedfordshire. I was seated around a corner out of sight of the reception and waiting staff and indeed felt forgotten. Poppadoms, drinks and all the courses took an unacceptable time to arrive and they seemed to give priority to the takeaway side of the business. Admittedly the food tasted good but the sheek kebab starter must have been the smallest I have ever eaten in an Indian restaurant so are portions reduced for the gourmet offer? Coffee was very bitter and I wondered whether it had been brewing since the previous day!
Biggest disappointment was the lack of authenticity - nothing relating to the Indian subcontinent in sight. Music was the same CD repeated when the staff remembered there was no sound. This was my 3rd visit to the restaurant and each experience has been similar. No complaints about the food, staff polite but not particularly friendly and it seems little effort made to make dining enjoyable. As a reviewer recently commented, the town has several Indian restaurants which are all on par with each other but none, including this one, are exceptional. Unfortunately Raj Bengal would not be my first choice, despite the food quality, due to its coldness and rather boring décor etc.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigglesBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed raj bengal also viewed

Biggleswade, Bedfordshire
Biggleswade, Bedfordshire
 
Biggleswade, Bedfordshire
Biggleswade, Bedfordshire
 
Biggleswade, Bedfordshire
Biggleswade, Bedfordshire
 

Been to raj bengal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing