We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good athmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Longyearbyen
Reviewed October 5, 2010

Very nice hotel, very good food, friendly and serviceminded staff.
Remember to bring slippers as they practice old traditions by taking off the shoes you use outside

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank August50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (620)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

370 - 376 of 620 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2010

There aren't many hotels to choose from in the town of Longyearbyen. Radisson seemed like the best option to me. Having stayed in many Radisson hotels before I knew what the standard was and what to expect. But this hotel was actually one of the best hotels in Radisson chain that I had stayed at. The free airport bus that takes the arriving passengers to the town stops right outside the hotel. I have however missed the bus due to waiting for my luggage that never turned up on the carousel so I had to stay at the airport a bit longer to fill out the papers. Neverthelles, the bus being gone, I had to take a taxi. At check-in I informed the receptionist about my luggage missing and she kindly offered to keep monitoring the situation. I booked a business room, which was of a larger size. It had a kettle which was good for making hot tea. Bathroom alo very spacious and clean. The breakfast was excellent. Very tasty indeed. The hotel is situated at the very edge of the main street. There are several shops, bars, a gym, school, gift shops, clothing stores in the area. Since my luggage failed to arrive, I was left with nothing but jeans and T-shirt so my first stop was at the clothing store which had a good selection of warm clothes. Several tours can be booked directly through the hotel. The tours vary depending on the season. I went on the Northern Lights evening tour where several other guests and I were taken outside the town to watch the green northern lights and have dinner (dear soup) in somebody's house. Dog sledge tours were also avaliable. The town is safe, I saw no bears, but one should always be careful especialy when leaving the lit-up town. The hotel meets and exceeds the Radisson standard and I would definitely stay again should I visit Longyearbyen again.

PS: My luggage got lost forever. It was never recovered. Not exactly a great destination for the arline to lose your luggage, eh? :-)

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lukino6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Nice hotel, I would say little bit worse Radisson, only 4 stars. But still hotel is very large and comfort with restaurant, bar, small suvenyr shop. Luckyly we didnt have to pay normal price which was 280 euro for double room, thats really to much and its not worthy. On the other hand everything is expensive on Svalbard. There is not to much what i can evaluate we spent only night night there after trek in wild so everything was warmer and better then tent and sleeping bag... Stay was ok, but i was very unhappy what hotel did with my authorization (payment card) they blocked double amount for our stay (for 7 people). After 3 calls and 2 calls i didnt get any explanation why they blocked different amount they i authorized. It took 2 weeks to get money back, but what is worst nobody send me an word although i was always told that somebody comes back to me. From this reason i am little bit surprised how they can operate.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svestka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

For a $300 hotel room, you don't get a lot here, but you have to consider where you are. Rooms are adequate and clean and staff is friendly. Good breakfast and very nice buffett in the evening and reasonably good wifi.

Most people need to check out before their ship is ready and leave their baggage in a public room with no key. I was concerned that my gear could disappear. For one thing, some people leave their baggage for someone else to pick up. Staff assured me that this was not a problem, but I was not convinced.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

I chose this hotel because it's the only one in Svalbard with all year service. The hotel is easy to find, in the heart of Longyearbyen about 3-4 km from the airport, the hotel provides a shuttle service. It's great place to go if you want to experience the northern lights, riding dog sled, snowmobile driving in winter season or midnight sun if you're traveling during summer. You can book these trips at the hotel reception. The reception has also an exchange office.
The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was spacious with cable Tv, free wifi, large bathroom with both bath and shower including hairdryer. The breakfast was abundant with great selection of fruit, cheese and salami.
The hotel pub is also a meeting place for the locals, where you can taste the specials of local cuisine.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Svalbard.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michalfalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2010

Probably the classiest place to stay in Longyearbyen, like the notice saying 'please leave your guns in the lockers as Polar Bears are not often seen in the restaurant'

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2009

You are visiting the Arctic Circle, so don’t expect the normal service expected of a Radisson in Norway or elsewhere. It’s not value for money, 300 dollars goes a lot further elsewhere. However, after experiencing other accommodation in Longyearbyen, we loved the Radisson.

I read a review moaning “no soap" in the bathroom. If you need to add pollution to the environment, it’s behind the reception desk. I also thought, "We had no bath stuff" but we didn’t miss it and this amazing environment benefited from the Radissons moral high ground.

The staff are super friendly. Breakfast was great. The hotel was spotless.

We hosted a wedding reception based upon Brasseri Nansen’s menu. It was good and the service was exceptional.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RiverNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Longyearbyen hotels
0.3 mi away
Svalbard Hotel
Svalbard Hotel
#1 of 3 in Longyearbyen
376 reviews
0.7 mi away
Spitsbergen Hotel
Spitsbergen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Longyearbyen
350 reviews
1.5 mi away
Coal Miners’ Cabins
Coal Miners’ Cabins
#2 of 4 in Longyearbyen
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Basecamp Hotel
Basecamp Hotel
#1 of 4 in Longyearbyen
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
#2 of 5 in Longyearbyen
130 reviews
1.6 mi away
Guest House 102
Guest House 102
#1 of 5 in Longyearbyen
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen

Address: Road 500, Longyearbyen 9171, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Svalbard > Spitsbergen > Longyearbyen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Longyearbyen
Price Range: $215 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the world's northernmost full service hotel in the heart of Longyearbyen. From your table at Restaurant Nansen you can enjoy the panoramic view towards the majestic mountain Hiorthfjellet accompanied by an excellent Arctic menu and a good selection of wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen Hotel Longyearbyen
Radisson Longyearbyen
Longyearbyen Radisson
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen Svalbard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing