We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for where you are”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Longyearbyen
Burien, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
516 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“OK for where you are”
Reviewed August 14, 2010

For a $300 hotel room, you don't get a lot here, but you have to consider where you are. Rooms are adequate and clean and staff is friendly. Good breakfast and very nice buffett in the evening and reasonably good wifi.

Most people need to check out before their ship is ready and leave their baggage in a public room with no key. I was concerned that my gear could disappear. For one thing, some people leave their baggage for someone else to pick up. Staff assured me that this was not a problem, but I was not convinced.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    283
    134
    27
    16
See reviews for
65
234
80
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

I chose this hotel because it's the only one in Svalbard with all year service. The hotel is easy to find, in the heart of Longyearbyen about 3-4 km from the airport, the hotel provides a shuttle service. It's great place to go if you want to experience the northern lights, riding dog sled, snowmobile driving in winter season or midnight sun if you're traveling during summer. You can book these trips at the hotel reception. The reception has also an exchange office.
The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was spacious with cable Tv, free wifi, large bathroom with both bath and shower including hairdryer. The breakfast was abundant with great selection of fruit, cheese and salami.
The hotel pub is also a meeting place for the locals, where you can taste the specials of local cuisine.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Svalbard.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michalfalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2010

Probably the classiest place to stay in Longyearbyen, like the notice saying 'please leave your guns in the lockers as Polar Bears are not often seen in the restaurant'

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2009

You are visiting the Arctic Circle, so don’t expect the normal service expected of a Radisson in Norway or elsewhere. It’s not value for money, 300 dollars goes a lot further elsewhere. However, after experiencing other accommodation in Longyearbyen, we loved the Radisson.

I read a review moaning “no soap" in the bathroom. If you need to add pollution to the environment, it’s behind the reception desk. I also thought, "We had no bath stuff" but we didn’t miss it and this amazing environment benefited from the Radissons moral high ground.

The staff are super friendly. Breakfast was great. The hotel was spotless.

We hosted a wedding reception based upon Brasseri Nansen’s menu. It was good and the service was exceptional.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiverNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nome, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2009

We arfe now at the polar hotel and the reviews I read must be from very easily pleased people. For over $300 a night I expected a bar of soap in my bathroom...silly me. We arrived last night at midnight, along with 20 or so other people. There was no help gettiing our luggage from the airport bus into the hotel;there was one desk clerk who could barely function. After 28 hours of traveling this doesn't auger well for a good hotel. When we finally got our key, the clerk pointed to the room....so we dragged our suitcases into the room ...not even a luggage trolly.

So, my friends, does this sound like a good place??

This could be the best place available up here, but don't expect anything more than very basic accomodations at a high price.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Magellan008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights in February 2008 for the opening of the global seed vault. This was a major event with lots of VIPs, world media etc. So the hotel was packed and my room was probably among the most basic ones down in the basement. But it was still perfectly ok. As others have said, having been located in any other place, this would be a mid-range hotel and not live up to the usual SAS Radisson standard . But this is Svalbard! And it can certainly be recommended. The main restaurant was expensive, but fairly good. There is a more budget-friendly bar style place also connected to the hotel with more basic, but ok options. I used the travel office to book a scooter trip and they were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilja016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2009

A really nice hotel. The only thing that was bothering me was the noice of a washing mashine in the mornings. We had the room next to cleaners storage.

The location is aswome, close to everithing, well Longyearbyen is not that big.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobbry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Longyearbyen hotels
0.3 mi away
Svalbard Hotel
Svalbard Hotel
#1 of 3 in Longyearbyen
356 reviews
0.7 mi away
Spitsbergen Hotel
Spitsbergen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Longyearbyen
337 reviews
1.5 mi away
Coal Miners’ Cabins
Coal Miners’ Cabins
#2 of 4 in Longyearbyen
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
#2 of 6 in Longyearbyen
122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Basecamp Hotel
Basecamp Hotel
#1 of 4 in Longyearbyen
245 reviews
1.6 mi away
Guest House 102
Guest House 102
#1 of 6 in Longyearbyen
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen

Property: Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
Address: Road 500, Longyearbyen 9171, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Svalbard > Spitsbergen > Longyearbyen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Longyearbyen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the world's northernmost full service hotel in the heart of Longyearbyen. From your table at Restaurant Nansen you can enjoy the panoramic view towards the majestic mountain Hiorthfjellet accompanied by an excellent Arctic menu and a good selection of wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen Hotel Longyearbyen
Radisson Longyearbyen
Longyearbyen Radisson
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen Svalbard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing