We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (750)
Filter reviews
750 results
Traveler rating
170
360
169
32
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
360
169
32
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice hotel full service hotel north pole remote location the pub hotel bar svalbard museum in town separate building degrees north internet access bit dated outdoor jacuzzi main restaurant same level nice bar breakfast buffet is
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 750 reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2016 via mobile

Rooms were nice, but we got two single beds instead of a queen.
The staff are all really nice and helpfull.

We were disappointed about the food, twice in a row they had the same soup of the day, and the other options were only junk food.
We were only able to eat at the bar as the restaurant was booked for a party.

For the price we paid, I had expected better.

Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spitsbergen T, Kundeansvarlig at Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your time here on Svalbard., always great to hear how people find how helpful our staff are. Twin beds that are joined together to form a double bed are quite common in Scandinavia rather than a stand-alone bed, this can always be arranged in advance. The soup of the day is always dependant on the ingredients we have available for the best quality product. We offer salads, salmon, daily specials and various alternatives to our burgers and pizzas (which themselves are thin crust with fresh toppings) so are reluctant to agree that we only offer junk food. Our reception would have been more than happy to help you arrange a table at another restaurant but we are sorry you did not have the chance to experience Restaurant Nansen during the fully booked Christmas period.

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2016

Only 5Km from Longyearbyen airport. Shoes must be left in the entrance as usual in Svalbard. Reception staff friendly and helpful. Rooms not very big but warm, clean and cosy. Breakfast is excellent with lot of choices. Restaurant ( Julebord buffet) had plenty of cold, warm and dessert choices. I liked this hotel .

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samurai44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spitsbergen T, Kundeansvarlig at Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2017

We are very glad to hear that you liked the hotel and had the opportunity to taste our traditional Christmas buffet in our scenic restaurant. Our helpful staff enjoy welcoming each and every visitor to Svalbard and we sincerely hope that you had a magical time here on the island.

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2016 via mobile

We have visited this hotel this week, we have been there for 4 nights, and all things were incredible (breaksfast,jacuzzi,sauna and overall the kind employees of Raddison Polar Hotel). We will come back soon.

Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Manuel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spitsbergen T, Kundeansvarlig at Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2016

It was lovely to read about your time staying with us Manuel and our team is very grateful to hear that your experience was a pleasurable one. We're glad you were able to take the opportunity to visit the sauna and jacuzzi open to all guests and that our large breakfast buffet was to your satisfaction. We hope you have a lovely Christmas and a happy new year.

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2016

We were in Longyearbyen for one night prior to joining an Expedition ship for an Arctic adventure, and Radisson Blu was the hotel where our group was to meet... so we selected it as the place to also spend the night. There are a number of other accommodation options in this town..... the most Northern town in the World.... but we are familiar with the Radisson Hotels as a good mid-range standard and have stayed in a number of their properties around the world. This was no exception and met all our requirements to our total satisfaction. Staff were very friendly....rooms were clean and comfortable and the meals we had were nicely prepared and presented.
Everything is fairly close to all the hotels in this small settlement, but Radisson Blu is
probably the closest to the selection of shops and eateries in town and a short walk to the waterfront. A very enjoyable stopover.

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogeria l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spitsbergen T, Kundeansvarlig at Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2016

Many thanks for taking the time to write about your stay at the Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, we all very much appreciate your kind words and informative review. At our hotel you will indeed find the familiar yet high Radisson standard expected from us in addition to a great location as the world's Northermost hotel. We look forward to welcoming you and fellow adventurers to Longyearbyen in the near future.

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2016 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel with an exceptional location in the town centre of Longyearbyen. The hotel is quite modern and stylish. As in many other hotels in Longyearbyen, you need to take of your shoes when entering the hotel (unfortunately not all visitors respects this tradition which results in wet floor and socks from time-to-time).

The breakfast, served in Nansen restaurant, was really nice and tasty. The restaurant has an exceptional view over the water and mountains behind the university building. Great breakfast with a view!

Our room was large and comfortable with a large window sharing the same view as Nansen restaurant - a pleasure both in the morning and in the evening. The bed was a bit to soft for our taste, however, that is a minor detail and in general we are very satisfied with our room.

The hotel offers complimentary Wifi (which is great), however, you need to actively log-in every two hours which is a bit annoying (especially when hunting the aurora and you rely of aurora-apps with notifications). Also, personally I value more secure wifi-connections than this.

The hotel staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly, both prior to vist and during our stay. They really pushed the boundaries for what kind of service one might expect when they discretely helped me prepare and arrange a big surprise for my partner. Amazing!

A great value add for us was the relax facilities, consisting of a (mixed) Sauna (that is, both male and female share the same Sauna) and two outdoor jacuzzi's. This gave us a great and relaxed ending of the day.

We ended up on this hotel due to unforeseen circumstances, however, we are very pleased that we had the opportunity to try this hotel as well. If you are planning a visit to Svalbard and look for a quite modern hotel with great service/staff and facilities, you probably won't be disappointed staying at this hotel. If/when we return to Svalbard this will definitely be our starting point when looking at hotels (assuming that they continue with their great service).

Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Anders S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spitsbergen T, Resepsjonssjef at Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2016

It was our pleasure to welcome you to Svalbard, Anders. We were more than happy to be of assistance during your stay and it is lovely to read that you found value in the hotel's facilities. We are indeed proud of the view the hotel and restuarant offers over Adventfjorden and always enjoy hearing that our guests appreciated it as much as we do. We have taken your comments about the WIFI onboard and look forward to welcoming you both again soon.

Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews