We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Longyearbyen
07712
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best hotel in town”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

This is the best hotel in town. It is near the center of town; great food options; nice little shop in case you forget something. The view of the main dining room is lovely. Breakfast was a plentiful buffet with good healthy choices. The rooms are small, but clean and comfortable. The staff was helpful and spoke English quite well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 72LauraC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    268
    127
    27
    13
See reviews for
62
222
76
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

We were travelling to Longyearbyen to pick up a cruise and spent a night at the Radisson Blu in June. We arrived on the late flight and check in at 2.39am was OK and we quickly were able to get to our room for a much needed sleep.
The room was basic and quite small, we struggled to fit two bags in it. What really got me was the thin curtains which didn't block out any light and made sleeping difficult. Surely an investment in some thicker drapes would pay some dividend in the summer and also provide extra insulation in the colder months?
The rooms were warm and the beds were comfortable (perhaps we were just tired) so with masks we slept well. The water was hot in the morning but there was not much supplied in the way of toiletries. A bath mat would have been nice. I can understand that sacrifices need to be made due to the remote location but surely basics are not negotiable at this price.
Breakfast was quite good, a tasty selection of hot and cold dishes but the room was crowded and tables hard to come by. The wait staff were efficient and helpful and the view more than compensated for any clutter.
When we checked out after a mere 9 hours we felt that we didn't get a lot for the price but the Radisson is probably the best option in town.
A few simple touches would improve the experience; remote is not an excuse for some of the tired rooms and furnishings but good food and comfortable beds disguise some of the sins.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Spit56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
194 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We had a great view but some had a view of the parking lot berm. They stored our luggage while we waited for our Hurtigruten MS Fram tour to begin. They let us sit in the dining room while waiting before and after the cruise. Once again they stored again while waiting for our ride to the airport. I think they are missing out by not having snacks for sale...we creating would have bought them.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We didn't stay at this hotel, but had a good buffet lunch one Sunday. They offered a broad selection of food - salads, meat, vegetables, and desert. Friends also enjoyed the shops in the hotel and the selection of polar merchandise.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fdhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed here as a special treat for myself to see in the New Year. I've been to Svalbard before, but never during 24 hour darkness. It's spooky and at the same time excellent, in a truly odd way.
If you want to feel like Amundsen or Scott of the (Ant)Arctic, this is the place to go. One of my favourite memories of being there is the sign inside the boot room: I won't spoil the surprise for when you go.

Room Tip: WiFi works occasionally, as does TV service. In -40 temperatures, getting out and about is something...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

This may be the only place in town. Our reservations were part of a package along with a trip to Salvard. Everything in the room was adequate. The food was adequate. Take your own if you want decaf coffee, though, they don't have the stuff. They also only provide soap, no hand lotion or shampoo. Also no wash clothes so take your own if you want one of those. Also there is no help with your luggage and only stairs so be sure to request a room on level with reception if you need it. There are no black out curtains so the rooms are quite light all night: take your own sleep mask if you need it dark to sleep. However, the bed was good and the room warm enough. The staff is very pleasant. We stayed one night and had one dinner. The location is great, about 5 minutes to the airport by bus or taxi. The town is, as expected, tiny so everything is close and in walking distance. This hotel doesn't live up to the Radisson Blu name but then being in Longyearbyen, Svalbard is really what it is all about and it beats being in a tent.

Room Tip: Request to be on level with reception if you have mobility issues: no lift and no assistance with yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhotographVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
118 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

This hotel is I assume the largest in town located at the Fjord end of town adjacent to Spitzbergen Travel and near the excellent Svalbard Museum. Our room was on the 1st level, one level below the reception are. No lifts, no porters, no assistance. The room was large and well appointed though we had keep our curtains closed as we faced the front door of the hotel and the outdoor smoking area. The room was quite warm, the room aircon could not be adjusted. Toiletries were not provided but could be requested at reception. A bathmat for the shower/bath needed also to be requested. There are a number of eating options within the hotel but as this is Norway most are quite exorbitant. The Barentz Pub at the front of the hotel is the most reasonably priced. The breakfast had a good selection of both hot and cold selections. The breakfast room, which is also the main restaurant, has magnificent views over the Fjord and the surrounding mountains.

Room Tip: There are no lifts and no assistance is offerred with luggage so if you have heavy luggage avoid roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noelandmaxine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Longyearbyen hotels
0.3 mi away
Svalbard Hotel
Svalbard Hotel
#1 of 3 in Longyearbyen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.7 mi away
Spitsbergen Hotel
Spitsbergen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Longyearbyen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
1.5 mi away
Coal Miners’ Cabins
Coal Miners’ Cabins
#2 of 3 in Longyearbyen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
#2 of 6 in Longyearbyen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Basecamp Hotel
Basecamp Hotel
#1 of 3 in Longyearbyen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
1.6 mi away
Guest House 102
Guest House 102
#1 of 6 in Longyearbyen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen

Property: Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
Address: Road 500, Longyearbyen 9171, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Svalbard > Spitsbergen > Longyearbyen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Longyearbyen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the world's northernmost full service hotel in the heart of Longyearbyen. From your table at Restaurant Nansen you can enjoy the panoramic view towards the majestic mountain Hiorthfjellet accompanied by an excellent Arctic menu and a good selection of wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen Hotel Longyearbyen
Radisson Longyearbyen
Longyearbyen Radisson
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen Svalbard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing