We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Longyearbyen
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place, great stay.”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a long weekend with my wife and friends. Right in the centre of the main town close to everything. Great views from the restaurant and great food to match. Rooms a little simple but very clean and warm, you couldn't ask for more. Would stay again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KHF62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    279
    126
    27
    14
See reviews for
63
224
79
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
129 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Definitely not a 4-star property. Consistent with my prior experience, Radisson hotels can vary from superb to poor, and this one falls into the latter category. The hotel consists of two separate buildings -- my room was in the building adjacent to the main one -- and it looked like a cheap roadside motel, both from the outside and inside. Poor facilities, no toiletries in the bathroom (apparently you have to specifically ask for them - I didn't bother), the hotel bar/cafe doesn't have a coffee machine so you can't get decent coffee, breakfast was underwhelming, no Club Carlson gold recognition... And the list goes on.... Moved to a different place after my first night.

To be clear, I'm not expecting luxury at 78 degrees North, but placing this hotel in the Radisson category is somewhat misleading -- it doesn't even live up to the Park Inn standard.

Room Tip: One-bedroom apartments are in a separate building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lifou T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I stayed in Svalbard December/January 2014 for 4 nights.
I rented a hotel apartment (great hotel breakfast included), with kitchen and living room.
It was a very good choice which cost exactly the same as a hotel room but allowed me to have more space and kitchen access, which regarding the food prices on Svalbard was perfect!

Since it was in the middle of arctic night, the location was very important. Only 5min away from the Museum and High Street.
Also all tours start at the hotel lobby

Eating breakfast in candle lights was an unforgettable experience
Hotel staff was very very friendly

Room Tip: consider a hotel apartment so you can cook your own food at a reasonable price but still have access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorota Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, comfortable and a great breakfast! The bar is great and everyone is welcoming and friendly so being on your own is not a problem. Watched the Champions League final there. Would go again to Svalbard and book this hotel again!

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiloo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
196 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed here after being evacuated from a ship that had some trouble and arriving at 3 pm after having been on a Russian tugboat outside in the Polar night, so anything warm and save scores 5 stars from our point of view. But seriously, it is a good, clean hotel, rooms clean and spacious. Personnel could have been a little more service oriented and less stiff, but it is ok. You don't have much other choice anyway :), there is only one other hotel in town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hendrik70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Had a pleasant stay at the hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. The rooms have most likely seen it best days, however it’s ok.
The hotel got a fantastic restaurant. Had the “Taste of Artic”, or something like that, and it was outstanding. It also has a decent variety of cognac, beer and wine.
Furthermore, one of the most popular pubs (from my understanding) is also located inside the hotel. Good food, shows football (if you ask them to put on) and nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vTRAVELv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VOLOS-GREECE
Level Contributor
73 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

i stayed from 15 april for 7 nights.
generally the hotel is good but not 4 stars.
the location is very good. the panorama restaurant has
wonderful panoramic view.
rooms quite large but furniture like from ikea in rose co.
lor. bathrooms with tube but somehow old modish,
not very pleasant.
i forgot to say beds very comfortable.
breakfast room it self big but not warm.
cheapy tables without tablecloths or something else
was fom me unconfortable.only a candle on the table.
personal friendly and helpful
after two days iwent to the reception to pay my bill.
my credit card was empty and i wanted to pay cash in
euros ,1192 e. the receptionist told me it is very expensive
to pay in euros and not in kronen and i should pay...believe it or not
1600 euros .because it is a far remote contry and...
i said ihave not this amount and it was told me i should go
to another chepier hostel.
after that i phoned home to charge my credit card and
paye to this way
a couple of days later i asked in the night service a young man
who was wery pleasant and friedly about what happened to me.
he said that he couldnt believe ,i should pay 30 per cent more
but he said that may be aditticional charge of 2-3 percent
could be added.
radisson should answer what happens
any way they made my vacational not very pleasnt

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHRISTOS_GR60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Longyearbyen hotels
0.3 mi away
Svalbard Hotel
Svalbard Hotel
#1 of 3 in Longyearbyen
335 reviews
0.7 mi away
Spitsbergen Hotel
Spitsbergen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Longyearbyen
327 reviews
1.5 mi away
Coal Miners’ Cabins
Coal Miners’ Cabins
#2 of 4 in Longyearbyen
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
#3 of 6 in Longyearbyen
117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Basecamp Hotel
Basecamp Hotel
#1 of 4 in Longyearbyen
243 reviews
1.6 mi away
Guest House 102
Guest House 102
#1 of 6 in Longyearbyen
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen

Property: Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
Address: Road 500, Longyearbyen 9171, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Svalbard > Spitsbergen > Longyearbyen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Longyearbyen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the world's northernmost full service hotel in the heart of Longyearbyen. From your table at Restaurant Nansen you can enjoy the panoramic view towards the majestic mountain Hiorthfjellet accompanied by an excellent Arctic menu and a good selection of wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen Hotel Longyearbyen
Radisson Longyearbyen
Longyearbyen Radisson
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen Svalbard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing