We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Longyearbyen
Hadsund, Denmark
2 reviews
“Sales trip”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I visit Spitsbrgen several times each year, and usualy stay at Raddisson Polar Hotel, because location in town is perfect for me... The room I book is big, so I can establish a mini showroom, and invite my customers to meetings at my room, and it´s very convenient for my customers and me...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Ika Astono L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    268
    127
    27
    13
See reviews for
62
222
76
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

After one week hunting for the Northern Lights, our group travelled to Longyearbyen in order to have a couple of activities in the Arctic region.
This hotel offers a very good infrastructure: fairly-sized rooms, large breakfast/restaurant area, extremely helpful staff who provided good guidance for the outdoor activities we were looking for.
As another reviewer has posted, the in-house restaurant is quite expensive, so we had our diner at the Barents Bar, which is inside the hotel as well, with more reasonable prices.
A tip for other travelers: since there are very few flights from Svalbard to mainland Norway, try to take the bus that links the hotel to the airport. At least, you will not feel scalped when the taxi driver asks a higher fare than the one charged for bringing you in from the airport.

Room Tip: When booking a room, try to get a "superior" room: it will not be facing the hotel entranc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otavio_silveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The hotel used to be a wing from some accommodations for the 1994 Lillehammer Olympics which was transported to Svalbard.
I really like the restaurant area and used the breakfast bar to get breakfast and sneak it back to my room. There are beautiful views from the restaurant during the blue/snowy season..
I stayed in September 2008 for about 5 days and considered the place really overpriced, but at that time the choice of accommodation in Svalbard was less varied than it is now.
Overall I had a nice stay there; the staff are friendly, the food good and the Barents Bar has a really good ambiance; I accidentally joined in a pub quiz and getting rescued from an extremely drunk Danish sailor by some nice older Norwegian people in Svalbard for a Union conference. Don't even ask..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaninhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The hotel is very good. We got a nice room with very good beds and the breakfast is tasty. Dinner is a bit expensive, but the menu is interesting, given the options of local food. It is good they keep the tradition of not using outdoor shoes while inside the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWF57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana, Jordan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Very good quality, but its obvious - its Norway. Price - nightmare. But what else can You find there? Hotel is quite cool, lots of rooms, typicly for mass tourism so You can complain for service. Anyway I rate it high.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The staff at the Polar Hotel are fantastic and willing to meet your every need. Very helpful in finding what you're looking for in the town and excursions. Hotel was comfortable. Breakfast was great as usual with Radisson Blu chain. Scenery is spectacular. Hotel is centrally located for everything. I would definitely stay there again and will recommend to others as a great option.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

It's as simple as this:
I've made a reservation for this hotel about one month and a half before my trip. When I arrived the hotel was closed (!!!) for renovation.
During one and a half month, no one from the hotel warned me or said anything...

Second really bad experience with Radisson Blu in Norway after being charged twice (!!!) for my entire stay... one month before my trip (!!!) by the Radisson Blu in Ålesund.
Unfortunately, I'm starting to get used (and tired) of this "Norway Radisson nonsense"...

It's strange as in other countries my experience with Radisson Blu (Carlson Rezidor Group) always worked fine.
And it's a pity such a wonderful country with such lovely people having these hotel... hmmm... "blackouts"?

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter-Holtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Longyearbyen hotels
0.3 mi away
Svalbard Hotel
Svalbard Hotel
#1 of 3 in Longyearbyen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.7 mi away
Spitsbergen Hotel
Spitsbergen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Longyearbyen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.5 mi away
Coal Miners’ Cabins
Coal Miners’ Cabins
#2 of 3 in Longyearbyen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
#2 of 6 in Longyearbyen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Basecamp Hotel
Basecamp Hotel
#1 of 3 in Longyearbyen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
1.6 mi away
Guest House 102
Guest House 102
#1 of 6 in Longyearbyen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen

Property: Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
Address: Road 500, Longyearbyen 9171, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Svalbard > Spitsbergen > Longyearbyen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Longyearbyen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the world's northernmost full service hotel in the heart of Longyearbyen. From your table at Restaurant Nansen you can enjoy the panoramic view towards the majestic mountain Hiorthfjellet accompanied by an excellent Arctic menu and a good selection of wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen Hotel Longyearbyen
Radisson Longyearbyen
Longyearbyen Radisson
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen Svalbard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing