We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Longyearbyen
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed June 27, 2008

Before going to Svalbard, I had heard that the SAS Radisson was the northernmost full service hotel. However, I must I admit that I was slightly sceptical. After all, Longyear/Svalbard is indeed in the middle of nowhere...

The hotel turned out to be very nice and lived up to "normal" hotel standard, i.e. it can be judged according to normal standards just as any other hotel.

The reception was super helpful and very friendly and the restaurant has a stunning view. The Barents Pub also have excellent burgers, pizzas and beer at very very reasonable prices. During summer the atmosphere in the pub is great with a mix of tourist and locals. All in all the SAS Radisson in Longyearbyen can only be recommended. To be honest I can't really think of anything bad to write about the hotel....

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bigbluedk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    292
    136
    28
    17
See reviews for
69
240
82
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
warsaw
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2008

We have stayed four nights at Radisson SAS Polar Hotel and absolutely loved it. The staff is competent, the restaurant fabulous, the rooms warm, cosy and clean. Highly recommended hotel. And remember to take off your shoes when you enter the hotel... This was a strange idea, but understandable - if everyone went in the heavy outer polar boots, it would be water everywhere.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank efa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2007

I stayed at the Radisson SAS Polar Hotel in June 2007. This hotel (which is a 5 minute drive from the airport) is located in the centre of Longyearbyen 1,333 km away from the North Pole. I arrived at 1130 pm and check-in was fast and the service was friendly. I was booked into an apartment which was in a separate building a few feet from the main hotel. The apartment was very clean and spacious and contained a small bedroom with bunk beds, a kitchenette (with stove, fridge, kettle, plates and cutlery) and a small living area (with a small pull out couch, table and chairs) as well as a bathroom with a shower. In June, there is sunlight 24 hours and I was worried that my sleeping would be disturbed. I did not need to worry since the room had blackout blinds on all windows and I slept like a log.

The hotel was large and busy during the time I was there. There is a public computer with internet access as well as wireless service in the rooms. There are few areas where people can sit and relax, converse with other guests, read, warm up after a day out etc. Just off the reception area there is a little loft containing a small library of books relating to Longyearbyen, Arctic history, Arctic animals etc.

I ate at the Barentz Pub within the hotel. The food is expensive by Canadian standards ($25.00 for a club sandwich and fries) but was very tastly and the service is good.

The surrounding area is beautiful. The hotel is surrounded by mountains. There is an old mine nearby that holds tours as well as a museum located right across from the hotel. The harbour is only a few minutes walk away. The tiny flowers that made up the Arctic tundra at that time of year were beautiful. About a 5 minute walk from the hotel, there is a supermarket, some restaurants, a bank and shops. There are lots of shops selling sporting equipment as well as souveniers. Although it was June, it was quite chilly. The temperature was only 4 degrees C (or 39 degrees F).

This is a very charming hotel with excellent service surrounded by beautiful scenery. It was a wonderful Arctic experience

  • Liked — The surrounding area was beautiful
  • Disliked — It is rather expensive--not a hotel for people on a fixed budget
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travelshots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2007

Stayed 4 nights, hotel completely full very day, tourist and scientists. Had a business class room, only difference from a standard room is a bathrobe and coffee making things in the room. The trafic noise was really disturbing!! Stanard rooms are on the quiet side, not that there are a lot of cars, but when they come, you hear them, must be because they come like every 10 minute, nnot constantly.
Shoes are taken off before entering the hotel. The hotel has a nice pub, and a restaurant I did not use because of the price level.
The queen and king of Norway stayed at Spitsbergen hotel further up the valley on the other side of town, also owned by Radisson, but a little away from the center, it is supposed to be more authentic polar style than Radission which is like a city hotel in the artic.
Free internet, wifi. Breakfast is super. Reception employees very nice and helpful all the time.
Airport 5 km from center of Longyearbyen ( Byen = town, Longyear was the first parson to start mining here, hence the name). Flying time from mainland Norway 1h40min, direct fligth to Oslo 3 h. The place has a touch of the old wild west when it comes to building standards. New airport terminal soon to open, being a big improvement over existing facilities. 50 km of roads, wintertime most people use snow scooters. Airport bus ticket $ 7, taxi single person $ 14.
Tax free shop up the road, also for sigarets, beer,wine and liquer.

  • Liked — standard of hotel and location
  • Disliked — noise from nearby 'main' road ( only one road there )
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Svein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2007

Fab hotel, warm ( we went in february), comfortable, helpful...well located so you can walk out straight into the settlement or go to the pub in the hotel (pizza and burger meals, arctic beer), free PC with internet access in the lobby...big yummy breakfasts..stylish and well designed building. Would go again!

  • Liked — blend of traditional and modern
  • Disliked — could be impersonal
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank roseandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2006

When you book a hotel at almost the top of the world, you do not expect a first class experience.
The hotel room we booked was only a standard but it was clean, fully fitted out even had satellite tv.
The food was excellent and we cannot speak highly enough of Micheal who oversaw the resteraunt with total professionalism.
The hotel is not the cheapest but the internet access, luggage storage etc are all things that have to be considered too.
We were in svalbard to start an artic cruise hoping to see polar bears.
We personally saw 10 but in total there was a tally of 42.
It will be hard to top that trip.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank jeanselina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Longyearbyen hotels
0.3 mi away
Svalbard Hotel
Svalbard Hotel
#1 of 3 in Longyearbyen
363 reviews
0.7 mi away
Spitsbergen Hotel
Spitsbergen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Longyearbyen
342 reviews
1.5 mi away
Coal Miners’ Cabins
Coal Miners’ Cabins
#2 of 4 in Longyearbyen
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
#2 of 6 in Longyearbyen
127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Basecamp Hotel
Basecamp Hotel
#1 of 4 in Longyearbyen
253 reviews
1.6 mi away
Guest House 102
Guest House 102
#1 of 6 in Longyearbyen
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen

Property: Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
Address: Road 500, Longyearbyen 9171, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Svalbard > Spitsbergen > Longyearbyen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Longyearbyen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the world's northernmost full service hotel in the heart of Longyearbyen. From your table at Restaurant Nansen you can enjoy the panoramic view towards the majestic mountain Hiorthfjellet accompanied by an excellent Arctic menu and a good selection of wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen Hotel Longyearbyen
Radisson Longyearbyen
Longyearbyen Radisson
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen Svalbard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing