We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Longyearbyen
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I stayed here the night before my Arctic cruise. The room was very comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful, providing me a map of town and suggesting good areas to walk to. The hotel is very close to the Svalbard museum and the main street of town with shops. I had dinner in the pub inside the hotel, and it was very good food. I would recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Longyearbyen.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LHWIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

308 - 314 of 631 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

We were here for one night as part of a cruise group. Everything was handled well by the hotel. Our room was pretty good, the food was also good and we had a friendly pub lunch watching the Wimbledon final on arrival.

I really don't like the so-called tradition of removing shoes on entering. I don't think it's very hygenic, makes the lobby smell and it's a hassle as well. It seems to be in practice all over Longyerbyen and I think it's probably more to save on cleaning than a serious tradition. But no other complaints about this hotel, especially given its location.

Room Tip: Try avoid the apartment rooms - in a separate building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HBWhiteRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I've stayed here twice...in 2007 and in June 2013. Both times were prior to cruises around Svalbard. So, the rooms may not be the best and it's looking old but it's a unique place in the world. The dining room has a very good buffet breakfast and the view is spectacular. The excellent museum is just down the hill. The lobby is dark and has maybe 8 lounge chairs...a wonderful place to watch the world go by but especially to take a nap. The hotel bar has excellent soup and sandwiches for a fast lunch before the trip to the airport. I agree with the comments about the apartment...was assigned to the annex in 2007 and couldn't wait to get out.

Room Tip: request a room in the main hotel...try to avoid the annex...and enjoy the experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 394JaneD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed 2 nights before an arctic cruise on Ms Expedition. Massively expensive and very shabby and felt a bit grubby - I was in the annex in a self catering apartment (which I hadn't actually wanted) which had a set of bunk beds squeezed into a room literally 4ft by 8ft and the hardest mattress I have endured in a long time and I never even slept in a bunk bed as child for goodess sake - I certainly didn't want to as an adult paying over 200 pounds a night!! The room was like a dormitory, and looked like it was last decorated 30 years ago, the final insult being that despite 24 hour daylight there were no blackout curtains and the cheap fabric curtains that were there (in a less than attractive shade of orange) were totally see-through so I couldn't sleep anyway. The only good thing was the omelette I had in the pub, which was delicious and served by a friendly and courteous barman. Even if you are going on a cruise and are going to be picked up from this hotel, stay somewhere else - it's only 10 minutes stroll from one end of town to the other, so it's not a big deal to walk down there in the morning

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Hotel built for the Olympics in Lillehamer replaced to Longyearbyen. Certainly not the most luxurieus Radisson, but hey, this is about the closest you can get to the North Pole. In Longyearbyen the Rica hotel and certainly Basecamp are better. But Radisson has a good souvenir shop. And a nice pub. But the pubfood was a problem. In three days we had to return four meals because of dried out fries, cold fries or a horrible fish burger (with fish pudding instead of a burger, barf!). After sending it back to the kitchen we got something better.
The hotel breakfast was very good, though.

The rooms were a bit like a barrack, but clean and comfy. Free and fast wifi.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for two nights starting May 31st.
To be frank, I was pleasantly surprised. Longyearbyen is really in the middle of nowhere. Literally. To have such a functioning hotel was great.
Rooms are super clean (might need some minor renovation, but then again it is the North Pole!), so are bathrooms. One simple addition would be to have proper blinds on the windows in the land where the sun does not go down.

Service was amazing. Reception staff as well as waiting staff were helpful and curt. Really going out of there way to make sure you are comfortable.

I would definitely recommend it to anyone going to visit Spitsbergen (Svalbard)!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elwy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

After reading the generally positive reviews for this hotel, I was surprised by what I found. I stayed here before and after an expedition up to the North Pole and before and after a 3 day snowmobile trip around Svalbard. I was in a superior room, which was quite small. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom is in serious need of renovation. Plus, there was no shampoo or conditioner or hand soap or any other amenities. Instead, there is a soap dispenser on the wall (similar to what you might find in an airport bathroom). There are curtains in the rooms, but when those are pulled, it is not very dark in the room, which is a problem when there is 24 hour sunlight. THe breakfast buffet was fine, but not remarkable. The view from the restaurant and from the rooms was pretty spectacular. You can see the mountains and the water. The location is good, but since Longyearbyen is such a small town, I don't think there is any bad location. The staff seems like they want to be helpful but are not well trained. The woman at the front desk said she did not know how to make a dinner reservation for us. She then claimed she had figured it out, but when we arrived at the restaurant at the Spitsbergen hotel (excellent restaurant!), they did not have a reservation under our name. The front desk staff also were unable to give us any details about available tours. They do have a left luggage room, but you may want to bring your own luggage locks as the room is not locked. Overall, it was a disappointing experience and I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank schroe59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Longyearbyen hotels
0.3 mi away
Svalbard Hotel
Svalbard Hotel
#1 of 3 in Longyearbyen
398 reviews
0.7 mi away
Spitsbergen Hotel
Spitsbergen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Longyearbyen
352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
#2 of 6 in Longyearbyen
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Coal Miners’ Cabins
Coal Miners’ Cabins
#2 of 4 in Longyearbyen
284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Basecamp Hotel
Basecamp Hotel
#1 of 4 in Longyearbyen
260 reviews
1.6 mi away
Guest House 102
Guest House 102
#1 of 6 in Longyearbyen
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen

Address: Road 500, Longyearbyen 9171, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Svalbard > Spitsbergen > Longyearbyen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Longyearbyen
Price Range: $133 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the world's northernmost full service hotel in the heart of Longyearbyen. From your table at Restaurant Nansen you can enjoy the panoramic view towards the majestic mountain Hiorthfjellet accompanied by an excellent Arctic menu and a good selection of wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen Hotel Longyearbyen
Radisson Longyearbyen
Longyearbyen Radisson
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen Svalbard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing