We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special village on an island with a top class hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Longyearbyen
Kiruna
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A special village on an island with a top class hotel”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I often visit Svalbard and Longyearbyen and usually stay at the Polar Hotel. It is a fine hotel having a cosy atmosphere. The rooms are all right and the restaurant is quite good. The pub in the hotel is a good source if you want to chat with the locals. The hotel is a bit pricey but is worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HAND1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    283
    134
    27
    16
See reviews for
65
234
80
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed at the hotel after a week of hiking in the wilderness. The hotel is good, but there is room for some improvements. Some soap dispensers did not work properly and there was a water leak from one of the toilets. Dining hall which is also used for breakfast has magnificent views, here you can sit a long time and enjoy the sight of mountains and the fjord. The hotel has a great sauna, which can be nice after a day in the arctic nature. The staff is friendly and attentive. We chose to book one of the hotel apartments with three beds. Here is a small kitchen and own food can be made. The apartment room is an affordable and great alternative when you are three people together. The apartment provides the same rights as the hotel room, it means that breakfast and free use of sauna is included in the room price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sverob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We had a very pleasant stay - too short though for this magnificient place! On the last day I found out that the list of activities - which is placed at the entrance before the reception - does not cover all guided tours. Appearently only tours from the companies which the hotel cooperates with. By coincident I heard about a evening hike to the Plateau Mountain with Spitsbergen Outdoor Activities. It was not listed, but it was a great way of saying farewell to Svalbard.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chavian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

I visited Longyearbyn in July and stayed in the Radisson Blu, right in the center of the small town. Whereas the hotel might be one of the best in Spitsbergen, it is far below the normal Radisson Blu standards.

I payed around 200€/night for an "apartment", which was sold as an ordinary room, in the building adjacent to the hotel. My room looked like one in a 1 or 2 star hotel; a bunk bed, a kitchen (according to the website with "coffee and tee provisions", but there was no coffee, nor tee) and an empty minibar. There was no safe either. The simple bathroom was without any anemities. Worst of all, there was rather cold in the room and the curtains did not help to darken enough the room (in the beginning of July there is daylight during the entire night). I had my room in the 2nd floor, with meant that I had to bring my luggage by stairs, since there is no elevator.

The hotel is very pricey, especially as to alcoholic beverages (that is also the general situation in Norway). If I remember correctly, I was charged for a gin & tonic something equivalent to 30€. The bar next to the hotel entrance is very simple and unattractive, whereas the restaurant does have a spectacular view to the mountains outside of Longyearbyen. I enjoyed one the buffet dinner, which was very rich, nice and well prepared. The breakfast was more limited: on two mornings the scrambled eggs were finished and the bacon was overburnt. However, the personnel in the restaurant was generally very courteous and professional. As a nice touch they had a limited breakfast on my last morning, even if I had to leave the hotel around 2:30 a.m.

The Radisson Blu Longyearbyn was a major disappointment and it seems to be overpriced because of the general lack of hotel rooms in Spitsbergen. Next time I will try another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank DiplTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed at the Radisson Blu Polar during our recent visit to Spitsbergen. The location is good you can reach it by a short drive from the airport. We had a comfortable and pleasant stay here. The staffs here are friendly and offer a great service. The room we stayed in was clean, modern and comfortable. The bathroom was clean with necessary amenities and modern fittings. There is wireless internet connection available here. The restaurant here serves good food. But it is quiet expensive. The food at the bar is quite reasonably priced. We would definitely stay at this place again. We recommend it to others too.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevenPs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes, France
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Our family spent 4 days in total at the Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, before and after a cruise in the Spitsbergen Archipelago. This is basically the only choice in town and one certainly pays for it. Reception staff is friendly, but restaurant staff was quite uninterested. For a more varied menu and friendlier service, try the bar at the entrance of the hotel (not the bar that is part of the restaurant). BTW: they make great pizzas.

Going to Spitsbergen in the summer one has to realize that the Sun is up all day and night, and I do not mean slightly above the horizon as is the case in northern Finland, I mean way up in the sky. This means that, when it's sunny, the rooms get really really hot. Also the room curtains are ill-fitting meaning that you basically get broad daylight in the rooms 24 hours a day.

Room Tip: Prefer the bar to the restaurant for food
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank qppstudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lappeenranta, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Quality modern hotel in the middle of nowhere. Free WLAN with 24 h coupons available. Not very cost effective but very nice hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koldex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Longyearbyen hotels
0.3 mi away
Svalbard Hotel
Svalbard Hotel
#1 of 3 in Longyearbyen
356 reviews
0.7 mi away
Spitsbergen Hotel
Spitsbergen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Longyearbyen
337 reviews
1.5 mi away
Coal Miners’ Cabins
Coal Miners’ Cabins
#2 of 4 in Longyearbyen
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
#2 of 6 in Longyearbyen
122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Basecamp Hotel
Basecamp Hotel
#1 of 4 in Longyearbyen
245 reviews
1.6 mi away
Guest House 102
Guest House 102
#1 of 6 in Longyearbyen
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen

Property: Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
Address: Road 500, Longyearbyen 9171, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Svalbard > Spitsbergen > Longyearbyen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Longyearbyen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the world's northernmost full service hotel in the heart of Longyearbyen. From your table at Restaurant Nansen you can enjoy the panoramic view towards the majestic mountain Hiorthfjellet accompanied by an excellent Arctic menu and a good selection of wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen Hotel Longyearbyen
Radisson Longyearbyen
Longyearbyen Radisson
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen Svalbard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing