We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Svalbard Husky

Svalbard Husky
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Svalbard Husky offers guided tours and dog sledding in the beautiful nature the Arctic Archipelago Svalbard. Experience the magnificent arctic nature while driving your on pack of dogs in front of the sledge. See the reindeers, polar foxes and now and then the polar bear in its natural environment. No matter what type of tour you decide for, we can promise you that Svalbard will give you wildlife experiences that you will never forget. Svalbard Husky Holds the Eco label of "Eco-Lighthouse"
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Great way to spend half a day. They collect you from your accommodation, and, if you aren't properly kitted out, provide cold weather gear for you to wear. They take you out to the kennels, and you get to go round and say hello to all the dogs, who are really pleased to see you (if you are afraid of dogs take a rain check on this bit - they love to jump up and hug you!!). Then you help load the trailer with the chosen teams and go off to the sleds. You are put in pairs so beware, one of you will have to be the musher and do the driving - I wasn't aware of that and lucky for me I was with the instructor so I didn't have to do it as I didn't want to. You get to harness up the dogs and then un-harness them at the end and then get to help feed them all before saying goodbye. The ride itself was exhilirating. The instructor was very friendly and gave us lots of local information - she loves her job and it shows!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    44
    8
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
237 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Best experience of a lifetime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Dogsledding over Foxfonna on a clear sunny day is definitely the highlight of our trip to Svalbard thanks to the excellent care of Irene from Svalbard Husky. She picked us up at 9 am and took us to the dogyard. On the way she pointed out the lovely surroundings, the deers and birds we saw. She is very knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. We had the most enjoyable experience. We are beginners so she patiently explained to is how it works to harness the friendly dogs and to get them ready. She introduces each dog to us and we helped to feed them when we returned to the dogyard 4 hours later. The view at Foxfonna was spectacular ! I definitely recommend this as MUST do once in a lifetime experience ! We felt very safe in their hands.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank WBin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Unmissable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Had a great day yesterday. Weather was fantastic which helped but the views were stunning. A very professional service- friendly and enthusiastic and a fabulous day out.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank stewart162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Personal, familiar and safe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Svalbard Husky is a family run business with a personal touch. Nice people, great service, great ride and -last but not least- happy dogs that are obviously well looked after. Great participating in the preparations and afterwork for the ride, cuddling the dogs and learning a little about do's and don'ts!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tigerpeluche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

A wonderful experience, and a great way to explore the area around Longyearbyen. No exhaust, noisy engines or broken down snow mobiles - just beautiful nature, hard-working dogs and the possibility to enjoy the company and scenery while on the move.

Strongly recommended!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank marlenew89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Svalbard Husky also viewed

Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
 
Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
Spitsbergen, Svalbard
 

Been to Svalbard Husky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing