We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missing some finishing touches”
Review of Svalbard Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longyearbyen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Svalbard Lodge
Reviewed May 4, 2013

First, location and space is perfect...they got that one right. Right in the heart of town.....and having two bedrooms was nice. Seems more appropriately for a family with a couple of kids....kitchen area and wash machine...nice but something we really didn't need for a few day stay. Downside? Seems to be constructed by poor quality contractors with no standards to enforce. Nice Tv but mounted two feet off of the floor and poorly positioned for viewing. Shower door didn't close right, no hooks in the bathroom for towels or clothes, no rack or shelve to hold toiletries in the shower...had to use the dispenser of hand soap from the sink as no real shampoo or other toiletries provided. A hole in the one bedroom door that looks like someone gave it a good kick and hundreds of nail heads stuck in the walls...NOTHING at all on any of the walls....white walls..no pictures, paintings or otherwise. Interior decorator was on vacation apparently when they decided to open this up. Plumbing for the radiator in the living room was crooked...like the measured where to drill the holes into the floor and just said oops...lets just bend the pipe with a hammer to make it work. Looks like soviet eastern block style is back! Also....no maid service...no a big deal, just nobody mentioned it. This lodge is really just an annex to the real hotel...Svalbard Hotel which is down the street....so no office or common areas here. It has the minimum....beds and a shower so good enough I suppose. I would be surprised if the owner ever set foot in the apartment....no pride in the finished product.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank army04steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 52 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

Svalbard is not a cheap holiday destination so even the "good value" accommodation is going to be pretty pricey. Three nights at Svalbard Lodge cost me 7650NOK (around $1300USD) for a booking made a month in advance.
If you are visiting Svalbard I recommend you try to secure accommodation well in advance as there were only two options when I booked and this one was the cheaper of the two (!!)
I stayed in room 206 which unfortunately was directly above Svalbar - a bar/club that pumped out disco music until 2am. Ironically, there are signs in Svalbar Lodge that ask occupants to be quiet after 11pm, although your own noise would be drowned out by the noise from the bar which includes general rowdiness from people leaving the bar.
The apartment itself was fantastic - very spacious, two rooms (bunk beds, no double beds) and absolutely spotless. There are two toilets and a very big bathroom with a washing machine. The kitchen is stocked with crockery, cutlery and cooking tools - no coffee percolator though which is unusual - so you can do simple self catering.
The apartment is heated with floor heating so has lovely ambient warmth after a day out in the snow. It also has a big store room so you can leave skis, outdoor gear, luggage etc in there.
Location is also fantastic - right in the middle of town and close to the supermarket, post office, Kroa (excellent pub) and Svalbard Hotell (the reception for Svalbard Lodge).
It would be a perfect and inexpensive apartment to share between 4 friends. It sleeps 6 but I think it would be a bit cramped sharing with 5 others, particularly since there is only one shower and the water pressure is like a dribble.
Very simple booking/check in/check out and friendly reception staff in Svalbard Hotell.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sayakarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birgitta906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Mette-Mari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank Ove12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Longyearbyen hotels
0.1 mi away
Svalbard Hotel
Svalbard Hotel
#1 of 4 in Longyearbyen
422 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
0.5 mi away
Funken Lodge
Funken Lodge
#3 of 4 in Longyearbyen
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Coal Miners’ Cabins
Coal Miners’ Cabins
#2 of 3 in Longyearbyen
63 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
#2 of 6 in Longyearbyen
136 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gjestehuset 102
Gjestehuset 102
#1 of 6 in Longyearbyen
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Svalbard Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svalbard Lodge

Address: Pb 548, Longyearbyen 9171, Norway
Location: Norway > Svalbard > Spitsbergen > Longyearbyen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Longyearbyen
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Svalbard Lodge Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing