We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pastries, but very busy and rather noisy in consequence”

Fruene Kaffe Og Vinbar
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Longyearbyen
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed August 20, 2018

We enjoyed welcome hot chocolates and sticky buns here on a chilly morning. It was a Sunday and the place was packed, so it was a useful but not very restful place to relax.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 332 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2018

All of the photographers were asked to meet here for a pre-voyage meeting and to meet each other before we were scheduled to spend the next 12 days together on board the M/S Origo SMYR. Outwardly this place appears to be a nice place to meet, have coffee and get together. It's much ore than that. Personally I do not drink coffee, and neither does Lynette, my better half. However, we both enjoy hot chocolate and here is they really shine. Most coffee shops just supply an everyday hot chocolate. Not here. I'm not going to divulge what they do, suffice it say, you must try their blend and learn to savor it. The coffee drinkers in our group also have coffee aficionados and they put their coffee on a higher level than most coffee shops they have subscribed to. Here is ethereally shine: Chocolate that is made by them. You can lookout their chocolates and if you know a chocolatier and know their methodology, you will find that this outpost at 78ºN is a real surprise. Is this the most northerly chocolate shop in the world? I don't know for certain, yet it very well could be. Another little surprise: They make sandwiches right on the premises as you watch. It was the place where our first met before our voyage and it was the place where a few of us who were staying a few extra days in Longyearbyen before we went back to the rest of the outside world.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 943RickR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2018

Visited Fruene for coffee and also tried the Apple cake. One of the best apple cakes I've tried. The coffee was good too. Really nice decor.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nirupamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2018

Nice and casual atmosphere, helpful staff, only several dishes offered - but very tasty, and at the same time less expensive than any other place in town. They also sell pralines that are locally made.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank milossst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2018 via mobile

I came here nearly every day as they make an amazing hot chocolate, it was some of the best I’ve ever had. You can get it along with a selection of little chocolates, the best ones are the little white chocolate polar bears. Prices are really good.

Plus, there are always a lot of tables available and space is hardly an issue. Definitely recommend if - like me - you love chocolate!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank 917stellac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fruene Kaffe Og Vinbar also viewed

Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
 
Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
 
Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen
 

Been to Fruene Kaffe Og Vinbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing