We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Svalbard Hotell The Vault(Longyearbyen)(Great Value!)
$214
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gjestehuset 102(Longyearbyen)(Great Value!)
$149
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Funken Lodge(Longyearbyen)
$331
$321
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg(Longyearbyen)
$341
$330
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$351
$269
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coal Miners’ Cabins(Longyearbyen)(Great Value!)
$118
$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Svalbard Hotel(Longyearbyen)
$275
$249
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Longyearbyen Camping(Longyearbyen)(Great Value!)
$36
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveler rating
206
62
6
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
62
6
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdog sleddingtrapper's lodgebunk bedsbreakfast roomcomplimentary tea and coffeereindeer stewnorthern lightsbest restaurant in townat short noticesaffron ginrustic hotelfamily suiteglass ceilingsteep stairsrooms are lovelyhot showernice shower
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 283 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2014 via mobile

Great friendly atmosphere and everything is close. Restaurant Kroa right in the same building serving excellent food. Room was cosy and the bed was calling under the soft and warm planket. Common room had lots of room to sit on and watch tv.

Stayed: October 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 768ristor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2014

We stayed for three nights. We loved the location, atmosphere and comfort of the hotel. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Just really nice people.

We had a room on the first floor just outside the breakfast room. Our room had a bed big enough to accommodate my husband and I and also a single bunk above it. There is a small table next to the bed and a bench along part of a wall. The room is not set up for lounging. Mainly just sleeping. Which was fine because of the terrific common areas available to hotel guests (more on that below). There was a heater in the room and temperature control for the bathroom, each of which we set to our own comfort level. The room was clean and the bed fairly comfortable (bit soft and depressed in the middle). The only item lacking was a hairdryer in the bathroom. In fact, I think there was not a power outlet in the bathroom. Our room was quiet at all hours as well.

The hotel requires guests to remove their shoes at the front entrance. Great idea because it keeps the common areas clean. Everyone walks around in socks. We spent a lot of our time in the common area on the first floor when at the hotel. There is comfortable seating and complimentary tea and coffee and a bowl of cookies and biscuits. Just great to come back to after time out in the cold; particularly after an active day. There is a second common area on the second floor that has a television. But we enjoyed the first floor area so spent our time there.

Breakfast was served in the breakfast room. There was plenty to choose from. The food I ate was good.

There is a direct entrance from the hotel into a restaurant and there is a pub (which we preferred) directly across the way. A market and shops are all within a 5 minute walk.

We would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BornForTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2014

I stayed here before and after a skiing trip, and it must be the best hotel in Longyearbyen. It's different from any other hotel you've seen,and the use of natural interior makes you feel welcome in the Arctic. The breakfast is awesome, great, tasty food and the waffle maker is a winner for both kids and grownup kids.

Room Tip: Get rooms upstairs. The rooms on the first floor has views from the streets directly in.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2014

Trappers definitely falls in the category of hotels that I would like to re-visit and that I can call a destination on their own. Excellent service, excellent breakfast and nice atmospheric rooms. I also took a look at the other options in Longyearbyen and Trappers is far out the most unique one. The hotel reception was extremely helpful while arranging day tours even if their own company did not offer the tour I was willing to take. Rooms were impeccably clean. There is also a great restaurant connected to the hotel where I had nearly all my dinners - good food and a local feeling. The only part of Trappers that I beileve can benefit from some improvement is the design of the bathrooms inside the rooms. The hotel is quite stylish ones but the bathrooms do not match with the overall style quality of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BurcuBasar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Loved the rooms and decor - lots of wood, interesting knick-knacks, pictures etc. This is a hotel with real character and charm. The breakfast was good too, and you are right in the centre of town, which is very convenient if you have just arrived and want a wander.

If you travel in the summer, bring your eye covers for sleeping as the black out blinds leave a lot to be desired - beams of sunlight on your face at midnight don't make for an easy night's sleep!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews