We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Svalbard Hotell The Vault(Longyearbyen)(Great Value!)
$211
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Funken Lodge(Longyearbyen)
$288
$282
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$244
$221
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coal Miners’ Cabins(Longyearbyen)(Great Value!)
$91
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Svalbard Hotel(Longyearbyen)
$271
$246
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gjestehuset 102(Longyearbyen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg(Longyearbyen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Longyearbyen Camping(Longyearbyen)
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveler rating
207
62
6
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
207
62
6
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdog sleddingbunk bedstrappers cabinbreakfast roomcomplimentary tea and coffeebest restaurant in townat short noticerustic hotelfamily suiteglass ceilingsteep stairsnice showerwarm atmosphereother hotelsspecial thankslodge feelanimal skins
Filter
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 284 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2014

This hotel suits its location to a tee! It is completely different from anywhere else you might ever stay. My room was as small as it could be, yet it was perfect for a single traveller, and the type of place you meet other interesting fellow travellers. It was also very warm, as are all buildings in Longyearbyen with their common central heating system. Keeping the window open solved that problem, with no fear of noise from such a quiet environment. Breakfast is lovely, with a waffle maker for guests to use. Room keys are attached to a doggy bone chew, so no fear of bringing it home by mistake. There was a lovely resident German Shepherd dog by his kennel outside the front-I guess it's not a good idea to flash the koom key bone in front of him or he might play "fetch". A great little hotel in a fascinating destination!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DublinFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

If you have the misfortune, as I did, of only being in Longyearbyen for a couple of nights, make this your hotel. What might seem kitchy at first is actually an incredibly well maintained and beautifully decorated hotel in a place where both are a rarity.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mroeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Hmm, I wrote a nice and long review of the hotel, and I lost it due to time-out. :-(

Anyhow, this is by far the best hotel we have stayed anywhere in the world, and I do mean it.

We also stayed at Radisson Blu Polar hotel, but there is no comparison to this one. This one beats Radisson Blu in all accounts.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank man0haran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Was here in may for two nights at the beginning and end of a dogsledding trip with Basecamp Spitsbergen. Booked the accommodation through the tour operator. Was not really sure what to expect but thoroughly enjoyed it. We arrived early afternoon with the morning Norwegian flight and took the bus to the hotel. Cosy reception area with coffee and tea available all day and lot's of wood everywhere. We're given keys to our room straightaway and we're lucky as we got a big room with two additional bedroom at the back of the property. As stated in the other reviews, beds are bunk bed style with one 'lits jumeaux' double for couples that don't mind snuggling up. Bathroom basic but OK and nice amenities. Decoration In room was really nice and, would it not have been such nice weather outside, we would probably have been in the room reading a book and looking outside to the mountains the whole afternoon.

Outside of the Lobby and the Breakfast room, the other public space is the bar/lounge on the top floor where you can look outside through the glass roof (nice in winter with Nordic lights I think) which was comfy as well. Did not spend too much time here.

In the evening we had dinner at the Kroa restaurant that is linked to the hotel, there was a local wedding going on with a lot of singing. Food was good, beer tasted great and the overall atmosphere was really nice. Would recommend for dinner.

Breakfast next day was good: they had a waffle machine (like any other hotel in Norway, why does the rest of the world not start copying this!)and the other offering was good.. also had a couple of more experimental local delicacies.

So all in all: Really nice place to stay. We also visited some of the other hotels and as you're going to spend a fortune on a hotel here anyway, you might as well make it something special. You'll find that in this hotel. A lot of the other hotels seemed like the standard hotels that you find everywhere else.

Room Tip: make sure to request room with bathroom (from the floorplan we noticed that not all rooms had this) and if you like to sleep early, maybe ask for a room that's not on top of the bar.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rinus74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BasecampSpitsbergen, Manager at Basecamp Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Hi, hope your travel home safe!
Thank you for your kind words and well described review. We hope that this will bring more guests to our hotel.
And it's no better way to start your day than with fresh fried waffles!

We would just like to give others some information about our bathrooms if this has been unclear at some point, there is bathrooms with showers in all of our rooms.

We hope you will one day return to us at Trappers Hotel and Longyearbyen
Its been a pleasure having you here!

Best regards Sandra Hällsten, Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Authentic and fun place in Longyearbyen. Rooms are basic with bunk beds ( except a nice double bed in room 16), very friendly staff, good advise for excursions and excellent breakfast buffet. Good location and outstanding service, the reception staff went out of their way to be helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ChristineBindert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews