We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveler rating
214
62
6
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
214
62
6
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdog sleddingbunk bedslog cabinbreakfast roombest restaurant in townat short noticerustic hotelyummy breakfastdrinking teafamily suiteglass ceilingsteep stairsadjoining restaurantwarm atmosphereother hotelspolar bearspecial thanks
Filter
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 291 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Very original trapper log cabin design, full of ideas retracing the history of the Spitzbergen islands. Service is excellent and very personal. Cosy lobby and Cognac Loft under the roof. The buffet breakfast is really top both in terms of quality of products presentation and service

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterGantenbein1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

A honeymoon to the dark skies on the top of the world sounded crazy at first but it truly was the best experience ever!
Taking amazing hikes, dog sledd tours and snowscooter-rides with the nice and skilled tour guides and long romantic walks around the neighbourhood (keeping each other warm), eating moose, reindeer... joining events like the up&down and the outdoor sauna (including jumping in the cold sea)
It was all AMAZING!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IreneEhv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed twice here during our trip. Rustic ambience with a small size means a great personal service. Rooms were great noting of course that the are the standard European twins and bunks. No food in the hotel but it is connected throughnanwalkway to one and a few dozen steps to two others. Excellent value for money (for Svalbard). Part of the base camp tour company so transfers and connections all flowered smoothly.

Room Tip: Right in central area so views are overlooking the town. No view of the Harbour as younarembehing another hotel but excellent views (upstairs) of everything else. No lift so if this is an issue then ground floor room will be your option.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike_R2600-oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

My first time at Svalbard. I wanted an warm cozy place to face the external ambiance...So i have it!

In the end of the high season i was the only guest in the hotel, it was fantastic, i've never felt alone, but i felt i was at home. The wood has its warm power, and make the things very cozy.

It's what i call an "simulator hotel", where do you have all the components to imagine your expedition story in an Arctic Place...So i suppose you don't expect luxury.

Good
Breakfast -Different, not fantastic, with norwedish ingredients
Service - professional. In the north of Europe, people are very objective, they very cordial, and usually don't fail, but they always show "little smiles", maybe it's because of temperature.
Location - In the middle of the small city, access by foot to everything.

Bad
There are no real bad things...what makes you happy sometimes make you sad

It is still my favorite in Longyearbyen.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rodrigo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I stayed at Trappers Hotel with 2 friends for a night on either end of our arctic cruise and we absolutely loved it. Lovely and warm, plenty of room in the triple rooms for 3 of us plus bags, great shower, cosy lounge areas including the great loft and a yummy breakfast (included).
The location is brilliant, right in the town centre and it has a great bar and restaurant attached (Kroa). Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison234321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews