We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basecamp's Trapper hotel operation combines original design and friendly service”
Review of Basecamp Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Basecamp Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Longyearbyen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pokhara, Nepal
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Basecamp's Trapper hotel operation combines original design and friendly service”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Very original trapper log cabin design, full of ideas retracing the history of the Spitzbergen islands. Service is excellent and very personal. Cosy lobby and Cognac Loft under the roof. The buffet breakfast is really top both in terms of quality of products presentation and service

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterGantenbein1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    57
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
32
117
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2014

A honeymoon to the dark skies on the top of the world sounded crazy at first but it truly was the best experience ever!
Taking amazing hikes, dog sledd tours and snowscooter-rides with the nice and skilled tour guides and long romantic walks around the neighbourhood (keeping each other warm), eating moose, reindeer... joining events like the up&down and the outdoor sauna (including jumping in the cold sea)
It was all AMAZING!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IreneEhv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed twice here during our trip. Rustic ambience with a small size means a great personal service. Rooms were great noting of course that the are the standard European twins and bunks. No food in the hotel but it is connected throughnanwalkway to one and a few dozen steps to two others. Excellent value for money (for Svalbard). Part of the base camp tour company so transfers and connections all flowered smoothly.

Room Tip: Right in central area so views are overlooking the town. No view of the Harbour as younarembehing an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_R2600-oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

My first time at Svalbard. I wanted an warm cozy place to face the external ambiance...So i have it!

In the end of the high season i was the only guest in the hotel, it was fantastic, i've never felt alone, but i felt i was at home. The wood has its warm power, and make the things very cozy.

It's what i call an "simulator hotel", where do you have all the components to imagine your expedition story in an Arctic Place...So i suppose you don't expect luxury.

Good
Breakfast -Different, not fantastic, with norwedish ingredients
Service - professional. In the north of Europe, people are very objective, they very cordial, and usually don't fail, but they always show "little smiles", maybe it's because of temperature.
Location - In the middle of the small city, access by foot to everything.

Bad
There are no real bad things...what makes you happy sometimes make you sad

It is still my favorite in Longyearbyen.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodrigo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I stayed at Trappers Hotel with 2 friends for a night on either end of our arctic cruise and we absolutely loved it. Lovely and warm, plenty of room in the triple rooms for 3 of us plus bags, great shower, cosy lounge areas including the great loft and a yummy breakfast (included).
The location is brilliant, right in the town centre and it has a great bar and restaurant attached (Kroa). Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison234321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Wasn't quite sure where to stay when I was looking to book Svalbard, but came across this place and was immediately intrigued. Looked stylish and was placed in the centre of town.

I am so incredibly glad I booked this place, it was everything I hoped for and so much more.

Rooms are 'trapper' style, which is quirky, very comfortable and so photogenic. Sure, some people might have an issue with single beds (though they do have a double bed room you can request) but it wasn't a problem for me and my husband. Also, I read a review that moaned about the bathroom floor getting wet from the shower. There is a squeegee provided - problem solved.

Reception staff are so friendly and incredibly helpful. Although the promised 'breakfast to go' was not waiting for us before our 4am flight, the breakfast that you get during regular service is amazing. You can enjoy smoked salmon, berry smoothies and even make your own fresh waffles.

The style of the hotel is undoubtedly its best feature, and it is well worth the money to me to stay in somewhere so unique. If you just want a room to get your head down and aren't fussed about how it looks, then you might consider a cheaper option as this place is pretty pricey, but like I said, well worth it.

Location is unbeatable - right in the centre of Longyearbyen.

Would absolutely recommend the hotel. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Request a double room if single beds are an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydney_chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

If you are looking for a unique experience in a unique part of the world, look no further. The Trapper's hotel is rustic, well designed and very well maintained. The staff is welcoming, friendly and very knowledgeable. If you are going to treat yourself by going all of the way to the end of the earth, be sure to treat yourself to a very special hotel.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms above the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACKTraveler28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Longyearbyen hotels
0.0 mi away
Svalbard Hotel
Svalbard Hotel
#1 of 3 in Longyearbyen
356 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
0.4 mi away
Spitsbergen Hotel
Spitsbergen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Longyearbyen
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Coal Miners’ Cabins
Coal Miners’ Cabins
#2 of 4 in Longyearbyen
266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
#2 of 6 in Longyearbyen
122 reviews
1.3 mi away
Guest House 102
Guest House 102
#1 of 6 in Longyearbyen
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basecamp Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basecamp Hotel

Property: Basecamp Hotel
Address: Main street of Svalbard | Boks 316, Longyearbyen 9171, Norway (Formerly Trapper's Hotel)
Location: Norway > Svalbard > Spitsbergen > Longyearbyen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Longyearbyen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Basecamp Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basecamp Hotel is situated right at the heart of Longyearbyen, among restaurants, pubs, shops and bank. It is absolutely Longyearbyen's most amazing hotel; decorated in traditional trapper's style with driftwood, sealskins, pictures and objects that illustrate the past and current trappers' life in the Arctic. Despite its rusticity, Basecamp Hotel offers high quality accommodation with unique style! Basecamp Hotel is part of Basecamp Explorer Spitsbergen, which operates day trips and expeditions to Isfjord Radio, Trapper’s Station and Nordenskiöld Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Basecamp Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basecamp Hotel Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen, Svalbard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing