We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Svalbard Hotell The Vault(Longyearbyen)(Great Value!)
$214
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Funken Lodge(Longyearbyen)
$330
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg(Longyearbyen)
$340
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Gjestehuset 102(Longyearbyen)(Great Value!)
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$297
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Svalbard Hotel(Longyearbyen)
$274
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coal Miners’ Cabins(Longyearbyen)(Great Value!)
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Longyearbyen Camping(Longyearbyen)(Great Value!)
$36
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveler rating
206
62
6
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
62
6
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdog sleddingtrapper's lodgebunk bedsbreakfast roomcomplimentary tea and coffeereindeer stewnorthern lightsbest restaurant in townat short noticesaffron ginrustic hotelfamily suiteglass ceilingsteep stairsrooms are lovelyhot showernice shower
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 283 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2014

A honeymoon to the dark skies on the top of the world sounded crazy at first but it truly was the best experience ever!
Taking amazing hikes, dog sledd tours and snowscooter-rides with the nice and skilled tour guides and long romantic walks around the neighbourhood (keeping each other warm), eating moose, reindeer... joining events like the up&down and the outdoor sauna (including jumping in the cold sea)
It was all AMAZING!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IreneEhv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed twice here during our trip. Rustic ambience with a small size means a great personal service. Rooms were great noting of course that the are the standard European twins and bunks. No food in the hotel but it is connected throughnanwalkway to one and a few dozen steps to two others. Excellent value for money (for Svalbard). Part of the base camp tour company so transfers and connections all flowered smoothly.

Room Tip: Right in central area so views are overlooking the town. No view of the Harbour as younarembehing another hotel but excellent views (upstairs) of everything else. No lift so if this is an issue then ground floor room will be your option.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike_R2600-oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

My first time at Svalbard. I wanted an warm cozy place to face the external ambiance...So i have it!

In the end of the high season i was the only guest in the hotel, it was fantastic, i've never felt alone, but i felt i was at home. The wood has its warm power, and make the things very cozy.

It's what i call an "simulator hotel", where do you have all the components to imagine your expedition story in an Arctic Place...So i suppose you don't expect luxury.

Good
Breakfast -Different, not fantastic, with norwedish ingredients
Service - professional. In the north of Europe, people are very objective, they very cordial, and usually don't fail, but they always show "little smiles", maybe it's because of temperature.
Location - In the middle of the small city, access by foot to everything.

Bad
There are no real bad things...what makes you happy sometimes make you sad

It is still my favorite in Longyearbyen.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rodrigo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I stayed at Trappers Hotel with 2 friends for a night on either end of our arctic cruise and we absolutely loved it. Lovely and warm, plenty of room in the triple rooms for 3 of us plus bags, great shower, cosy lounge areas including the great loft and a yummy breakfast (included).
The location is brilliant, right in the town centre and it has a great bar and restaurant attached (Kroa). Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison234321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Wasn't quite sure where to stay when I was looking to book Svalbard, but came across this place and was immediately intrigued. Looked stylish and was placed in the centre of town.

I am so incredibly glad I booked this place, it was everything I hoped for and so much more.

Rooms are 'trapper' style, which is quirky, very comfortable and so photogenic. Sure, some people might have an issue with single beds (though they do have a double bed room you can request) but it wasn't a problem for me and my husband. Also, I read a review that moaned about the bathroom floor getting wet from the shower. There is a squeegee provided - problem solved.

Reception staff are so friendly and incredibly helpful. Although the promised 'breakfast to go' was not waiting for us before our 4am flight, the breakfast that you get during regular service is amazing. You can enjoy smoked salmon, berry smoothies and even make your own fresh waffles.

The style of the hotel is undoubtedly its best feature, and it is well worth the money to me to stay in somewhere so unique. If you just want a room to get your head down and aren't fussed about how it looks, then you might consider a cheaper option as this place is pretty pricey, but like I said, well worth it.

Location is unbeatable - right in the centre of Longyearbyen.

Would absolutely recommend the hotel. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Request a double room if single beds are an issue.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydney_chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews