We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Svalbard Hotell The Vault(Longyearbyen)(Great Value!)
$214
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Funken Lodge(Longyearbyen)
$331
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg(Longyearbyen)
$341
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Gjestehuset 102(Longyearbyen)(Great Value!)
$149
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Svalbard Hotel(Longyearbyen)
$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$298
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coal Miners’ Cabins(Longyearbyen)(Great Value!)
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Longyearbyen Camping(Longyearbyen)(Great Value!)
$36
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveler rating
206
62
6
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
62
6
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdog sleddingtrapper's lodgebunk bedsbreakfast roomcomplimentary tea and coffeereindeer stewnorthern lightsbest restaurant in townat short noticesaffron ginrustic hotelfamily suiteglass ceilingsteep stairsrooms are lovelyhot showernice shower
Filter
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 283 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Great hotel. We felt at home. Stunning decoration and very friendly staff, from the cleaning service to front-desk. Worth every single penny. They arranged all of our excursions and attended our requests. They are not driven by TIPS. Deeply recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andres M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I stayed here for one night before a cruise around Svalbard.
The staff were excellent, very helpful, and the included breakfast was surprisingly good.
I would not want to stay here for more than a night though, as the rooms are not well laid out, and the curtains didn't do anything to block the 24 hours of sunlight - good for the "trapper" experience, but not so great for getting any sleep.

One warning - you have to take your shoes off before entering all hotels in Svalbard.
This is not a problem in itself, but it leads to a potentially dangerous issue - when walking downstairs to the breakfast room in socks, with slippery polished wood stairs, I was lucky not to suffer a serious injury when I slipped on the stairs.
If staying here, I recommend you use the main stairs, rather than the steeper stairs to the breakfast room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DR99_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

One of the few places on earth where a bottle of milk is more expensive than beer in the supermarkets!

Great spot, great nearby steakhouse, really special "trappers" atmosphere and nice, clean rooms. When on Svalbard I would recommend this place or Mary Ann's Polarrigg which is also very special and nothing you've experienced before.

If you feel adventureous, take a snowmobile to Isfjord Radio all the way on the west coast. The old radio station have been restored to a hotel which is REALLY something special! Trips can be arranged from Trapper Lodge in Spitsbergen.

Beware of polar bears.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank brwatne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I was planning on staying in Longyearbyen for a couple of days before joining a Lindblad/National Geographic cruise. Staying at a small, quirky hotel in the centre of town appealed and it didn't disappoint. While the weather outside wasn't always ideal there was a very pleasant loft area to hide in until the weather changed again.
In Longyearbyen tradition dictates that you leave your outside shoes at the door. If you decide to wander around in socks be careful, especially with the back stairs from the breakfast room, as the polished floors can be slippery.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

There are conventional hotels in Longyearbyen (e.g. Radisson Blue) so you can stay there if you really do not like different experiences, but if you do, then you have to stay here. It really looks like a trapper's lodge, everything is made of recycled packaging (coffee bags on all walls) but it is extremely comfortable and full of atmosphere. Rooms are good, the staff is extremely friendly and efficient and breakfast was pretty good too. We really enjoyed our stay here. They say they do not have a restaurant and strictly speaking that is true but the Kroa is in the same building (just go out of the hotel door and enter again by another side door) and there is a pub next door so that is not much of a problem.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesXXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews