We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience”
Review of Basecamp Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Basecamp Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Longyearbyen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“An experience”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

There are conventional hotels in Longyearbyen (e.g. Radisson Blue) so you can stay there if you really do not like different experiences, but if you do, then you have to stay here. It really looks like a trapper's lodge, everything is made of recycled packaging (coffee bags on all walls) but it is extremely comfortable and full of atmosphere. Rooms are good, the staff is extremely friendly and efficient and breakfast was pretty good too. We really enjoyed our stay here. They say they do not have a restaurant and strictly speaking that is true but the Kroa is in the same building (just go out of the hotel door and enter again by another side door) and there is a pub next door so that is not much of a problem.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesXXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    58
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
35
120
33
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

In a town of uninspiring prefabricated huts Basecamp Spitsbergen is a quirky and fun alternative. It is also a welcome change from the utilitarian, soulless hotels in which Scandinavia seems to excell. The entire hotel and the rooms are decorated to look as if it were a giant log cabin - as the name suggests, a trapper's lodge. Seal pelts and reindeer antlers decorate the walls, along with old black and white photos of intrepid explorers. The room was rustic, the bathroom was compact but modern and clean. Breakfast was fine (on a par with a three star hotel, I would say), with most of the seating arranged around a long communal table watched over by a polar bear (dead, skinned and attached to the wall, I should add). Staff were friendly, although when I asked what the sliced meat was on the breakfast buffet was, the waitress did not know, or make any attempt to find out. The hotel is well located right in the centre of the 'town'. There is free wi-fi and free coffee and tea in reception. All in all, a fun place to stay and which effectively creates an atmosphere appropriate to the location. I would certainly stay there again if I returned to Spitsbergen as I like to go to places which have character and are a bit different. According to the hotel information sheets in the room there are three other similar 'Basecamp' establishments in Spitsbergen. Note: there is no elevator to the first floor.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Very atmospheric, though basic rooms, but what can you expect when everything is shipped or flown in. It had a great feel with common rooms to sit in and a very good breakfast.

Our ship was leaving in the afternoon and they didn't mind us coming and going and helping ourselves to tea and coffee until it was time to leave. Plenty of hot water.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smithcomyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This hotel is worth a visit, even if you don't stay there. Much thought has gone into its exterior and interior, making you feel that you really are staying in a remote part of the world; rather like an upmarket trapper's lodge. Pricey too. Comfortable, with every mod con, and the staff went out of their way to make sure I could achieve all I had on my wish list. I've stayed in two hotel in Svalbard now, on two separate visits in 2008 and 2011, and this is my No.1 pick. The breakfasts are copious, and good quality.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daring2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Easily the most interesting accomodation in Longyearbyen this traditional style Trappers Lodge was warm and welcoming. Tea, coffee and biscuits in the lobby and breakfast room available all day and night gave it a homelike feel, and trying to spot the Northern Lights through the glass roofed Cognac lounge was an enjoyable experience. The tour operator Basecamp, the same company as Trappers, we had the best experience and excursions with and highly recommend the trip to Isfjord Radio.

Room Tip: There are great options here for familys with many of the rooms having one or two beds. The children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Isles
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

A really different experience, not like any hotel I have ever stayed in, you got the feeling of a real trapper's lodge, the room was small and simple and authentic but it had everything you needed and after a day of action packed adventures in to the ice fields it was warm and comforting to return to. The staff were so helpful nothing too much trouble, they were quick to find us to tell us the Northern Lights were on display and arranged to take us out of town away from the lights, to see them. Plenty of restaurants and bars within a hop of the hotel which was a good job in minus 25 Celsius, so one tended to jump in to the nearest one. The only slight let down was the breakfast, very plain and simple but then somehow with the complete awe inspiring nature of the place and surroundings it didn't seem to matter. It must say something that out of the 4 groups staying there, the reason for each was to celebrate a special birthday, 2 x 40, 1 x 50, 1 x 60....so that must say something that Spitzbergen really is a very special place. Would we go again....yes definitely.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room near the entrance, very happy with that
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lollythebolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

I saw the photos for this hotel on the website and just fell in love with the idea of a rustic hut hotel built out of logs and furnished like an old-fashioned trapper's hotel.

Can I just say the hotel looks even better in real life than it does the photos!

The rooms were warm and quiet, and the furnishing surely should win some sort of prize. It really feels like you're in a trapper's hut.

The staff were so friendly and helpful.

Only downside is that I couldn't get the Internet to work on my computer and I can't figure out why since I've never had that problem before. This isn't an issue, though, as in the Eastern Most rooms you can buy Internet from the restaurant underneath you and that works, no problems (also, that restaurant has very nice food).

This place was a dream come true and I was definitely 100% be staying here again. This place is comparatively expensive, but every cent you pay is worth it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asynca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Longyearbyen hotels
0.0 mi away
Svalbard Hotel
Svalbard Hotel
#1 of 3 in Longyearbyen
363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
0.4 mi away
Spitsbergen Hotel
Spitsbergen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Longyearbyen
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Coal Miners’ Cabins
Coal Miners’ Cabins
#2 of 4 in Longyearbyen
270 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
#2 of 6 in Longyearbyen
127 reviews
1.3 mi away
Guest House 102
Guest House 102
#1 of 6 in Longyearbyen
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basecamp Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basecamp Hotel

Property: Basecamp Hotel
Address: Main street of Svalbard | Boks 316, Longyearbyen 9171, Norway (Formerly Trapper's Hotel)
Location: Norway > Svalbard > Spitsbergen > Longyearbyen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Longyearbyen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Basecamp Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basecamp Hotel is situated right at the heart of Longyearbyen, among restaurants, pubs, shops and bank. It is absolutely Longyearbyen's most amazing hotel; decorated in traditional trapper's style with driftwood, sealskins, pictures and objects that illustrate the past and current trappers' life in the Arctic. Despite its rusticity, Basecamp Hotel offers high quality accommodation with unique style! Basecamp Hotel is part of Basecamp Explorer Spitsbergen, which operates day trips and expeditions to Isfjord Radio, Trapper’s Station and Nordenskiöld Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Basecamp Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basecamp Hotel Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen, Svalbard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing