We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly an Unbelievable Experience!”

Polar Permaculture Solutions
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Polar Permaculture Solutions is based in Longyearbyen, Norway on the archipelago of Svalbard. We are applying permaculture principles, techniques and practices to grow food and build local resilience in this northern-most community in the world.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Stroller parking
Reviewed August 24, 2017

I've been fortunate to travel to a lot of interesting places, and also see a lot of interesting things, but this is easily one of favorites! The work that Ben, the owner, is doing with his team is utterly fascinating and inspiring! The receptionist at my hotel actually told me about the place and guided me there. She introduced me to Ben, and I was able to learn more about his mission of growing food in the Arctic and creating a sustainable environment in Longyearbyn. I also received a wonderful tour by Jason of the lab and the dome. This is truly a must see if in the area to witness the polar permaculture magic!

Thank Kbecks23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin V, Owner at Polar Permaculture Solutions, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2017

Was a pleasure to have you around and welcome back anytime :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"quail"
in 4 reviews
"his team"
in 5 reviews
"panna cotta"
in 2 reviews
"micro greens"
in 2 reviews
"brown cheese"
in 2 reviews
"chef benjamin"
in 2 reviews
"sustainable living"
in 2 reviews
"green house"
in 2 reviews
"fascinating insight"
in 2 reviews
"all ages"
in 2 reviews
"hour tour"
in 2 reviews
"project"
in 14 reviews
"greenhouse"
in 8 reviews
"sustainability"
in 6 reviews
"worms"
in 4 reviews
"vision"
in 4 reviews
"microgreens"
in 3 reviews
Filter

19 - 23 of 34 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2017 via mobile

I had an amazing tour guided by Jason! What a fantastic project! I'm so impressed by the greenhouse and the growing operation they have got going. Permaculture itself is impressive, and even more so when operating in the arctic. Well worth visiting when you have friendly and knowledgable people like Ben and Jason, showing you the ropes and enthusiastically explaining the ins and outs of a sustainable life in the arctic. Thanks, guys!

Thank Josefina01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin V, Owner at Polar Permaculture Solutions, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2017

It was a pleasure to have you and you are most welcome back anytime you want :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2017 via mobile

Green house in Arctic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is even better then to see a polar bear.... An amazing work Ben and his team are doing there!
Thank you guys for making this big and beautiful changes!

Thank Elena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin V, Owner at Polar Permaculture Solutions, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2017

Thanks for your kind words an we hope you will come back to visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2017

I visited this place out of sheer curiosity and got a private tour around the lab and the dome:
Benjamin, the owner, as well as all the volunteers taking part in this new project were so enthusiastic about their work, so that their enthusiasm set me (quite unexpectedly) on fire as well!

You don't only learn about the difficulties of growing vegetables, herbs etc. in the Arctic, but also about the scientific effects the 24 hours of sunlight have on the plants, some looked very different to what they look like at home:
You really had the feeling to be part of this "futuristic"-exploration.

The value was great for what you got to see and especially learn and I'd recommend it to all ages as they also offered the possibility to get active yourself, which would be great for people visiting with children, too!

1  Thank ontherun-reiseblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin V, Owner at Polar Permaculture Solutions, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2017

Thanks for your kind words :)

We are very passionate about this project and really want to make Longyearbyen more sustainable. We hope to see you again soon on a different tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2017

This is a great project, run by a luvly bunch of folks in an amazing location.

It's well worth a visit to learn what they are doing and get some inspirational to take home.

Thank screamingabdab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin V, Owner at Polar Permaculture Solutions, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2017

Thanks for your kinds words and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polar Permaculture Solutions also viewed

 

Been to Polar Permaculture Solutions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing