We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Polarriggen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed at Gruveriggen (same buidling as the reception) for a week in April. Had av very good stay. The staff is friendly and service-minded and it has a good location! It is not the typical hotel - if you are looking for that, stay somewhere else... it has a very homey feeling with a common kitchen and a big living room. Shared barthrooms worked just fine with hot water 24/7.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EAM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 138 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed at the Polarriggen for four nights in August 2011. We found it to be a fantastic experience and exceeded our expectations, so much in fact that I'm staying there again in March 2012. We found the staff extremely helpful and courteous, they booked excursions for us and made our stay most enjoyable. The rooms are indeed small but full of character. The shared bathrooms are not a problem as you're able to lock the bathroom door to use it privately. The breakfasts were very good, there's a cold buffet with cheese, meats, salad etc together with omelettes which were very good. We'd eat breakfast whilst watching the two Arctic foxes awaiting their food that the staff gave them. We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evenings but will try it in March. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting somewhere different to stay in Svalbard.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonp1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Despite having shared bathrooms I would still return. There are many bathrooms and sharing turned out not to be an issue. The hotel is very different with lots of old mining gear as it used to be miners' quarters. The main bar and restaurant are very bright and airy, serving excellent food, including vegetarian. Reasonable prices too.
Lots of lounging and chatting areas...and good views of arctic foxes!
It is slightly out of town, but only a few minutes walk.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElwynRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Mary-Ann’s Polarrigg is an interesting place to stay and not your usual hotel. The location is also quite good and to get to the town center you can just cross the bridge spanning across the tundra. In the winter Mary-Ann’s Polarrigg is a good place to stay but in the summer more places are open and some may offer better value.

The bunks are all standard sizes which were previously used to accommodate miners. However, the room is indeed quite small and some guests may complain. The toilets and showers are shared by all. I did encounter a minor problem with one of the boilers running out of hot water. The boilers were pretty big, so I am not sure why. The lack of ventilation seems to be the other problem with the toilets so I think installing some air deodorizers will certainly make the place more pleasant. Some amenities in the polarrigg can be rather basic so functional seems to be the theme here. The kitchen for guests is also quite small and it could really use some updating on the kitchen appliances especially the microwave.

See all the photos we took at http://www.globe-nomads.com/2011/05/review-of-mary-ann%e2%80%99s-polarrig-svalbard-norway.html

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globenomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

We choose the Polarrig after reading all the Trip Advisor reviews and we loved it! It is a bit out from the touristy centre of town, but that gives you a chance to explore some of the more practical parts that keep Longyearbyen ticking over. We stopped over at both ends of a GAP Arctic Expedition and enjoyed it very much - but then we don't like big impersonal chain hotels. We splashed out a bit and stayed in one of the rooms in the cabin by the entrance. These have an ensuite shower and toilet, so no need to share. Not the largest I've ever seen but clean, comfortable, homely and functioning.
Apart from the interesting decor - fancy breakfast in a mock coal mine?, what really made it for us was the food in the evening. The menu looked good, with a selection of local foods and more 'international' dishes. The prices compared well with other eateries in the town. Not everything was available, but those that we and our new friends tried were excellent. The fish is particularly good.
And there were Arctic foxes playing nearby!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RatleyRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

Norway/Svalbard is expensive, taking that into account I found the Polarrig to be good value. The rooms are small, but we didn't go to svalbard to sit in a hotel bedroom so I didn't mind. The hotel was lovely and warm, the beds were comfy and the bedding and room were delightfully clean. The shared bathrooms were plentiful and the water was always piping hot. The shared lounge was huge and there was a kitchen where you could prepare meals for a small charge (definitely worth considering, restaurant prices are high)
The breakfast was basic but nice, breads, cheeses, eggs, meats, salad and lovely jams with juice.
The restaurant was great, huge windows making the most of the 24 hour daylight and lots of photos of svalbard history, complete with polar bears, foxes and lots of plants. The food was lovely and the service was good.
Overall I'd reccomend the Polarrig. I don't go on holiday to stop in hotels which are the same as every other hotel in every place in the world, I loved the polarrig's unique quirks and was delighted by the arctic foxes who paid a visit on out last morning.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We stayed in the very basic miner's room, just two iron beds in a ti9ny froom, but we didnlt mind that and the hallway bathrooms are OK. You don't get much else in Longyearbyen for the price (975NOK double room). The nice rooms are 2000NOK!! but the big hotels charge even more. Polarrigg has a nice lounge and the restaurant looks OK, but we ate at Kroa in the town evey day. On the negative side the paperwork is chaotic and the staff use the washing machine wthout emptying it, nobody seems to care much and the breakfast looked terrible, although we did not have it. However I would recommend it as the decor and buildings are quite an experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevewado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Longyearbyen hotels
0.3 mi away
Svalbard Hotel
Svalbard Hotel
#1 of 4 in Longyearbyen
422 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
0.8 mi away
Funken Lodge
Funken Lodge
#3 of 4 in Longyearbyen
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Gjestehuset 102
Gjestehuset 102
#1 of 6 in Longyearbyen
360 reviews
1.5 mi away
Coal Miners’ Cabins
Coal Miners’ Cabins
#2 of 3 in Longyearbyen
63 reviews
0.4 mi away
Basecamp Hotel
Basecamp Hotel
#1 of 3 in Longyearbyen
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mary-Ann's Polarrigg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary-Ann's Polarrigg

Address: Skjaeringa | Postboks 17, Longyearbyen 9171, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Svalbard > Spitsbergen > Longyearbyen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Longyearbyen
Price Range: $123 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mary-Ann's Polarrigg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come join us up north at Mary-Ann`s Polarrigg, a somewhat different Hotel/Rig in Longyearbyen. Here at Mary-Ann`s we have a relaxed and homey environment that will suite everybody.Stay as the miners did back in the days in our authentic Miners Rig, or if you prefer Hotel standard you can try our Luxury Rig instead.In the day time we can assist in booking of trips from our local tour operators or if you just want a day of relaxation in our onsite spa that is also possible. For groups we can also offer a fully equipped conference room.In the evening you can try food from our delicious menu in our Vinterhagen Restaurant where we serve both Thai food and traditional Norwegian and Arctic food.Come join us for an experience of a lifetime here at Mary-Ann’s Polarrigg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mary-Ann's Polarrigg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mary-Ann`s Polarrigg Hotel Longyearbyen
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg Longyearbyen, Spitsbergen, Svalbard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing