We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Svalbard Hotell The Vault(Longyearbyen)(Great Value!)
$214
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gjestehuset 102(Longyearbyen)(Great Value!)
$149
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mary-Ann's Polarrigg(Longyearbyen)
$340
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Coal Miners’ Cabins(Longyearbyen)(Great Value!)
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$317
$269
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Funken Lodge(Longyearbyen)
$330
$299
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Svalbard Hotel(Longyearbyen)
$274
$249
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Longyearbyen Camping(Longyearbyen)(Great Value!)
$36
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveler rating
49
7
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
7
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafter a long dayhigh qualitytripbearstoiletssnowmobileendworldchefteamsurroundingscomfortstormearthhandwildlifevegetarian
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 57 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2015

Second time out here. After a day on the snowmobile, arriving at Isfjord Radio is really nice. An the refurbishment that is done in the main building has given this old place a high standard. The service from the vey young staff is excellent, and the food is really gourmet style - and with the special Svalbard rein deer on the menu. This is really the place to go if you want something to remember, whether the sun is shining or the wind is blowing hard at this outpost close to the North pole.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main building. Room 201 was really nice
  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Runar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2014

We went on a team building activity out to Isfjord Radio, and I was astonished with what we did meet out here.

When we arrived this looked like pretty basic buildings from the out side, but when we entered they have really focused on the details, and I was amazed to find something like this out in the wilderness. They have thought about all this small details that not necessary a fancy design hotel in one of the bigger cities would do.

Then for dinner we where served just a fantastic three course dinner, and the breakfast the next day was at the same level with fresh bread and delicious food. This was something completely different from what I was expecting, and really worth a visit

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Khoeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2014

It's rather difficult to put into words the experience that is Isfjord Radio. This is unlike any other holiday destination we have gone to before. Whether it be your method of arrival; a two+ hour boat ride in a reinforced inflatable boat, kitted out in a one hour survival suit (i.e. if you fell in the water you would survive for one hour); or the restriction on moving outside, unless you are accompanied by a guide with his rifle!

It was utterly entrancing from beginning to (almost) the end. More later. We arrived to be welcomed by Lea, complete with warming apple drink, laced with calvados. A point here. You may be wearing a survival suit, but it is still really cold on the boat. Extra socks is the first advice; your feet are in wellington boots welded to the suit legs. Plenty of layers as well and a good pair of wind/waterproof gloves are an advantage. They provide neoprene mitts, but if you have your own, all the better. If the skipper advises you to zip up, you are in for a wet ride!

Back to the hotel. The rooms are very well appointed. Ours had a very comfortable 6ft bed. No en suite; we were opposite a room with two toilets and two wash hand basins, and next to it was a single shower. To protect modesty fleece robes are provided. We were extremely honoured to be the only guests, September is after the holiday season and mid week is often quiet. Food was sensational. They admitted to experimenting on us and we benefited by being the only guests but I imagine that they would always provide a great standard of food.

You may already realise that you can't go out without the guide (with his rifle). Polar bears had been spotted recently, but this is standard practice, anyway. Activities are down to either hikes or a boat safari. We did both in the 48 hours we were there. More wildlife is likely to be seen earlier in the season.

Finally, we had to leave this wonderful place and this was the only negative part of our time. This is a really remote location. Access is only possible by a boat (or in winter by snow mobile). When we came to leave the weather was windy and waves were against us on the trip back. We experienced three hours of rough seas with the small boat continually crashing over waves. This is always a possibility so if you aren't comfortable with this, beware. We never felt at risk but it doesn't mean that you won't find the boat ride very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Earlgrey16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Superb place to rest your bones after being into the wild. A place which reminds a SF movie scene but with the best retro feeling and atmosphere of hunters cabin inside the walls. The management is doing great job in maintaining and further developing the interior..it is a true paradise and sanctuary keeping safe the arriving adventurers.
Food treats are unimaginable when you realize where you are getting and enjoying those dishes.
Prices are high..but guys...you are 'at the the of the World'!!!
Must try place...
Greets

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Eva K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Basecamp is the company running the well decorated hotel at a historic, strategically located, radio station. Access by boat can be rather sporty in the summer. The food is outstanding in terms of quality and creativity. The staff is very competent and extremely friendly, competent and informative about the hotel and the unique surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterGantenbein1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews